A Theatrical Tale of Our Beloved Car

in Dream Steem6 months ago (edited)

I was contemplating writing a story about the keyword "theatre" for the contest by @weisser-rabe, and it happened to be the day I bid farewell to our beloved family car. I hope you grasp the emotions behind this and accept it as a fitting contribution. A close friend recently went back home. If you, Hira, read this, you'll understand the purpose behind my impromptu call. I subtly mentioned it during your visit. Thank you for coming. Now, while reading this, you'll get to know the complete story (if you stumble upon it by chance).

------------------------------------
------------------------------------

IMG_20240126_001841.jpg

January 08, 2010 - January 25, 2024

Our family's journey from "two to three" began with the Civic 2000, our very first car. On January 10, 2010, we proudly brought our two-day-old baby girl home from the hospital, cradled in the comfort of our newly acquired vehicle. My uncle, the car dealer, adeptly handled the details while we were occupied in the hospital, adjusting to the new phase of life and cherishing our new addition.

We didn't have to go through the hassle of buying and paperwork. My husband was handed over the car, of course, after the payment. Conveniently, his showroom happened to be just within walking distance of the hospital where I was admitted.

Barely 21 years old, my husband, beaming with pride, chauffeured us to my mom's house after my hospital discharge. The car became more than just a means of transportation; it became a part of our family. You might be thinking, "Why proud, it's just a car?" Let me tell you, I still remember his face. It was glowing from the inside out. He was over the moon, both from this acquisition and the birth of our baby daughter. I have never seen him this happy until now.

Over the years, our faithful Civic amassed an impressive 334,862 kilometers, proving her reliability day in and day out. She started up dutifully, ready to serve, and my husband never missed an opportunity to sing her praises, even if few were willing to listen.

Her loyalty was tested on one such dark, fateful night when my husband, alone on the road, faced a potentially life-threatening situation. The car skidded against an unseen ridge, causing it to topple. Miraculously, my husband emerged with only a few bruises. Believe me, it really was no less than a miracle, if I could show you the pictures of the wreckage. The villagers who rushed to the scene couldn't believe he had survived the wreckage. She wasn't just a car; she was a guardian. My husband sent me the pictures afterward, and I couldn't control my tears. I sobbed uncontrollably. I still remember; I was at my parents' home, and my father said, "They don't make cars like this anymore. It's built strong. He was lucky."

Many people suggested that we get rid of this car after the accident. I don't know why, perhaps because it bore so much damage and its reliability was in question, but we never listened. We had no doubts, and, well, to be honest, no resources either to switch to another one. This car was courtesy of my husband's father. Yes, I have good in-laws. So, we got her fixed, and she was as good as new. Not Brand new! But good to go another thousands of miles.

Our Civic was more than just a vehicle; it became the backdrop for significant milestones. I learned to drive in its reliable embrace, and so did our daughter. Through scorching summers and freezing winters, she remained steadfast, taking us to places far and wide. (I'm tearing up...)


They are not on main road, just wandering in our domestic camp

Today marked her last day with us after 14 years of loyalty. The emotions were overwhelming as I bid her farewell, too sentimental to express to go and see her for the last time. So, I sent my kids outside to capture the final good-byes in photographs, a tribute to the memories she carried.

In the end, parting ways became inevitable. Her needs surpassed what we could provide. As the kids were taking her pictures, the sun made its hood reflect, and I could feel that it was the last wink from her, assuring me, "it's going to be okay."

IMG_20240125_204954.jpg

Sort:  
 6 months ago (edited)

Well, sooner or later it was bound to happen. And this is undoubtedly the right step. I understand you perfectly, because I also get attached to things ;)

I also bought my first car in 2010. Since then, it has served me faithfully and faithfully. At the same time, I spend very little on its maintenance.

When it was time to upgrade to a better and more modern car, the war began. I postponed this question until better times. Therefore, my story with the first car continues.

Yes, it was bound to happen. But I also get attached to things. Specially when so many memories are linked to that one.
Have you ever wondered, maybe these cars have souls 😉 they do have a personality for sure. Lol

I hope you could upgrade to a better one. It's not easy to part though... But of course one has to when it becomes inevitable.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 5 months ago 

I hope your wife wins this war for a better upgrade

😂

Oh, no, I meant that a war broke out in the country with all the economic consequences. Therefore, now is not the time to replace the car.

