Who knows what about "mast cells" "histamines" and "diet"?? I'm itching to know!

in #health7 years ago

P5030208. I really want to know w Bandit.png

So like ... what I haven't been talking about ...

Insect bites!! I'm a walking talking insect magnet !! Worse! By summer's end I am still wearing every bite I received. This year we had a flea invasion that was super frustrating. Do you know they think humans are better than potato chips?

All these lingering bites are always made worse by heat and a few weeks ago we hit our HEAT wave. (Not as bad as Texas but bad enough!) I stayed out in the heat too long. It made all the (more or less flat) bites turn into welts and blisters. It's painful ... a deep nerve-attacking itch.

The last week has been especially hard on me. Mostly, if I can get still and be still in an over-air-conditioned house, then I won't itch.

This is a new trend with me. It takes me a some time to realize, "OH Wait! I have to really deal with this. I don't just magically heal." I tried taking antihistamines but they don't help ... at least not like I would expect.

I've slightly bumped into the idea of over-reactive histamines causing this kind of thing ... plus a few other issues ... like I've also re-encountered my old allergy to wheat-germ. Like a 45 yr gap without it.

And weirdly the haying hasn't bothered me at all this year. I mean seriously! my "allergic" reactions are all over the place. And lets not forget that I'm suddenly mostly UNallergic to cats after being family-splitting, friendship-splitting allergic most of my (many) years. (But the cats still have to have their "business box" outside. And really a few hours on winter days is all Mrs. Kitty McKitty usually gets!!)

I did run across this site, Healing Histamine that was interested in actually making sense by addressing the issue through diet -- without being, "Here. Take this chemistry lab experiment." I plan to go on a deep read tomorrow ... em ... after I sleep today actually! look at the time!

Yes. You're right. I have aversions to pills. Especially since, in my head at least, this all got worse last year when I went to a much stronger anti-histamine in order to avoid asthma attacks during the haying. The "this" that especially got worse was not being able to tolerate the heat AT ALL. People. I grew up in Texas. I usually don't flinch until it's 105F. Now I can't do 87.

I'm planning to do some research tomorrow but ... in the mean time I thought I'd ask ... So. em. who knows what about this syndrome where the "mast cells" break down at the slightest provocation and flood the body with histamines?

And yes there's a part two to this story as well ... specifically dealing with the insects themselves !!

Sort:  

Yes, you have to do your own research; most doctors will just sell you pills, then more pills to treat the side-effects of the first batch etc.

Thanks - upvoted. You may be interested in a new project I have started to help minnows further: Minnows Accelerator Project [Reward Share and 200 SP Delegated][July 2017 Signups]

I saw you had great success when your article was promoted by Curie; I hope you can find similar success moving forward. Thanks for reading.

Thank you very much for your tips and wishes for success.

I think your project is brilliant. Readers over bots everyday!

I am interested in participating in August!

I'm also suggesting that you might be able to harvest curation assistance from the Steemians who best use their won delegated SP.

"I'm also suggesting that you might be able to harvest curation assistance from the Steemians who best use their won delegated SP."

That's a great idea! Thanks. Yes, it is a lot of work for one person. I shall add that to my "Next Steps for Winners."

Welcome to Whalepower Tag Usage.
Please Read the Whalepower Guidelines First - click here

This post have been Read , Upvoted & Manual Curated. 👍 ✅ 🖋
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag and share with the Whale Power Community, Follow, Upvote , Reblog , Visit Our Page when ever you can.

This message come up when #whalepower Tag Applied

@bullionstackers @paul-gillbanks Curator for #whalepower Tag

#whalepower Tag - Founder @bullionstackers

Latest Blog - Please Click to Read

Thank you. I noticed you roaming about in comments over a week ago. I read the guides then. They were encouraging. And I have been monitoring the whalepower community and finding it enjoyable.

Thanks for all your efforts!

Oh boy. Just another thing we have in common Marilla. It gets mighty hot here in summer with high humidity too. I always loved summer, but dread it now as I have what I've been told is a 'heat allergy' ~ Not allergic to anything else, except heat ~ Which I find to be a bit weird.

My symptoms: Prickling like pins and needle, which comes if I'm outside in the heat, and more often than not, doing some sort of physical work, like gardening. This subsides as soon as I get out of the heat, but then the heat rash: Like little bites under the skin, intensely itchy and lasts then for days.

My 'heat allergy' may be different to yours ~ But this is what I've found out. Without the medical jargon: When you overheat, your body perspires (even if you don't notice it) and the perspiration is forming a layer on your skin, which is preventing the skin from breathing. So it helps to continually wash yourself down ~ Skin brushing, shower or just a rough flannel.

Our water and presume yours too is chlorinated. We now have a shower head that filters out the chlorine. But when we didn't, I would leave tap water in a large jar outside in the sun, so that the chlorine would evaporate and the water receives sun energy ~ Then use that to wash with.

Also you may be deficient in magnesium. Get the pure magnesium flakes and add them to (unchlorinated) water to make up magnesium oil. Have foot baths with it. Or rub into the soles of your feet.

There is a magnesium cream that I get here in Oz, made by an Aussie. But there are many on the market now. Just make sure you get a good one that doesn't have other chemical additives in it.

And there are natural anti-Inflammatories. The most popular is tumeric/curcumin. You can get this as capsules at a health food store. Also Quercetain ~ Also in capsules. You can take them together.

I've never had it, but a friend told me about curcumin oil which is the strongest form to take.

You can also use tumeric in your food and drinks. We can get the actual roots at our farmers' markets, but also use the powder. Tumeric requires black pepper to activate it.

This is what I do: Add a good teaspoon of tumeric to a cup of boiling water. Grind black peppers into it. Simmer for at least 10 mins. to activate. In a cup mix coconut cream and honey/maple syrup. Pour tumeric and black pepper liquid into it.

You can add other spices: beneficial ones are cinnamon, cardamon, cloves and (real) vanilla. I hope some of this may help.

Loading...

Grrrr can't share this....

Can't share this which what?

because it is past 7 days it can't be shared to others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44