The Modern Alchemist is now on Steemit.

Salutations! And welcome to the beginning. As many beginnings go, this offering is but a simple one. Where might things go from here? There are myriad directions that I intend to explore. There are so many varied and amazing things that compose this enigma we refer to as life. I find myself near constantly torn between different worlds. Paradigms that on the surface seem alien to each other, perhaps sometimes to the degree of conflict. And yet, they all compose facets of the kaleidoscope that is my existence.

My mind is enraptured by technology, both new and ancient. I love being a part of this technological world. Being one of the fortunate children that fell at the tail end of generation X and yet having a world view that is largely held by Millennials, I was able to witness the rise of the information age, and witnessed with wonder as the old Bakelite rotary phone that tethered me to the kitchen wall, gave way to the fanciful dream of my William Gibson influenced imagination, that I now simply refer to as my smart phone. I'm teaching myself (slowly) to code. I just recently set up my first Linux box. A big step for someone who last knew how to script in Visual Basic. I enjoyed a juvenile life as a phreaker, and have a few sordid tales of coloured boxes and shenanigans with the phone company, that I will likely share on here at some point. I still feel somewhat cheated that life feels awfully apocalyptic for not having the beautiful aesthetics of the cyberpunk landscapes, that seduced my young mind through literature and R.P.G.s.

My soul is both the most at peace and vibrantly alive when it is experiencing a connection with the wild. This can be a hike in these beautiful Colorado woods, that I have been so blessed to grow up in. It can also be finding new ways to efficiently garden in my back yard. Peace can be found for me, in the smell of earth and petrichor. I am constantly experimenting with some project or another. Aquaponics and permaculture enrapture my imagination. Primitive skills are key to who I strive to be. A part of me longs for the hunter/gatherer way of life.

My heart is enraptured by all that is mystic and magickal. I have studied ritual and high magick for many years. I love the mystery and legacy of it all. Though if I'm honest with myself, Chaos Magick is where I fit best. I've always held to the notion that belief is a crutch. Never settle for belief in something that you can know. And never let your personal hangups prevent you from using something that may benefit you. In life, intention is worthless. Results are what remain when all else falls away.

So stay tuned, as you may very well find something among these ramblings of a wandering soul, that you can gain great value from. Time indeed will tell.

Until then.

Cheers!

_Shane

Sort:  

Well written

Congratulations @modern-alchemist! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @modern-alchemist! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51