How to Yoga - MeditationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemians!

Meditation is one of my favorite practices:
it's life changing, and it never fails.
When I started meditating,
I set a timer for 5 minutes and told myself to sit still and breathe.
In the beginning, my mind bounced around and told me
I needed to get up and tend to this or that literally dozens of times,
but thankfully I maintained my commitment to those 5 minutes.
It didn't take long for me to fall in love with how great it made me feel,
and pretty soon I could sit for extended periods of time.
I recommend starting with 5 minutes a day and working your way up when it feels right.


What's happening in your brain and body during meditation?

Your mind is not going to stop when you meditate; it's in its very nature to keep on keeping on. Rather, you're giving the mind something to focus on (the breath is a super accessible focal point) so it can calm down and your nervous system can relax. Eventually, you retrain it.

The very real promises of meditation - inner peace, expanded consciousness, spiritual insight - persist after a session. Meditation is more than simply entering a deep level of relaxation; it causes changes in physiology as well! 

The brain has an incredible property called neuroplasticity - you can literally rewire the brain using your consciousness. The brain/body constantly generate electricity; during meditation, alpha (8 - 12 Hz) and theta waves (3 - 8 Hz) are activated (here's a reference), and these are super powerful, healing frequencies. Continued meditation practice leads to denser gray matter in areas responsible for attention, compassion, learning, and memory, and decreased density in areas responsible for anxiety and stress (here's a reference).

You can go super deep into learning more about meditation, and/or you can just do it and see for yourself. 


Suggestions for meditation:

There are a zillion practices that can achieve various goals. I share here a basic technique that has worked for me, in sincere hopes that it helps you find stable peace and inspiration.

  • Find a quiet spot where you won't be disturbed. Set a timer if you want to; sometimes I burn a stick of incense and get up when it goes out.
  • Sit comfortably on the ground or in a chair.
  • Close your eyes.
  • Bring your awareness to the breath. Inhale to a count of 8, notice the pause at the top, exhale to a count of 8, and again notice the pause at the bottom.
  • If the mind wanders, remind yourself to come back to the breath. Just notice that you've wandered again, and calmly redirect back to your inhalations and exhalations. Let the thoughts float away like clouds in the sky, without attachment, without judgment.







💛 Sara!

image source
Sort:  

Short and very sweet to a point of blissfulness... Joy... Thanks for sharing the good words, intent and thoughts. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Great post @saramiller! Great suggestion to start with only 5 min. if need be, something most anyone can do. I love that meditation can also come in so many forms--something for everyone. Thank you for sharing your awesomeness. <3

Thank you for your endless encouragement, @everlove!

Very interesting post :) tnx for sharing!!!!
I've tried to meditate two years before starting from 15 minutes but I could never do it!! I will try with five and i will tell you if it worked!
how many times a day do you meditate?

Yes, please share how it goes @zkalemiss!
My practice has evolved over the years, and I don't really time it anymore and instead sit as long as feels appropriate in the moment.
Generally these days I'm taking several shorter sessions ( < 5 min) throughout the day and approaching my daily responsibilities (especially physical labor) as meditation, plus I do a meditative fire ceremony.

NIce post Sara and lovely name you bear! Be kind to allow me to add my experience as I would rather recommend not setting timer at all. Just dive and be it how much you sense or need. It will all come naturally. Honestly I would jump and be shocked if timer kickes me from meditation. I am meditating since i was little kid. Tried various techniques and am initiated in TM for years as I'm practicing it. So trust me time alert is a violence you don't want or need while meditating... as you will become more and more sensibile which is amazing, and most people who are drawn to meditate already are. enjoy rinsing and good luck to all new meditators! It is so nice to see people becoming tender and aware💚

Thank you for your perspective @omarrium! It IS so nice to see people becoming tender and aware - such a lovely time to be alive!

Meditation is essential part of healing and realignment. All to do with energy and vibrations. Sacred knowledge and everyone should embrace some sort of meditation into their lives and find the style that works for them.

It has certainly been essential in my healing, @sebastianjago! Meditation is a most excellent and powerful practice - it's incredible to come into the awareness that we control our own energy and vibrations~*~

100% in control of our own reality. It is all about energy and how we apply and share it.

Thanks, @lordemau! This has been in my digital files for awhile and I didn't have an attribution for it. Good to know!

Thanks, @lordemau! This has been in my digital files for awhile and I didn't have an attribution for it. Good to know!

Upvoted and resteemed!!!

I appreciate your support, @riosparada!

Starting in smaller time increments is great advice. I've done some guided meditation and also tried think think "God in, love out" as I breathe in and exhale respectively. Thank you.

That's a beautiful practice that I enjoy too, @ken-and-jane! ૐ

Another great post! Added to Yoga-Trail. https://discord.gg/FAhsj5R
I do moving meditation most days but I miss being able to go out in the morning to the ocean and meditate before the tourists showed up.

Thank you @baerdric! Ocean meditation sounds totally divine 🌊

Stop thinking about anything during Meditation,
Of-course it is really hard to do, But
What keep yours thoughts bouncing is called Man in Hinduism,
Which is really good concept to know :-)
Well post is really simple and sweet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45