For The Hip Hop Heads: Canibus VS LL Cool J

in #hiphop7 years ago

IMG_1533.JPG

I'm all about keeping it honest so let me start off by saying 'LL Cool J' got his ass whooped! Don't get me wrong I got respect for LL all day, I mean look at how long he's lasted in the game, 14 albums with 8 of them going platinum, TV shows etc. He definitely has the legend stamp and that's what saved him from his battle with Canibus. It's kind of like that saying, "Your elders are always right". That's the card Canibus was dealt and unfortunately it put a halt to the emcees career.

I remember when I first heard the 4,3,2,1 record, which featured Redman, Methoman, DMX, Master P (after Canibus was taken off) and LL of course on the last verse. This was my introduction to Canibus and his first lines had me in a mess like Kevin Durant's hair (someone get that champion a hairbrush). "I'm the illest n***a alive/watch me prove it/I'll snatch the crown with your head still attached to it" I went even more crazy when I realized the verse was about LL and people still out here talking about Kendrick is the first to do it on Big Sean's record......

When things escalated Canibus dropped 'Second Round Knockout' aiming at the legend. The song was well crafted line for line and had you making that face like when you see a thick one in her summer dress (I see you playa). Lines like "Now watch me rip the tat from your arm/
Kick you in the groin, stick you for your Vanguard award/
In front of your mom, your 1st, 2nd and 3rd-born/
Make your wife get on the horn, call Minister Farrakhan"

LL replied with his song 'Jack The Ripper', which wasn't even near as hard hitting, but the industry gave him the win anyway because to strip the legend status away from LL at that time would be a dent in his legacy and hip hop.

What do you guys think? Let me know your thoughts. Do you agree with the industry that LL Cool won the battle or are you with the few that were bold enough to admit that a new young rapper by the name of Canibus bodied a legend of hip hop

Pharaoh........

Sort:  

Congratulations @pharaohthe2nd! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @pharaohthe2nd! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68322.00
ETH 2716.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74