How One Thought Can Kill You - The Tragic Error of Deciding Not To Feel Pain.

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I have been actively involved in emotional healing for over 10 years and have learned a huge amount during that time which remains mostly unknown in our world and yet which is essential for us to understand. Emotions make up roughly around 50% of our experience and yet probably make up less than 5% of our focus - in other words, we are in huge emotional denial. Today I want to explain how one simple thought could make us ill or kill us.

pain.jpg

Pain is a feeling that stops us in our tracks. Pain can be so overpowering that we literally collapse and have no choice but to take action to stop it. Contrary to popular opinion though, pain is not something to be blocked out - rather it must be learned from.

Pain is only a message within us that our personal limits have been exceeded - it is nothing more. If we do not know when our limits are being exceeded, then we have a huge problem. If, for example, I don't know that my hand is on a hot stove, then I may be damaged beyond repair in just a few moments... Pain is the safety mechanism that keeps me alive in that sense.

The main problem with pain arises when we don't know it's cause or what to do to stop it. The main way we have of understanding pain is to feel into it and to enquire as to its origins. By feeling our real feelings, rather than blocking them out, we stand the best chance of understanding them and then allowing them to evolve. Next time you are in pain, instead of rejecting the pain, my suggestion is to consciously feel into it and send it loving acceptance - the pain is part of you that is hurting and you need to care for yourself, not reject yourself! I have had experiences where extreme pain ended in 1 second after I sent love to the area internally. Think about how much money 'painkillers' generate for business owners, when in truth the most effective way to end pain is totally free and works far more effectively!

A Common Mistake that Can Kill


There is a common pattern I have found over the years in the way consciousness and our minds work... We might create a thought pattern or decision in one moment that has nuances and fine details, but which over time gets degraded and changed - so that what once seemed like a good idea, now becomes a problem.

It is quite logical to decide that 'I don't want to feel pain', but how we actually achieve the goal of 'no pain' can make the difference between life and death. If we avoid or block out our pain then we become disconnected from our body and from reality, whereas if we accept the pain and learn from it, we can change our reality for the better by making better choices. If I decide that 'I don't want to feel pain', I could either just block the pain out by not feeling into it or I could add the extra logic into my thought that says:

'I don't want to feel pain, so I will make sure I always feel it and do what is needed to stop it's cause and stop it's message needing to be present in me'.

Imagine a pain in your abdomen that never ends. If you just block it out, you may never learn what the cause was or that you needed to perform an extended fast and cholonic irrigation to help your body clear itself out. Over time, this failure to act might result in ever more damage being done to your digestive system and then maybe surgery or severe illness. Just by feeling the pain, you might be able to change important processes in your body/mind and/or also take steps to clear the blockage (meaning no need for further pain or illness).

Realisations about pain


The key to note here is that I am describing the difference between consciousness and a lack of consciousness.

Since pain is actually a message for us to learn from that keeps us safe, it is actually a form of love! The thing that causes the pain may be and feel unloving, but the pain itself is essentially our message from loving consciousness that says that we are out of balance and the pain is a reflection of how far part of us has come from receiving the full love that it needs. By us being aware of this gap, we experience a relative measurement of love which is itself loving IF we pay attention!

So now my thought is more like: "I need pain and welcome its voice in me to let me know what needs to change" - I feel better already! ;)

Wishing you well,

Ura Soul

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!
Don't forget, there are more than the 50 witnesses you see on the witness voting page in steemit.com)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

"By feeling our real feelings, rather than blocking them out, we stand the best chance of understanding them and then allowing them to evolve."

and "whereas if we accept the pain and learn from it, we can change our reality for the better by making better choices. "

Yes! Yes! :) The healing is in the feeling.

Personally I have been experiencing that letting go is key, because if we don't let go our traumas eat up on us and eventually they become so deeply buried within ourselves that we might even forget where certain patterns and feelings stem from. Acceptance is so important to go further without letting the past pain having a say in our present moment of limitless possibilities, because when we apply the unconscious principal "Time heals all wounds" we tend to suppress feelings.

Mental Silence is key in the process of letting go, yet many fear the Silence because this is the place where inner upheaval gets louder. Yet mental Silence is helpful to release thought patterns because they are linked to the memory of unhealed energy. We usually recprocess traumatic events in the dream state but most feel rather "haunted" by these dreams, which often entails that people have these dreams their whole life because feeling "haunted" is a state of suppression where energy gets stuck in us. You could say we want to escape, remain blind or simply unconscious.

