Urdu Community Contest / s2w4 | How weather affects my life and plays an important role, which of weather I like and why i like it. | by @wase1234

in Urdu Community2 years ago (edited)

pexels-pixabay-459451.jpg
image source


How weather effect our life and play important role ? what kind of weather do you like and why you like it.


Interesting topic launched by the Urdu Community. When it comes to weather and seasons, they mean different things to different people of different geographical locations and cultures. Some celebrate weather while others don't and some dread some weathers while others wish for it. So the significance of weather in different people's lives differs.

Whether affects my life in the aspect of dressing, to the bills I pay and also to mobility. During some seasons like the rainy season, I can't move too much because of the rain. I can hardly take strolls and hang out for too long.
In the aspect of dressing, my clothing choices will change from light tank tops and tshirts to probably rain coats, pullovers and sweat suits with beanies to match.

When the word weather is mentioned, what comes to mind is the wind, the clouds, the humidity and the atmospheric temperature and pressure. When seasons are mentioned we often think about the winter, summer, raining season, spring, dry season and autumn. Also we call them seasons because they come and go at different points in time in a year.

In my country we have only two seasons and I don't really really prefer anyone of them they both have good and bad sides which are equally matched. So the intervals of one season changing to another are the best moments for me because there's a little rain and a little sun.

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZdzzf8rzktJfGowVdf6fT67fe6QLiFyLffcxnqkq8YhB2wjLmV6wUPVzeeguywj4c5yRfzdXHUGN.png


What region do you live in? And what are the seasons in your region?


I live in Cameroon which is a country in water African but also in central Africa. Cameroon is at the interval of the two sections. Where I live precisely is the south western part of Cameroon (what3words). Cameroon is known for its many different vegetation like the savannah grasslands, tropical rain forests, the deserts of the north and it's mountain. With all this diversity of flora, Cameroon has just two seasons namely the rainy season and the dry season.

We have the rainy season which stretches from May to November. During this period, we experience alot of rain fall and a fall in temperature making places cold. October is believed to be the wettest month in Cameroon with a general high increase in the amount of rain that falls. Nevertheless in the months of November the rainfall decreases significantly until it eventually stops falling.

There is the dry season which stretches from December to to April. During these months, there is an increase in temperature due to alot if sunshine. January is said to be the dryest month during the dry season in Cameroon because temperatures usually spike up a little bit higher during that period. Started from around the last day of the month of March, we can start experiencing occasional rainfall which then signifies that the rainy season is coming.

Nevertheless we have these two season broken down into 4 other sub segments namely;

  • The Light Rainy Season: This is between the month of May and June. Here is the period when the rain just begins to fall. So at this time the downpour isn't too heavy. During this time there is little or no sunshine.

  • The Short Dry Season: This is between July and October. During this time there is occasional sunshine in-between the rainy season.

  • The Heavy Rainy Season: This period is between October and November. As I mentioned above, during this time, we usually experience alot of heavy rainfall.

  • The Long Dry Season: This is usually between December to May. We experience almost no rainfall in these months. So everywhere is really dry.


Even though there are two seasons in Cameroon, we have a place called Debundscha (what3words) which is known as the wettest place in Cameroon. In Debundscha it rains all round the year.

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZdzzf8rzktJfGowVdf6fT67fe6QLiFyLffcxnqkq8YhB2wjLmV6wUPVzeeguywj4c5yRfzdXHUGN.png


What is your favorite season And why do you like it?


Like I mentioned earlier, I can't tell which season I love most amongst the two seasons we have. But if u must pick I would probably take the rainy season because this is a period where students mostly take their exams. Due to the rain and fall in temperature it's cold and and makes the environment conducive for studying. Also there are alot of fruits that sprout up during this period, not only fruits but other crops that sprout up so the rainy season brings abundance.
Talking about environmentally, the rain fills up dried streams and water the plants also it gives the trees enough water to store up for the dry season.

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZdzzf8rzktJfGowVdf6fT67fe6QLiFyLffcxnqkq8YhB2wjLmV6wUPVzeeguywj4c5yRfzdXHUGN.png


Depending on the season in your region or country or city, which rituals are more celebrated?


