Hindered contest #2 - Home

in #hinderedcontest7 years ago (edited)

This is an entry to a challenge found here


flowers-164754_640.jpg


It was midday, the sun was just starting to blaze with full intensity and the air was lethargic, free of any animal soud or wind movement. A lone figure walked on the pathway between freshly mowed grass, skipping every third step.

She swayed her hands back and forth before stopping at the designated meeting spot, then promptly threw herself in the stingy shadow and broke the silence ˝ Aaah I thought I wouldn't make it here in this heat, I think I sweated through my underwear.˝ She mischieviously giggled to herself and continued talking in a cheerful voice ˝ It's been a while since we met. I missed you. How have you been?˝

She didn't wait for an answer ˝ I've been good, I just have something to ask you.˝ She made a waving motion with her hand, her speech getting rushed for a second ˝ No, no. Don't worry, it's nothing bad.˝ she sighed as if she was preparing herself ˝ Ahh, you see, I was wondering what the word home means to you?˝ her golden hair spilled down her shoulder when she shrugged in apology ˝ We had a weird assigment and you know I cherish your opinion. ˝

Once again she didn't wait for an answer; she wasn't able to keep in her excitement ˝ For me because we've travelled a lot it is flowers and sunshine, it's the sea and the cheerful breeze that flows from it. It's the forest when the light filters through and makes it look golden and it's the smell of grass and blooming fields.˝

She stopped for a second to take a deep breath and continued ˝ It's that stray cat that greets me when I round the corner to my house and the charming fence you helped me color. ˝ her voice went just a bit louder ˝ It's the bookcase with all my favorite fiction and the potted flowers your mother gave me.˝ and louder ˝ It's the feel of my favourite fabric stretched across my lap with those stupid patches you have sown in.˝ and louder ˝ It's sitting at the computer with the ugly mug you brought me last year as a souvenir.˝

Her shoulders hunched and she grasped strongly at the grass beneath her. ˝ It's listening to the radio in my room, feeling safe because I know you are somewhere near.˝ her voice cracked ˝ It's the soft sound of snow falling, the tranquility you liked.˝ she quieted down hunching more into herself as if to hide from the world. Tears started streaming from her eyes conflicting with her angry expression ˝ How will I ever have a home if you aren't there?˝ A sob escaped her stubborn mouth ˝ Without you a house is just a place and everything else is just a distant memory.˝ She grabbed at her shirt where the heart hides beneath and whispered ˝ Without you, I have nowhere to return to.˝

The grave in front of her remained silent.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @eriesunkite to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Your post was resteemed thanks to @svashta

Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Thank you very much for this amazing entry! I love it! :D

Thank you for the challenge, I'm glad you like it :)

This Post is resteemed by @resteemitnow

|| POST RESTEEMED + UPVOTED ||

Want to Boost your Posts?

Introduction Post Read here

Just send 0.060 SBD NOW

This Post is also resteemed by @saadijaz

|| I RESTEEMED EVERY LINK SHARED BY RESTEEMITNOW||

How to use service

Introduction Post How to use

amigo @resteemia at your service


excellent contest & wonderful work @eriesunkite

thanks to @svashta

@resteemia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54