You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Home Grown Mulberry: A Tiny Berry with Loads of Goodness

in #health6 years ago (edited)

@littlenewthings Oh, fresh plucked mulberries! I'm also planted several mulberry trees in front of my house.

There's some interesting fact with mulberries. If we cut those extra leaves and trunks frequently - the trees with bear plenty of fruits; else - there won't be any fruits...

Also, I loved to pluck all those young leaves to make soup or fried eggs, while the older leaves - I drained out the moisture with a dehydrator machine and grind them into a mulberry leaves powders - it's good to make tea :)
I've made several pillows by inserted all those dried mulberry leaves into it. These pillows are good for those that have insonnmia problem!

If you always have muscle pains - it's good to put some dried leaves into a bath tub, as it helps to relieve muscle pains as well~

PS: Maybe, I should make an article for this topic lol

Sort:  

I think you definitely need to make an article out of these juicy tips @wilhb81 !

I didn't know about the insomnia problem!

We didn't have a dehydrator but my parents use dry hot wok to dry the leaves before sun them for a short while. Maybe I should really look into a dehydrator for this.

How long do you set to dehydrate?

I never knew it can be used to fry with eggs too! The really young leaves are the ones when they are just tiny blades? Or is there a maximum size of a young leaf that can be used?

Thanks for your suggestion, I will try to arrange all the tips into one post in near future...

Yup, it surely does help to overcome the insomnia problem.

Just go to Shopee.com.my and type "dehydrator" - there are many types over there.

It depends on the the moisture of the leaves. It's better to pluck the leaves on dry hot days, rather than on rainy days. Normally, I set the temperature to 52 degree Celsius and at least 12 hours.

For fry with eggs or cooking soup - it;s better to pick those tiny blades/shoots from the tip top of the leaves. Usually, there are about 8-10 young leaves per trunk.

Hope these tips help you :)

That does help! I will let my mom know. We still have a huge tree and my dad was starting to wonder should he discard it (being only making mulberry "leong sui")

I have been eyeing or dehydrator from shopee for a very long time. Just wondering which one to take.

If it is 12 hours, wouldn't that consume a lot of electricity?

Just discard and cut off those older leaves and it should be fined :)

Well, I recommend you to buy those low Watt dehydrator, maybe around 200-250W.

Ok, let's say a dehydrator consume 250Watts per hour, then 12 hours x 250Watts = 3000Watts or 3kWh. It costs about RM0.218-RM0.334 per kWh, so it's merely around RM0.66-RM1 per use.

For RM1 - you can have a healthy dried mulberries leaves by yourself - don't you think it's well worth sis? :)

hm... this means I must look for the low Watts dehydrator so that I can fully benefit it!

Thanks for that tip @wilhb81 ! Will definitely look into that!

Exactly, I give you some hints - choose between Morgan or Anywin :D

You're mostly welcome, thanks for organizing the Teammalaysia Discord team; without you and other companions - I won't be here :)

Aw. That's really sweet of you. This is great encouragement for #teammalaysia family . Thank you for having that faith and joining the family!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41