Home Grown Mulberry: A Tiny Berry with Loads of Goodness

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

Happy post Easter, the celebration of Spring! (If I got it right)

I have not been doing the Color Series Challenge but I guess today could make an exception.

Today I am really blessed to spot and receive quite a harvest of my home grown mulberry plant.

20180402-102353_800.jpg

I had this with me when I first noticed that mulberries not only helps with the diabetic issues, it also is very good for eye sight, especially when you boil its leaves or dry them up as tea.

For almost 2 years now my little mulberry plant did not produce much fruit, occasionally one or two berries, and usually before I could harvest any, it has been snatched away by birds.

But perhaps the recent thunderstorms and probably the birds preferred shelter more than hunting for berries my plant was blessed with plenty of natural rain (powered up by the thunder that produced nitrites which is great for gardening)

If you notice the red ones on the side, they are actually much more sour, and if you prefer sweet ones, you will have to wait until it has fully ripen in dark maroon to black-ish shade.

Sometimes, they produce a longer look, but most of the time I only get these tiny ones.

Time for some natural fertiliser soon.

More facts about Mulberry

Interestingly when you see the mulberry which is red pigmented, it doesn't only contain Vit A; in fact, it has more Vitamin K and C (if it is less ripe - because it tastes sour) and Vitamin K is almost as the same dose of Vit A can be found in the fruit itself, which helps bone tissue not to mention it helps our platelet in blood clotting.

Further more its anti-oxidant component can fight free radicals, slowing down skin ageing and pigmentation.

Speaking of which... I do realised my skin is dryer when I stopped taking dried mulberries (which is usually the white ones).

Another great benefit besides reducing your diabetic symptoms, mulberries also help lowering cholesterol count. So for those who are a little tired of oats, they can try mulberry as well (or mix the both of them together for their meal)

More interesting facts about improving blood circulation and curing Anaemia also came to my attention as I used to suffer such symptoms. Maybe consuming over the years has helped tremendously.

Right now, my mulberry plants are actually potted instead of ground as my new location will not have land space; however those who have landed property, just cut a strong firm stick from the mulberry tree onto the ground and you will see it grow pretty quickly up to 30 feet tall!

Maybe I should ask my dad to cut and cultivate some baby mulberry trees if anyone from the Klang Valley is interested in acquiring later. Feel free to DM me in #teamMalaysia discord and I'll ask my dad and see how can he harvest from it. My parents still boil the leaves and it helped to slow down my mom's cataract situation.

Have you personally tried fresh mulberry or mulberry tea before?

Do share your experience and how it has benefited you.

Until then

mini-jess-smile-128.png
Thank You for Your Time

help-promo-a2.png
Please click on the logo to read why I have this project of 1000 SBD at the first place.


Sort:  

Lovely! Never imagined mulberry has so many health benefits. :)

Me neither @superstar2018 ! But yes, it does surprisingly. And the tea made from these leaves have been giving a lot of benefit for my mom's eyes, to slow down the cataract being unimaginably serious.

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

I do plant them as well😆 I haven’t got to taste them yet , but they’re growing well 😁

ooo really @edward-ong ? You can actually harvest the leaves, wash them clean and boil them like leong sui with maybe one cube of unprocessed cane sugar if you want it sweet.

My family drinks them without sugar.

After using the method from what I learn from internet and also old folks from the neighborhood uncle, my Mulberries in the flower pot can keep producing fruits whole year, you just need to... BOTAK (Bald) your plants!

After each harvest, cut off ALL the leaves, use it to make drinks or give to others who likes it... also trim the branched if it's getting to tall. After that when it start growing new leave, the berries are also growing from the branches near the leaves.

This is from my garden.
Mulberries.jpg

Hope everyone will have non-stop supply of mulberries after this!

Ooo... I will definitely look into that. I lost my Avocado plant maybe because I didn't prune it first before changing soil... So I think I will trim mine (that has finished fruiting) tonight and then make mulberry tea and let them grow again.

Thanks for the tip @joelai !

Any specific fertiliser you are using?

