Mark Meily (Filipino film director) begins pitching process for the TV series of my father's life

in #history6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-08-22 at 14.00.43.png

The working title for this production is STONEHILL.

I received the following message from Mark yesterday:

I prepared a presentation deck where I pitched “Stonehill”, a mini-series to several studios like, Fox, Globe Studios, iFlix, ABS-CBN Global, and soon, to Netflix and the History Channel. I am sure you are familiar with how this goes but I am keeping my fingers crossed that your dad’s biopic will come to fruition. I am preparing a treatment so that if any of these studios greenlights the project, we can present them something.

They all have positive feedback so far. The big hurdle is always the budget since it’s a period piece but I am looking at making the style similar to how Clint Eastwood makes his historical films, shoot mostly interiors.

When I was pitching the project to the executive producer of iFlix (an Asian/Australian version of Netflix) I opened my pitch with, “Have you heard of Harry Stonehill, an American industrialist who practically controlled the Philippines in the sixties?” The lady looked up and said to me, “Isn’t he the dad of Sam?” And I was surprised she knows you… more than your dad.

Anyway, her name is Katrina Holigores, an old friend and she said that you worked together on a film called Gorgeous (1997), about mortician who fell in love with a dead female, where she was the cinematographer and you were in the camera team? I am amazed at how close our connections are.

What was more fascinating for me though was telling them how I found you. I was watching your videos on living a minimalist life and it was so inspiring. I was telling them about you doing the Camino de Santiago— barefoot and foraging! Seriously, with all the pressures we encounter every time, your minimalist lifestyle is alluring. I would really like to know more about it. In fact, I am learning that most in-demand skill that I can use anywhere in this world, ...plumbing, just in case I start traveling the world with a backpack and some tools. Really cool!

Send my regards to Sabrina and les gosses. La vie est belle. A la prochaine!

-Mark Meily


Who was Harry Stonehill?

He was responsible for the industrialisation of the Philippines (after the 2nd World War) and with an intimate relationship with President Macapagal & his government, he believed himself to be untouchable.

But as one of the most powerful & influential men in the country he became a threat to America who lost their grip on controlling this nation as they had intended.

In 1962 Stonehill's offices were raided and ultimately he was deported from the Philippines, robbed of his 17 corporations, never permitted to return.

Many believe his demise was secretly planned and executed with the assistance of the U.S. which if true would have reversed the decision in the courts, gifting back to our family in excess of 60M.

Instead Stonehill battled for 40 years to prove his innocence, eventually dying penniless and unvindicated.

This is a shot I found recently showing me (on the left) with my two British sisters and mother & father.

Harry Stonehill, Liz, & babes.jpeg

I am deeply grateful to Mark Meily for the time and effort he is clearly putting in at this stage without being payed. Like me he believes this is a story worth telling and I look forward to keeping all of you here on Steemit informed during the development of this long overdue project.

Check this recent film for more info...

gradient banner.png

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over a year.

old banner.jpg

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

@samstonehill is the creator of:

@steemshop account where you can buy or sell anything you like using your steemit wallet

@steemmasters which provides FREE TUTORIALS, personal training & resteeming services. Website HERE
Contact me directly on steemit.chat if you want to know more about this

@steemholidays which encourages resort owners to offer holiday packages in Steem or SBD

@steemtv which aims to provide the best in decentralised films, exclusive to Steemit & DTube

The dailyquotes tag initiative designed to encourage steemians to share their most life changing quotes with the community on a daily basis.

The Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins group on Facebook which seeks to help newcomers make the transition from Facebook to Steemit, providing them with detailed notes and personal assistance with their posts... resteeming them when he can.

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 19.44.43.png


Here is a list of Steemit Witness I have voted for & recommend you do the same:
@teamsteem @timcliff @jesta @good-karma @someguy123 @blocktrades @pfunk @klye @krnel @blueorgy @ausbitbank @thecryptodrive @ura-soul @pharesim

Without them our beloved Steemship would not fly.

Learn what this means HERE and place your vote HERE

sexy banner.png

All non original photo sources can be found by clicking on the image

Sort:  

I was waiting for an update! EXCITING!
It can be such a small world sometimes when these connections from all over the globe come together in unexpected ways.

I was completely blown away that this lady (who met me only once in 1997) not only remembered me but also the story I told her about dad. Wish I could say my memory was that good!

Feels like we are soooooo close now to getting the green light :)

Thank you for you amazing support!

You are so welcome! Yes, it sure seems like somebody will pick up this story/project and run with it.

Woah! I didn't know you had such a great father. I am from the Philippines and it's my first time to hear about your father, Harry Stonehill.

The older generations seem to have a memory of him. I look forward to finally visiting your country and learning about what my father did there...

Thank you for your support!

Well, I do hope you'll find what you're looking for by the time you come to Philippines. Enjoy your stay then. :)

Oh wow, this is epic! What a fascinating and tragic story Sam, I truly hope this gets picked up!

To me it feels like classic film material. A story which sums up the times we live in.

Am feeling pretty excited in this moment and I greatly appreciate your support :)

Amazing! I do hope your dad's story is told through film media.

I believe it will be. And it is perfect that it should be a Filipino who makes the film! I am very lucky he found me the way he did ;)

Amazing! I do
Hope your dad's story is told
Through film media.

                 - darthnava


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Clint Eastwood really is amazing.

He has certainly been around the block a few times now!

Greetings @samstonehill! Your post was randomly chosen and was resteemed because you are one of our followers. Enjoy your free resteem!

Love what we do? By upvoting this notification, you're supporting @Shareables. If you need more information about us, click here.

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

Shareables - We resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Thank you as always!!!! :)

Wow, what an amazing story.

I am constantly frustrated when I hear how human governments destroy people's lives. I would love to see this film when it is produced.

Thanks for sharing your father's story with us.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Had he not been chased out of the Philippines he never would have met my mother in Thailand, so I guess there are two ways of looking at everything ;)

I will surely let everyone know when this film goes into production! Am anticipating being involved throughout. Let's see how it plays out...

Thanks for dropping by here!

Glad to hear that there was at least a silver lining to the cloud... :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92