I love mental Silence, and whenever I released the thoughts' energetic essence in the dream state, I woke up shortly afterwards and felt the physical release, I literally felt how my body releases density and became lighter..step for step more, which in turn leads to more Awareness in the dream state. My dreams were no longer overtaxed with daily worries and traumatic experiences but instead subconscious energetics came forth into my Awareness.

Great article once again!

Absolutely, yes - the 'dream' state can entail numerous forms of experience, but some of them are certainly the result of tapping in to the unconscious self. When we deny emotions we force them into unconsciousness where thy stay until we are wise enough to accept them.

Letting go is a tricky process, in that it is also possible to actually deny the feeling parts of the self in the process of letting go and we end up actually letting go of our own essence (by accident). I feel the key is to let go of the light/thoughts/understandings that are unloving, rather than letting go of anything emotional as the emotions are responsive only and so once the source of the problems (thoughts) are cleared, the emotions can then also clear through acceptance/processing without us risking us 'giving them the boot'.. It's a sensitive subject indeed!

I wholeheartedly agree! :)

I used to try and escape my pain, I hid from my feelings and created a hurricane of emotional and psychological issues that almost led me to commit suicide.

Only after embracing my pain, fears and every other aspect of myself as a person helped me overcome that situation, the day I tried to commit suicide I was a boy but I walked out of that 8th floir balcony a man and I finally understood everything that was causing me grievance.

I am glad you had the grace and wisdom to learn quickly and find some balance. <3

It was a life changing experience, only when you are close to death and have no attachments to your current life is when you are able to see the whole picture clearly and in spite of all adversity, you see the good stuff too.

When the mind and emotional body are free and not stuck in repetitive patterns, clarity is often the result.

That. Is. Beautiful.

👏👏👏👏 Do you know Donny Epstein's work? He is probably the single greatest healer in the world, and his entire body of work is based on this. If you don't have it, I would highly recommend The 12 Stages of Healing. I got a steam burn a few weeks ago, and it was actually excruciating. It was so fucking bad. So I decided to let it ravage me and completely take me over. Guess what. It was gone in about a minute. That minute of feeling it in its entirety was agony, but some kind of magical transcendence happens. It's resistance that damages and kills. Always resistance.

Thanks, no, I have never heard of him before. I have been using a body of work that appears to have been received from God in the first person - it goes deeper than any human I am aware of. :)

I've been suffering for headaches for a while, and I had taken it as "normal", as if they were a part of me. It was only recently that my mom said

Never get accustomed to headaches. They are not normal. They mean that something bad is happening.

And at that moment I realized that I was blocking out the things that I didn't feel were "nice", "comfortable" and telling myself that they were just the way the world was.

Now I need to go to the neurologist to see what's wrong, and it may be uncomfortable, but pain needs to be tended and observed, and loved sometimes, as you say, but never, as you say, left to habit and oblivion to handle.

Sometimes just stopping blocking out the problems is enough to lesson or end pain.
As far as headaches go, in my experience and according to a doctor of anatomy and chiropractic care that I trust - most headaches have an origin in a misalignment in the spine... and sometimes in dehydration. I suggest finding a good chiropracter ;)

Ok YES I knew this was based on Chiropractic! Do you go to a Network Chiropractor? @cryptosharon, @ura-soul is correct. Feeling the pain will always actually heal it. Get The 12 Stages of Healing. There are stories in there of people like yourself and what they went through and how they healed. This book has been my bible for five years. You can heal anything. Literally.

Thank you for your advice! I didn't know anything about that. I'll try to find a chiropractor now. Now I don't know whether to look for a neurologist or a chiropractor, lol.

