I've Become A Fat Bastard!!

in #health7 years ago

Hello fellow Steemers and welcome to my first real post of substance.
Join me over the next couple of months as I begin a personal quest to drop a lil over 30lbs.

Over the last few months I've put on some serious weight (for me) and I've decided it's time to do something about it.

I don't really work out and I'm not the diet type...so this is not going to be a simple task for me.
My plan is to get down to 170lbs and I'm going to attempt this by simply changing a few bad habits and hopefully adding a few better ones into my daily life.
I've decided to use this wonderful media platform to share my journey with you.
I will post an update once or twice a week as well as include links to my previous posts on this topic. I welcome suggestions from everyone (in fact I encourage it greatly), as the improvements I'm seeking aren't just for my own benefit, but that of my entire household.
On this journey I will be doing a few key things: slightly improving my diet and adding a small amount of exercise to my daily routine.
I will add to some of my posts videos and pictures of meals I'll be making for my family as well as us being active together. Every post will also of course include a pic of the dreaded weigh-in.
I'm slightly embarrassed showing myself this out of shape, but I think that in doing this I can potentially encourage others to take some simple steps in improving their lifestyle also...I mean we only get one shot at life and I want to see all of us live to our fullest potential.

Baby Steps:
First thing I needed to do was a lil grocery shopping to add some healthier food options. This actually took forever as I spent half the time reading labels while walking the isles. This time around I simply chose some leaner cuts of meat as well as some seafood. I cut back on pasta and bought some fruits and veggies. I'll spare you the pics of this trip as it was boring and rather confusing to watch me shop in such a bewildered state.
Next I thought since I was getting some fresh fruits, I could add an activity to this at the same time....so I took the family blueberry picking.






In all we collected a little over 10lbs....the kids enjoyed blueberry pancakes while I blended myself a fruit smoothie. It was a simple way to spend time with the family and burn some calories at the same time.

That's it for the first post in this series.
Thank you for joining me. Please be kind and upvote as well as resteem.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jonny-clearwater! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

goodluck on losing weight! just cut SUGAR OUT! COMPLETELY! AND CHECK ALL the labels!!

agree, also no sweeteners or corn syrup!!!

I can manage the sugar loss for a period of time to get the weight down...but that's gonna take me a few days.

yeah its a long process!

Try a little manuka honey instead of sugar. I use it in my tea, coffee and green tea - a small amount on a teaspoon. It's better than sugar and gives a natural energy release too.

You're beautiful bearded brother! But throw in 10 sit-ups when you wake up. Do them properly so not to hurt yourself, and make it a habit. Takes 10 seconds. As you get accustomed to it, add more, but most importantly just do them 😄

All the best to you! I lost about 35 pounds around 4 years ago now and it stays off effortlessly. I changed almost everything in my life and it worked. One thing you must do is detox yourself. Toxins accumulate in our fat cells. The weight won't come off fully until the toxins are gone. Check out Dr. Group for how to eliminate toxins.....Just google his name. Lots of solid, free info there.
I'm really looking forward to your posts. Eat 100% organic. Believe me, it makes a huge difference. Fasting and intemittent fasting are huge in helping you lose weight and stay healthy. Good for you for caring enough about yourself to get healthy. I'm rooting for you!

Thank you so much for your support

some tips that have helped me not get fatter, though i can't seem to loose, at least i'm not getting bigger still...tip 1...don't eat what the kids leave, feed it tot he pets or throw it out. 2. buy smaller plates, seriously, if the plate looks full with the measured portion, you feel more satisfied. 3 cut out all soda, diet included, learn to drink plain water, black coffee and whole juice (those calories hardly count when you factor in the goodness of fresh no sugar added whole juice. Good luck too you. I hope to read stories of success!!! I think guys can loose weight easier cuz males burn more calories just being men...it ain't fair!!!

Hey good luck on your journey! You will make it for sure! Go go go! :)

Thank you for your encouragement.
Please resteem the post. I'd like to reach as many people as possible. It's a journey I want to share.
Thanks again

Resteemed :) Best of luck. Excited to see the results :)

Thanks...my next post in the series will be in another day or two...but as of this morning I'm down 5 1/2lbs

Woah! Thats quite an accomplishment. Keep going!!!

Oh yeah, I'm on board for this ride!

How tall are you?

About 5'9"
Maybe a hair more depending on what gas station I'm running out of.

add chia seed to your smoothie... it expands in your stomach, makes you feel full, great source of iron,calcium, antioxidants, and more 2 tablespoons will do it. I take this every day in my yogurt.... if I miss a day, I am starving!! It really makes a difference. (you can get it on Amazon)

I just picture growing a small bush in my gut...lol

Whahahahahahaha! Leaves growing out of your ears!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77