So there are no specific rituals that are celebrated in my country because of seasons. There are just events that happen during some specific months like December which is Christmas and New year celebrations which is in January and also Easter which is in April. So all those two major occasions fall in the dry season.

It is also very common for weddings to take place during the dry season. From the month of November to April, there are alot of weddings that take place. So that is to say that most of the celebrations fall when there is the dry season.

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZdzzf8rzktJfGowVdf6fT67fe6QLiFyLffcxnqkq8YhB2wjLmV6wUPVzeeguywj4c5yRfzdXHUGN.png


What clothes and food do you like depending on the season(cultural reflection)?


For the dry seasons, we see people wearing free clothes because of the heat the sun brings. It's sometimes gets really hot here that some people move with umbrellas so they also wear light dresses to shade the heat. For the raining season, when walking on the road you will notice that alot of people wear pullovers and clothes that will keep them warm.

So during the dry season I am mostly in tshirts. I love tshirts because they are free wears but I can wear anything I want except for dresses like pullovers and wear suits that give warmth. But like I said t-shirt and jeans are my most wears.
In the rainy season I wear anything that warms me up.

OutfitSeason
PXL_20220122_120814700.PORTRAIT.jpgdray season
PXL_20220621_155152183.PORTRAIT.jpgRainy Season

For food, I think the highest meal eaten during raining season is corn. Corn is mostly harvested during the raining season and eaten cooked, roasted, boiled or fried. The other thing most families have during the rainy season is tea. Tea keeps the body warm. But most of all I really enjoy the corn.
For the dry season, I don't think there's any particular meal eaten. Anyone can eat anything they want.

PXL_20220505_101525649.PORTRAIT.jpgme eating corn

For the both seasons there is no cultural reflection. Everything just happens normally and we all move according to season. There's no cultural connection between to what we wear and eat during those seasons.

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZdzzf8rzktJfGowVdf6fT67fe6QLiFyLffcxnqkq8YhB2wjLmV6wUPVzeeguywj4c5yRfzdXHUGN.png


Which season's fruit do you like and why?


The two seasons come with their own different kind of fruits. The rainy season comes with fruits like plums and mangoes while the dry season brings apples and oranges. The I prefer the dry season fruits to the rainy season fruits because my best fruit is apples and my second by oranges. So that's why I prefer the rainy season fruits to the dry season fruits.

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZdzzf8rzktJfGowVdf6fT67fe6QLiFyLffcxnqkq8YhB2wjLmV6wUPVzeeguywj4c5yRfzdXHUGN.png


Apart from you, which season do the people of your area prefer?


To my analysis I think the people in my area prefer the rainy season because it comes with abundance. There's alot of planting and harvesting that goes on during this period. The weather is good. And also we have holidays here during the rainy season so there is alot of time spent together as family. So for me I will think that the people around me prefer the rainy season.

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZdzzf8rzktJfGowVdf6fT67fe6QLiFyLffcxnqkq8YhB2wjLmV6wUPVzeeguywj4c5yRfzdXHUGN.png


In which season does your area face more difficulties and what are those difficulties?


Every season has the good and bad but even though I have said that the people prefer the rainy season, it also comes with alot of difficulties.

  • Accessibility: Cameroon is a third world country so we have alot of poorly constructed and non constructed roads. These roads are manageable during the dry season but when the rains comes, they are sometimes almost inaccessible. This makes most people not able to move and travel because of fear to get stuck or car breakdown or accident.

  • No cover markets: In my area or in most areas in Cameroon, the markets are not covered at the top. Most at times there are more of sheds than stores so when you move in the market the sky is exposed. During the rainy season going to the market means you have to get wet because due to the number of people, holding an umbrella will be almost impossible. Also the shed owners also get wet since they are not covered properly.

  • Dirty water: Most at times during the rainy season there is dirty water and sometimes it creeps into the water system making the tap water undrinkable.

So from my analysis the rainy season brings more difficulties than the dry season.

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZdzzf8rzktJfGowVdf6fT67fe6QLiFyLffcxnqkq8YhB2wjLmV6wUPVzeeguywj4c5yRfzdXHUGN.png


What is the special ritual associated with a particular season that people in your area have been waiting for all year?


