3 All natural ways to help beat Seasonal Depression

in #health7 years ago

As summer fades to fall and the long days turn into long nights, people tend to get a bit of seasonal depression. It is a natural thing for this to happen, but since we live in a world of pharmaceuticals people think there is a pill to take care of every issue. However, with all of these pills we take we never give our bodies the chance to go through the process of depression naturally and work it out, which I believe is extremely important to learn for future issues of the same nature. If we never grow and learn from these experiences then how can we better ourselves and stop these things from happening time and time again? WE can't! Instead we go to the doctor and have them prescribe some poison (oops, I mean medicine) to take care of the problem quickly and quietly. Unfortunately a quick cover usually causes more severe symptoms down the road, which ultimately perpetuates disruption throughout your entire life.

As a disabled veteran with extreme PTSD, I go through my fair share of depression. For years I went to the V.A. (hospital) where doctors would prescribe me so many drugs medications I didn't even know my name, but that was always a temporary fix that seemed to snowball and get worse every year. Those pills didn't even work for me, they made me feel like a zombie, I didn't feel like myself at all and I didn't want to go through life feeling that way, that's not living, that's barely existing. Because I had no other option at the doctors office besides medication I was basically forced to find alternate holistic ways to deal with my depression on my own. From my experiences over the years I have found 3 powerful all natural ways to help me out when I get that bit depressed and I want to share that knowledge with you.
First thing you have to realize is that this is a process, you will not feel better over night, but if you start utilizing these tools you will be equipped to deal with your depression without a pill, anytime you need and that is an empowering feeling!

Vitamin D

Most people know that vitamin D can help with (seasonal) depression, what they don't know is nearly ***everyone*** is Vitamin D deficient! I know that sounds crazy because it is so easy to step outside and get the 15 mins of sun you need a day, but for some reason most people don't. If you live in a place that doesn't get good sun you can always get supplements to help.

Magnesium

This is a supplement that is extremely helpful for depression. It can also be found in many foods we eat. Magnesium restricts the release of stress hormones and acts as a filter to prevent them entering the brain. One study found that magnesium was as effective as antidepressants in treating depression. Supplemental magnesium provides significant relief from general depression and major depressive disorder fast, often within a week.

Exercise

This one is so under rated it is ridiculous, it is the #1 most recommended way to fight depression! I am not talking about going to the gym and sweating it out for a hour everyday, just take a walk, get your body moving, your blood pumping, your muscles loose. It is really that easy. And if you exercise outside you can get your vitamin D with your exercise all in one!

"Peace, love and all that hippie shit"

Sort:  

moderndayhippie I need your help for testing a link on one of my posts, it has a link, then a download, press the down load button and then answer the survey then automatic down load will begin, the file is how to invest, it is a trial test, if you down load the file, i will upvote 4 posts free as a gift from me in my post
https://busy.org/post/@red-rose/how-to-manage-a-link-in-steemit-post-for-the-free-files-trial-test-investment-and-wealth

please press the link and send to me the feedback by writing in the comments here under...

Brains 4 Business

I really do appreciate the offer for some free resteems but i dont download anything from anyone i dont know. No offense at all! I love this service and dont mind paying for it at all. Thank u for being awesome.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 2.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @moderndayhippie
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @moderndayhippie to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Excellent info @moderndayhippie - couldn't agree more especially about the drugs medicines pushed on us prescribed by our dealers doctors.

Right! Clever comment! ;) wish my upvote was worth more for this one.

This post has received a 0.26 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-12-26 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

bot-educ.leb.png

• Great post @moderndayhippie, your post has been resteemed by @educ.leb

@educ.leb Upvoted & Followed you! •

educ.lebthanksyou.gif

• ?Basic: Send 0.100 SBD/STEEM With Your Post URL On Memo to @educ.leb | You will Be Followed & Resteemed |Pro: Send 0.500 SBD/STEEM To Subscribe For A Week[for 7 days

resteem your posts for just 0.001 SBD] •

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by moderndayhippie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50