A Decision That Hurts, But It's For The Best

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year

Picsart_23-02-06_12-31-39-526_1.jpg

My Steemian friends,

With a heavy heart, I write to let you all know of my intention to power down my Steem Power and to slow down a little to enable me to fix the broken pieces in the need of my family.

For the past year, I have been getting frequently sick along with my family members and we can't even take proper treatment. We now had to discover that this frequent sickness is due to the condition of the building we are living in.

We are living in a rented apartment which was fit for habitation before we moved in. But for the past year, the plumbing system developed a problem that has made the house unfit for habitation.

The worst is that I am living on the group floor and the waste is passing through my window. I can't even open the windows for proper ventilation, else, the odor will not allow you to remain there. Not just that, the floor waste in my bathroom brings out the waste and makes the room stink. We have been managing the situation but it has posed a serious health challenge to my family. The pictures below will explain better.

IMG_20230206_064951_146.jpg

IMG_20230206_090252_147.jpg

IMG_20230206_064940_158.jpg

The landlord has promised to fix it but to no avail. In fact, without fixing the apartment he increased the rent by 60%. The new rent was to start as soon as our previous rent agreement expires. Ours expired in November last year and up until now, we have not completed the payment. We have only paid one-third of the rent in the hope that the problems will be fixed. I know that the reason why he hasn’t demanded the rental payment is because of the sewage problem we have. If he should fix the problem today there will be tremendous pressure on us for paying the arrears as we are cash-strapped.

As it is the economic condition of the country here has made things more difficult and to keep on providing for the family is no easy task. I was active in the Steemfoods community because I could boldly post my meals but not anymore. My friends, we are going through a really difficult time.

To shock you all, I can't even invite someone to my house because my seating room carpet is completely torn. I have not been able to replace it due to the lack of maintenance and also the lack of funding. The little available funds I have is for food, school fees, and transportation.

IMG_20230206_091008_950.jpg

IMG_20230206_090859_806.jpg

IMG_20230206_091013_551.jpg

My vehicle is in very bad shape. We have not moved it since 6 months ago because we can't fix it due to the lack of funds. As you all know transportation cost is increasing day by day. It is now doubled the price we pay before December last year. Going to my workout location was previously 100 naira but is now 200 naira. That is a 100% increase. And so is every other place. Petrol cost is too high here and with the new currency enforcement, things are more than difficult for citizens here.

IMG_20230206_090319_029.jpg

IMG_20230206_065000_354.jpg

Representing Steemit here in my country has been very difficult because, when you approach someone to talk about Steemit, they look at you and your condition of living. They hardly see the reasons why they should key in. I am not living well, my vehicle is not in good shape, and my apartment is not habitable. There is just nothing to convince them that Steemit is the best investment platform.

My decision

I have taken time to analyze the situation and I have come up with the idea to use what I have to help myself.

Since we already have a piece of land that can contain a 3-bedroom bungalow, and the Steem I have can be able to raise that structure, I will like to power it down. Though I am not happy with what I want to do, deep inside I am cramped beyond movement and I know it is the right thing to do. It is time to put my family first.

At least, while I can solve the housing problem of my family it also puts me in a position where I will be able to start a farming business like fishery and rearing of rabbits.

To my fellow Nigerians and Steemians friends, I am not going anywhere and there is nothing to panic about. Steemit is a very good place to be because I am a living witness to that. I am very much around and will keep posting with my account again as soon as I can join a club again.

I am sure you will appreciate what I am going to use my Steemit funds for when you see the pictures that I will be posting as the house building project continues.

As for the Steem kids and parents community, it is still strong. I am simply going to step aside as the admin and give the role to someone else that can hold brief while I still work on the background.

I will leave the community in the hand if @siminnwigwe, @eliany @goodybest, and others. They all have the interest of the community in mind and with me at the background, the community will continue to move forward.

It is my utmost desire to be back as soon as possible. I love Steemit and trust me, it is a very difficult decision for me but I feel it's the best.

I understand the penalty and I am willing to accept it. I bow my head in humility. I bow my head in shame. I am deeply sorry. I am willing to start all over again.

I love you all to the moon and back!

Cc: @steemcurator01 @steemcurator02 @pennsif @steemitblog @inspiracion @humaidi @fredquantum @graceleon @goodybest @simonwigwe @patjewell @eliany @drhira and others too numerous to mention. 😭😭😭😭

IMG-20220425-WA0011.jpg

This is my introductory post here

IMG-20220425-WA0011.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @ngoenyi, it is fair that now after you gave your time, efforts and your full engagement would like to think about your family first, they need you now, a strong woman who will support them and give them a chance for better future.

I think everyone will understand that. This wonderful platform gives a hope and support to us for our work. You will be back once you sorted everything with your family and your home. Take care of yourself,

 last year 

I am proud to belong to steemit where I have met wonderful friends like you dear @stef1. Your words are soothing. Thank you so much. I will update you all as soon as the work begins till the end. I will surely be back stronger. I appreciate

TEAM MILLIONAIRE

Congratulations, your comment has been successfully curated by @irawandedy at 10%.

