One Of The Most Common Gene Mutations, You Could Have It And Not Even Know It

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians!

Today I want to talk a little bit about the MTHFR Gene mutation.

It's estimated that 30-50% of people have a faulty MTHFR Gene. It's funny, when I think of MTHFR I want to spell it out like the FLDSMDFR from Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs. It also remindss me of an abbreviated version of a certain swear word. 😜 a83a939334ed13f94ec8024dbb73999a.jpg
Image source: Pinterest

Really it stands for a really long technical sounding name that I won't make you read.

Anyway, all kidding aside. An error on the MTHFR Gene is very common. Most people aren't aware that they have it.

The MTHFR Gene is responsible for a process called methylation. Namely for converting folic acid, and folate (vitamin B9) into its usable and active form, called L-methylfolate or 5-MTHF. The following chart lays out the process of methylation and it looks very complicated, but just take a look at the last step. The MTHFR Gene is supposed to step in right at the end of the process, as the last key in the chain, and unlock our folate for us. For we who have this mutation, it doesn't matter how much folate or folic acid we eat, our body is not getting it.folic-acid-metabolism.png source

What are the symptoms?

Many symptoms are of the mind, and show up in the following ways.

  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Scizophrenia
  • Bipolar
  • Dementia
  • Autism
  • ADD/ADHD
  • Parkinson's
  • Psychosis
  • Not remembering dreams
  • Alzheimer's

IMG_20180410_040454.jpg
Image source: Pinterest

This mutation can also show up as reproductive problems too, which include:

  • Frequent miscarriages
  • Neural tube defects
  • Congenital heart defects
  • Infertility

Do any of these symptoms strike a cord with you?

I didn't even know this was a thing until my doctor wanted to have me tested.

It's called the genesight test. A simple swab to the inside of my cheek, and sent to a lab. The price was a hefty $2000, but luckily my insurance covered it.

When I found out about the faulty Gene, it explained many of the problems I had in my life.

And the solution is simple

Take an L-methylfolate supplement. The clinical name is Deplin, and is often given to people who have medication resistance in their depression, regardless of the test. I get the L-methylfolate supplement from amazon.com at an inexpensive price. It has changed my life for the better. I started dreaming again, and I had more energy, I felt better all around! It may be something worth looking into.

Thanks for reading, and have a great day!

Love, snowpea ❤

thealliance_enginewitty_youarehope.png

Sort:  

Thank you @snowpea for taking the time to introduce many of us to this affliction. Something to keep in mind and something that we all may want to check on, if not for ourselves for loved ones.

Again, thanks :)

Thank you @robertandrew for your support! I hope this information will spread to those who would be helped by it! :)

You have a good write up, and very informative one .This write up enlighten me on what leads to not remembering dream, thanks.But, it would have done you and this post more good if you can properly reference the source of your post and properly credit your image source unless those images are yours.

You can as well tag steemstem in your post when you write Science related post.You can also join us on discord by clicking on this discord

Thanks, I fixed the image credits. Sometimes the ones I find on Pinterest slip my mind. :) As for the rest of the post, it is all original, it would be impossible to site all the sources of where I gained this information over the last three years of learning about having this mutation, my doctor, brochures I read, ect.

Okay,that good,is that Actually a real life experience?

Yes, I was tested and I have the mutation. I have to take L-methylfolate now. Learned I had it about 3 years ago.

Oops ,this write up is completely informative, hardly do people ever use life experience.I hope you are doing fine now.?

Yes, much better, thank you!

You got a 1.77% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @snowpea!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 14.06% upvote!
I was summoned by @snowpea. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Do you take the med based on a doctor's advice? Cuz as miracously as it seems you know the drawbacks !

What kind of drawbacks does it have? With an estimated 30-50% having the mutation, there is an incentive to take the supplement, anyway, unless the side effects outweigh benefits. I'll definitely do the research myself, but any info I can get on the front end will help point me in the right direction.

I looked it up, and it appears as though there could be some side effects, but I have not experienced any whatsoever. L-methylfolate was just like a missing puzzle piece being put in. :)

Yes, it's per my doctor's advice. It's an over the counter supplement, he prescribed it, yet I found it cheaper and now get it from Amazon.

short but very informative post. Glad you got diagnosed and you're feeling better.

Health is wealth that is the philosophy of life,the cost of a good always manifest itself by working effectively, thanks for the update.

Thank you for sharing. I am going to check it out!

Hey! I just followed and upvoted you :) follow back and we can help each other succeed @mahamlicious

Thank you @snowpea!! I remember you telling me about this and I'm definitely going to order some. Everything concerning my insurance is on hold so I'll try anything that I can get without a prescription. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60181.17
ETH 2419.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44