I suggest listening to Dr. John Bergman on the subject:

DEFINITELY a Chiropractor, @cryptosharon. I CANNOT recommend this highly enough. Make sure you find a straight Chiropractor. No, this doesn't refer to their sexuality. REAL Chiropractic is based on the philosophy that there is an Innate intelligence that runs your body. A good Chiropractor works with this Intelligence and allows the Intelligence to do all the work. A Chiropractor gets right into the control center of the body, the spine. Every single working of the body is run by the spine. So with a good Chiropractor, you are getting straight to the root of the problem whereas with a MD you are covering it up and creating problems in other parts of the body. You are not fixing anything, but rather making yourself comfortable. A Network Chiropractor does what is called Reorganizational Healing. You do not return to what you were before it became uncontrollable, but you start to become extraordinary. If you want to make sure your Chiropractor is phenomenal and legit, feel free to run their name by me and I will run it by my Chiropractor who is a teacher and is extremely well connected with the very best.

I agree with you in principle, however the pain I have to deal with appears to come from the toxins they spray into our skies which cause inflammations in my body. There is not much I can do about it other than authoring angry posts on steemit. Most people laugh in my face when I talk about it. So in my case, pain management seems to be the only way out. Mental acrobatics can not help me with the symptoms of fibromyalgia. Turmeric helps though and reduces strong pain to a mild one.

You are right about the toxins, in that there are many from the air, from farming and beyond that lead to inflammation and worse. I am not advocating mental gymnastics here, I am advocating change brought through using and accepting the trigger pain gives. I appreciate that we can feel overwhelmed by being on a polluted planet whereby the reflections of heartlessness are all around. It is imperative to not also feed into that heartlessnes by denying our own pain and other feelings - which would, if fully responded to, lead us to create changes that can solve the issues.

In the case of pollutants from industry and other sources, it may be necessary to do whatever can be done to relocate to purer surroundings, to more thoroughly detox and also to do whatever can be done to educate others.

This planet is pretty much as out of balance as it can get while also sustaining the intensity of life that we have here - it is entirely appropriate to respond to that with radical change. For example, defending the rainforests has a double benefit of placing you in the right place for your body's needs and also actually doing something to stop the spread of further pollution.

Yes, I completely agree with you in principle. As a long term mindset and strategy for people to create a better future.
For me, in my current reality not so much. I am just fucked :)

There are always more realities available to tune into!

This is a fascinating read. I always try to keep that old saying 'mind over matter' in the fore. It works for me. Pain as love is a new concept but I'm happy to read on and embrace it. :)

At a certain point I learned to let go of the idea of 'mind over matter' and embraced something closer to 'mind causes matter' and 'feelings matter'. :)

There are a few people who do not feel pain. Not many, because most of them die in their first years.

Also I suspect that 50% emotion is even understated. And most people are slaves to their emotion.

I recall hearing of people without pain, yes - though I don't recall ever researching them at all.

The enslaving aspect of emotions is not the emotions themselves, but rather the denial of them (Which causes them to get stuck and unable to move/evolve) and also the unloving thinking which essentially abuses them and controls them. There is nothing inherent about emotions that is enslaving.

No, emotions alone are not enslaving. They are guiding.

But their guiding function has developed in thousands of years that were completely different from our current environment. And the vast majority of people have lost the "connection" to their emotion, just reacting to them whenever they appear.

The disconnection is a literal lack of involvement of their own heart. The heart bonds thought and emotions and ultimately is the core of our being. To be without a core and without a union of these key part of self is hugely problematic, although I do not think this is a strictly modern problem by any means. We have a huge backlog of denied emotions to process and therefore also a huge library of mostly inaccurate beliefs and judgements to clear too!

Since pain is actually a message for us to learn from that keeps us safe, it is actually a form of love!

This is deep, compelling and superb. Such an amazing and thought provoking piece.

That was my favorite part, too.

I have had experiences where extreme pain ends in 1 second after I sent love to the area internally.

It's the same amazing experience I had on the third day of my first Vipassana meditation course: the power of the mind is incredible, isn't it?

The mind can surely kill or help heal, yes!

No pain, no gain, right? But then you need to find out where the pain comes from. At a certain point, life is all about recuperation ... at least for me. Going into the pain, finding out what's causing it, then I can go back to the fight and ... create the cycle all over again. That's how it seems to go. If you avoid all that, then you're a perfect candidate for the heart attack or some other hideous stress related disease. It's good to build up the ego, but then it has to be evolving ... nothing is fixed and the pain (if we figure out the cause) reminds us to change ... otherwise, painful death : - )

Hmm.. Well, I do aim for a level of balance that allows for gain without pain - but life is a learning process so some pain is probably unavoidable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75