#3. Hiking day - seeing how global warming is wiping the glacier. Flowers instead of ice!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #hiking7 years ago

Once a glacier with snow whole year around is now just a pale shadow almost without the snow! Seeing it with my own eyes got me thinking about the changes that lies ahead of us ...

DSC09328.jpg

Anyway we'll get to the glacier little bit later. It was Sunday early morning and me and @darth.gizmo had a nice hiking day in front of us. We decided to climb up the mountain called Ledinski vrh (translation would be something like Icy top). The weather forecast was high temperatures and we were really happy that we took the North side approach because it was in a shadow for almost entire hike. There are a couple of paths leading to the top from this starting point and because we love a little bit of climbing not just walking, we took the hardest one which is still very safe and easy if you are well equipped for it like we were.

DSC09237.jpg

We started climbing and used the steel cables and via ferrata set to protect ourselves from unexpected events.
DSC09247.jpg

DSC09251.jpg

Many times i see people without the helmet and via ferrata set on routes like this one. But the main reason why i am using them is to protect myself from the events that i have no effect on, like falling rocks for an example.
DSC09261.jpg

Imagine you get a rock on your unprotected head on a wall like this? Could you save yourself against falling? The news are filled with accidents in mountains and i for sure do not want to be a part of it.
DSC09266.jpg

DSC09267.jpg

DSC09272.jpg

DSC09273.jpg

After 20 to 30 minutes of climbing we reached the shelf above. The view was already amazing and we weren't even high enough.
DSC09275.jpg

DSC09281.jpg

A nice view over the Czech lodge as well. If you missed my first hiking day when i visited this lodge, you can see it here: Hiking day Kamnik Savinja Alps
DSC09282.jpg

The fun part of this hike was over and we still had to walk for an hour and a half to reach the top. Just before the mountain saddle we reached the Ice glacier ... or what is left of it.
DSC09297.jpg

This side of the mountain should be covered with ice for the entire year. The photos were taken in the beginning of June. So that's just an early start of a summer in mountains and the ice was already gone. Instead of snow we could watch the entire saddle covered with flowers.

DSC09319.jpg

DSC09304.jpg

DSC09312.jpg

I won't say it wasn't a pretty view but something just didn't feel right. It seems that the changes are happening fast or maybe it was just this year? I doubt it because the snow drought in Slovenia is more obvious every year. It was normal to have few months of snow every year, but last 5 to 10 years i remember only one winter with a lot of snow. Anyway ... No matter how what we would do, we couldn't save the glacier that day :D so we kept walking to the top. With altitude of 2108 m, Ledinski vrh is not one of the highest but that doesn't change the fact that the view from the top was any worse.

DSC09321.jpg

DSC09303.jpg

DSC09320.jpg

Nice overview of the Velika Baba mountain. Baba is worse term for woman in Slovenia. But it seems that a lot of mountains here got the name with this word included. An old myth is that baba is a woman with one tooth, one hair and one breast. So please do not call any woman baba or you might get a slap around your face! :)
DSC09322.jpg

I guess this mountain got it's name because of the hard approach from the Slovenian side. I haven't been there but from talking with people that did it's no joke. There is another approach from the Austrian side which should be much easier.

The mountains from left to right on this photo are Koroška rinka (Carinthia Mount Rinka), Kranjska rinka and the most rounded top is Skuta, which is the 3rd highest peak in Kamnik-Savinja Alps. I haven't visited any of these three but they are on my radar for this year. I hope to get the chance to visit them. At least Skuta which is one of the nicest mountain in Slovenia.
DSC09323.jpg

For the end we stopped by the lodge on our way down to drink a well deserved beer and have a nice chat with the caretaker. A really nice person always greeting hikers and chatting with every one of them.

For the end i'll leave you with one of the most photographed mountain view in Slovenia. The view over the mountains i described in the upper picture but from the Jezersko pass where we started our hiking day.

DSC09347.jpg

Thank you for reading! All photos are taken by me and are Steemit exclusive!

If you missed my previous hiking days you can find them here:
#1. Hiking day - Kamnik–Savinja Alps
#2. Hiking day - surviving a thunderstorm on the peak of 2000m high mountain

You have any thoughts or questions? Upvote and leave them in the comments bellow.

I'll upvote back every meaningful comment with few cents

!! Enjoy your hiking and stay safe !!

Sort:  

Wow, fantastic hike!
This looks quite challanging. I love the Slovenian mountains, too.

You might want to look at this very old post of mine:
Above the Clouds on Bovski Gamsovec

Thanks for stopping by! Bovški Gamsovec is still on my check list. This year my main goal was getting on top of our highest mountain - Triglav. That goal is now behind me. I'll write a post about this spectacular mountain as soon as i get some spare time and some inspiration =)

If you haven't been to Triglav, stay in touch to see our 2 days trip and i highly recommend it. It's really a mountain that you'll remember it for a long time. But don't expect empty trails like on Bovški Gamsovec :)

Whoa! Amazing pictures. Slovenia looks amazing!

Thank you! I really believe that we have an amazing landscape. Especially if you consider how small our country actually is :)

Nice adventure and great shots! ;) I love hiking and climbing!


Tag your photography with #ph1 to be featured, resteemed and upvoted!

Please, upvote this comment and my posts so my upvotes will be more powerful!

Thank you for your comment. I have more than 40 of my hikes photographed in the last year. So I'll post the most interesting ones on Steemit for sure.

Ahh, I love via ferratas and this looks like a great hike. That Velika Baba mountain is gorgeous, thanks for sharing a bit of your country!

It is my biggest pleasure to share some parts of our country to the steemit community! I'm glad you like it.

Great post, It looks really nice and I would love to climb up there. But it is concerning that the glaciers are already that far gone.

Id like to nominate the post in a curation group im in

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Wow! It would be an honor to be featured in one of the OCD posts!

So i accept the nomination of course :)

You had quite the journey, loved all your photos! I'll be following your feed for sure!

I'm glad you liked it Brad! I've checked your blog and found some really nice photos. I'll follow you back for more photos. Welcome to steemit

Wow! I'm a climber too and this looks like such a fun day! I've always wanted to climb a via ferrata route but I'm not sure we have many if any in the states. Good Idea with the helmet. I always wear mine too!

Thanks! I still cant believe myself that one year ago it was actually my first hiking trip. I remember watching a path full of steel cables and i remember saying that day: "I'll never ever gonna go anything like this". Well it was less than a year and me and my friend took that same path I've said that I'll never go :) And we enjoyed it so much ... it's actually a really safe path :)

If you have the gear and know what you're doing, climbing is really safe (:

Lepo napisano :D in odlične slike ;) Res ga ni čez oddih v gorah :P

Lp

Hvala! Lahko smo srečni, da imamo na dosegu roke take gore! :)

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team! Want more earnings? Join @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396, or delegate/donate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead!

Please upvote this comment! We will earn more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings!

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: dropAhead to focus on curating posts, core of the project!

Amazing trip with even more amazing photos. Congratulations. Yo two did a great climbing trip.

Pa dobrodošel. Prosim, preberi tole notico -> https://steemit.com/slovenia/@ervin-lemark/calling-all-steemit-members-from-slovenia-klicem-steemit-clane-iz-slovenije

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47