Like I mentioned before there are no special rituals associates with the seasons in my country. Every season comes as it comes and we continue to live our normal lives whole adapting to the seasons.

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZdzzf8rzktJfGowVdf6fT67fe6QLiFyLffcxnqkq8YhB2wjLmV6wUPVzeeguywj4c5yRfzdXHUGN.png


CONCLUSION


This contest was really interesting to participate in. It made me think alot, do some small research and reflect so much on the things that happen around me. Weather affects some of us while for some it doesn't but in all it's always so good the witness how wondrous nature is.

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

But if u must pick I would probably take the rainy season because this is a period where students mostly take their exams.

My dear me am a lover of rainy season because that is the Season that do have a good temperature. Am not good to hear/hot weather. I am glad that you take rainy season over the dry season. As a student then we loved rainy season because that is when you will be seeing so many excuses as to why a student missed class. Also in rainy there is a lot of fruits and things are more cheaper than that of dry season.

Thank you so much for sharing.

Hahahaha the part of skipping classes is very true. Sometimes the rain hinders the teachers from coming to class. Thanks for dropping by my post friend

Good to read your entry @wase1234 you have written a detailed work about the seasons and weather in your region.Definitely,each season has its pros and cons.

Cameroon and Nigeria experience almost the same problem during rainy season due bad roads, poor drainage,and poor habit of inhabitants,all these leads to flooding during the rainy season.

The I prefer the dry season fruits to the rainy season fruits because my best fruit is apples

Wow.I prefer dry season fruits.I like star apple and cherry such.

Well I'm not surprised because Cameroon and Nigeria are very much alike. I'm happy we share the same fruit likings.

Thanks for visiting

Welcome friend.

Good publication, I almost taught it snows in Cameroon lol, kidding tho, you have made me realise the weather condition in Cameroon and when I read all you have stated I come to think that “what could be the difference between Cameroon and Nigeria aside language

Cos all you have set would have been how I will make my entry no changes so so similar

Hahahaha we are really very similar to be honest. I don't know why we separated even. We should have just been one big country 😂

Maybe one day we can in my dreams haha

😂😂😂

Do well and comment on my latest post abeg if you havent

During some seasons like the rainy season, I can't move too much because of the rain. I can hardly take strolls and hang out for too long

This is a bad thing about raining season. So much rain spoils outing program. Man can just be a house child during this time.

To my analysis I think the people in my area prefer the rainy season because it comes with abundance

Yes this is so true. I'm eating roasted corn at the time I'm replying to this text. I so love roasted corn.

You have analyze our weather and climate of our country very well. Thank you and good luck in the contest

Hahahaha I've eaten corn until my jaw bones nearly disconnected 😂. I'm taking a break now.

Thanks for visiting my post

The first season post I am reading to the week and I truly enjoyed it. Thank you!
You have written a great post.
You guys are so lucky with our two seasons. It is the same in Thailand. It is either hot or it is cool :-)
Good luck for the contest!

Thank you fir visiting Ma. I'm happy I could truely entertain you

Your post is really good and to me I prefer the dry season ooo raining season is somehow.

Rainy season d spoil program noh 😂😂

I really love your season weather analysis, I know every season comes with their own challenges and I can see the reason why you like raining season than dry season

Yes ooo
Thank you for stopping by

How curious! You highlighted the same festivities in my country, Holy Week and Christmas! I felt like you were giving me a tour of each station as I read your entry. How curious here in Venezuela eating an apple is a luxury, there they must be more accessible.

Cheers!

Yessss here apples are very much accessible
Thanks for the support

Hello friend,this contest is great,see how it has allowed me to know more about Cameroon ,2 strong seasons and a nutritious diet to endure,I like light clothes also because in my island it is very hot,a hug and good luck in the contest.😁🏖️

Oh thanks my friend
I appreciate your comment

Yh even here in Nigeria the roads are a disaster during the rainy season and the wettest place in Nigeria should be the Niger Delta Region. You really did Justice to this topic

Thank you friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63