I definitely need to work on improving my English because the translator translates with inaccuracies🙂.

I had edited this comment.
Silly silly lags.

 5 months ago 

Silly silly lags.

Yes, Steemit has been a bit of a disaster lately.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



It's hard to say goodbye to a car you shared your life with for 14 years.

Your daughter started driving at that age?

They, the roadservice, say the Honda civic is the most reliable car. We've been searching for one for many years. They are hard to find..

🍀❤️

That's my other daughter in the picture, and the photo is also old. My eldest one is 14, and she is learning how to drive. Mostly going through the process... Just waiting for the age to acquire a license to hit the road.
Meanwhile she will keep practicing under adult supervision.

There is no doubt about the reliability of Civic, speaking from personal experience.
Thank you for stopping by.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Is it allowed to drive at that age even if not at the public road?

I hope she'll have her driver's license soon. It's such a freedom. I was happy as my last child passed. 😁

Yes, for learning purpose, under adult supervision.
There is little to no traffic in our domestic camp.

That's great. With us it's not allowed.

Gotta love Honda's, i drive a 2010 Honda accord and love it, its done 295,000K's but thats just a number.

Age or miles... Just a number.
East or West, Honda is the best ❤️

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Oh it was about time, May you get a great deal for your new car then you won’t miss it much.

Yes it was about time. We postponed until we could!

🤞 For the next one!
So many factors at play.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

So you can relate..
You can see I'm replying from another interface.
The replies are still not showing on steemit.com. and I'm not used to replying from here. I will look into these articles in detail. And would come back with a feedback.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Si fuera una obra de teatro
¿Qué nombre le darías a esta historia?

My Queen 👑 (she was golden)

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Ok...your car rightly deserves a post of its own and maybe more. You brought two babies home in January 2010. 😀

It's hard to part ways when you are so used to something. But it's time for an upgrade followed by a treat for your good friend. 😜

We were also hoping for an upgrade but the inflation made us think otherwise. As long as it's running, we are fine with it.

Yes, there will be treat insha'Allah.
No doubt about it

This may sound pretty silly... I always greet my car when I get in it)) She was born back in 2008 and I'm not going to part with her yet. We understand each other and take care of each other. There were difficult situations, but the car never failed.

Yes, I understand your feelings. The time will come for me to say goodbye to my iron friend. But life goes on :)

Why, silly! You're a sailor, and I've heard that ships and boats have names and personalities. In my opinion, we should treat everything with respect. I believe every matter or material has an intrinsic energy.

Whenever I come back home after a trip, I greet my home at the entrance by saying 'Assalam o Alaikum.' My kids have also picked up on this habit, which I learned from my father. There is nothing odd or silly about it.

Everything has internal energy, that's right. But I go further in my assumptions. And here I am approaching Eastern practices))
Everything has a soul or spirit. We use the concept of "soul" and there are many different definitions of this concept. She was even "weighed"))
But no one knows anything for sure. However, as well as about consciousness))

When I go to the forest to pick mushrooms, I talk to the forest, the mycelium, and the mushrooms themselves... I never come home with an empty basket))

But someone treats it as an oddity))

===================
Внутренняя энергия есть у всего сущего, это так. Но я иду дальше в своих предположениях. И здесь я приближаюсь к восточным практикам))
Всё имеет душу или дух. Мы пользуемся понятием "душа" и есть много разных определений этого понятия. Её даже "взвесили" ))
Но точно никто ничего не знает. Впрочем, как и про сознание ))

Когда я хожу в лес за грибами, я разговариваю и с лесом и с мицелием, и с самими грибами... я никогда не прихожу домой с пустой корзиной ))

Но кто-то относится к этому как к чудачеству))

You definitely connect to the energy that surrounds you.
Hence the fruitful outcome.
Not everyone can do this. It's a gift indeed!
I like your vibe and philosophy. You don't take things for granted, you connect with the nature in every possible way. At least that's my perception about you:)

... thank you for your kind words!

I don't really know what I'm doing... It's just the way I live :)

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42