You are welcome @littlenewthings. Haha.. I just wrote a post about my fertiliser this morning, which contain cat poop... Lol
You can check it out, https://steemit.com/makemesmile/@joelai/tomatoes-grown-with-organic-fertilisers-cat-poops

I normally make my own, so basically just the leftover vege, eggshells and used coffee powder mixed together.

Your post has been featured in Issue #4 of The Make It Healthy Project MAGAZINE! Many thanks for your contribution to the health of the Steemit community :-)

thank you @woman-onthe-wing ! Am very surprised with such an honour!

@littlenewthings Oh, fresh plucked mulberries! I'm also planted several mulberry trees in front of my house.

There's some interesting fact with mulberries. If we cut those extra leaves and trunks frequently - the trees with bear plenty of fruits; else - there won't be any fruits...

Also, I loved to pluck all those young leaves to make soup or fried eggs, while the older leaves - I drained out the moisture with a dehydrator machine and grind them into a mulberry leaves powders - it's good to make tea :)
I've made several pillows by inserted all those dried mulberry leaves into it. These pillows are good for those that have insonnmia problem!

If you always have muscle pains - it's good to put some dried leaves into a bath tub, as it helps to relieve muscle pains as well~

PS: Maybe, I should make an article for this topic lol

I think you definitely need to make an article out of these juicy tips @wilhb81 !

I didn't know about the insomnia problem!

We didn't have a dehydrator but my parents use dry hot wok to dry the leaves before sun them for a short while. Maybe I should really look into a dehydrator for this.

How long do you set to dehydrate?

I never knew it can be used to fry with eggs too! The really young leaves are the ones when they are just tiny blades? Or is there a maximum size of a young leaf that can be used?

Thanks for your suggestion, I will try to arrange all the tips into one post in near future...

Yup, it surely does help to overcome the insomnia problem.

Just go to Shopee.com.my and type "dehydrator" - there are many types over there.

It depends on the the moisture of the leaves. It's better to pluck the leaves on dry hot days, rather than on rainy days. Normally, I set the temperature to 52 degree Celsius and at least 12 hours.

For fry with eggs or cooking soup - it;s better to pick those tiny blades/shoots from the tip top of the leaves. Usually, there are about 8-10 young leaves per trunk.

Hope these tips help you :)

That does help! I will let my mom know. We still have a huge tree and my dad was starting to wonder should he discard it (being only making mulberry "leong sui")

I have been eyeing or dehydrator from shopee for a very long time. Just wondering which one to take.

If it is 12 hours, wouldn't that consume a lot of electricity?

Just discard and cut off those older leaves and it should be fined :)

Well, I recommend you to buy those low Watt dehydrator, maybe around 200-250W.

Ok, let's say a dehydrator consume 250Watts per hour, then 12 hours x 250Watts = 3000Watts or 3kWh. It costs about RM0.218-RM0.334 per kWh, so it's merely around RM0.66-RM1 per use.

For RM1 - you can have a healthy dried mulberries leaves by yourself - don't you think it's well worth sis? :)

hm... this means I must look for the low Watts dehydrator so that I can fully benefit it!

Thanks for that tip @wilhb81 ! Will definitely look into that!

Exactly, I give you some hints - choose between Morgan or Anywin :D

You're mostly welcome, thanks for organizing the Teammalaysia Discord team; without you and other companions - I won't be here :)

Aw. That's really sweet of you. This is great encouragement for #teammalaysia family . Thank you for having that faith and joining the family!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #95 (4/5/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Hmmm didn't know it could be grown in Malaysia 😊 and also didn't know about Vitamin K. Lol.

I know Vitamin S... do you know what is it?

Hm... it stands for a lot of things @coachmelleow... does it also have an a.k.a vitamin J in it?

Vitamin M used to be FIAT Currency... now Vitamin S - Steemit LOL...

Of course Vitamin J - is Jesus! Hahaha cause we need Him Everyday...
Hmmm, this could be my next post on @seekgod :)

Haha.... well that is a totally unexpected answer!

Birds can't eat that much. It is the human beings grab without ask. It happen all the time outside my garden.

when it is outside your compound, be ready to share with the public @legendchew . LOL.

Sharing is Caring

(in their context)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 08:42:02
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 71.70/100.00
Total Photos: 12
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.49
ETH 2617.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39