So many comments already should show you how much your contribution here is valued and I've learnt that it's not your power that's important, it's your contribution to those that interact with you.

Don't see this as a step back or anything to feel ashamed of, see it as a step forward and an opportunity. Very few get the opportunity to build their own home on their own land - many people dream of being able to do this. To fund this through your hard work on Steemit is incredible and something that you should feel very proud of.

When you say that you are finding it difficult to promote Steemit, imagine how easy it will be once you are settled in your own home. Wow!

So put that smile back on your face, enjoy the excitement of what's in front of you and keep us updated on how everything unfolds 👍

 last year (edited)

I am short of words, what else can I say? You are such a wonderful friend. Your words have really made me to stand from ashes. I will surely update you on how everything unfolds. Thanks a million for your kind words and good wishes. I really appreciate

 last year 

My dear friend,

Quite frankly I don’t know where to start.

I was shocked when you shared the news with me this morning. In fact, I had tears.

Can you remember that post I wrote the other day about “enough is enough”? It is clear that you and your family had enough. Who can blame you? I would have felt exactly the same. It is not you that must bow your head in humility it is circumstances.

I know you will be back!

Look at it as a new venture, exciting times for you and your family. You are moving to your own land, you are building your own home. It is yours!! Lift that head and start smiling. After all, is that not what Steemit is all about? Giving us friends, giving us opportunities, and putting smiles back onto our faces.
Knowing you I am sure you will name one of the cornerstones “Steemit”.

As for the kids, they can be super proud of their mommy. Through all the tough times you have put their education first. I told you once and I will tell you again, you are a legend! And, you are a child of God.
In James 1:2 it is written; “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds.”

God’s blessings for you and your family! 🙏

 last year 

Thank you for being there for me. I can't help but only shed tears but things will normalize with time

 last year 

Indeed they will and soon you will be eating that cake!

 last year 

Greetings friend @ngoenyi

I am sorry that you are going through difficult situations with your family, I know the difficulty of living in a country that presents socioeconomic problems, and I know it is very difficult for you to have made this decision, I just hope you can build your house with better living conditions and prosper in your business, Steemit and Steem are an excellent investment option, I think more than any business that we can undertake in our countries.

I hope to see you back soon, and with the progress of your home, success.

 last year 

Oh my dear friend, I am so happy to read from you. It is really that serious and everyone here is feeling the impact. I pray that I will be able to help my family out as soon as possible and be back here to continue with you friends. Thanks a lot for your blessings

 last year 

Hi friend.
I have been surprised to read your publication because although I do not visit it much when I do I realize the love you feel for Steemit and for each of us who are in it.
It is true to live that way is not dignified, my family lived through a similar moment and thank God everything could be fixed, it seems unfair to me that you paying to live well are going through that.

It is true it is difficult to talk about Steemit when others get carried away by the situation he is experiencing, but God willing they will soon see his beautiful house on the land he has and will ask him to teach them to be part of this great family.

My best wishes for your new projects.
You have given a lot and deserve to enjoy its fruits in time.

Many Blessings..🙏🏻

 last year 

Oh dear! I am touched by your words. I really appreciate your blessings. It means a lot toe. Thank you so much

 last year 

You are making the right decision. After this time you can be proud to tell someone that steemit is good with evidence.there is no cause for alarm I know you love steemit and you are with us. Good luck ma. Cry no more.

 last year 

Thank you so much dear for your kind words. Steemit promotion will be sweeter then. Our people and their mentality is something else but I believe this will serve as evidence for them. Thank you so much

 last year 

Sure . Carry on.

 last year 

This is the best decision so far. I have being In same situation before. I was terribly sick and it seemed like my life was chattered. I had to power down to save myself. I am strong and better now, and I am back to fully join club100. So dear sis.. save yourself and your family first.

 last year 

I am glad you were able to take care of your situation and now back. Welcome back dear.

Thank you for your good words. The situation is really terrible.

It is hard to see the conditions that you are living, my friend, I sincerely hope that everything improves for you.
You will return to steemit because steemit is your home and we will be here waiting for you, also, we all want to be part of your progress.

A big hug, thousands of blessings for you and your projects.

 last year 

I appreciate your good wishes and blessings. I pray everything works out as planned. Thanks you so much my good friend. I hope to be back as soon as I sought things out

You have done well Ma. I look forward to seeing you stand on your feet again. Thank you for all you do.

 last year 

Thank you so much dear. I will stand again on my feet with Jehovah's help dear. I appreciate

Just few months ago I joined steemit!
Just few months ago I saw your post achieving "Orca".
For me; That reply is the only one Remember able moment with you!.
After looking at your home from inside and outside I felt sad for you. There's a lot of different between the home which we own and the rentals.
May Allah bless you with your decision and stay safe!.

 last year 

Thanks a lot for your kind words. I am glad you really understand my predicament. I will be back soon dear. Keep active such that when am back, I will still meet you

I will be waiting for you 🤗.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65682.90
ETH 3579.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51