Get Your Exercise! (Without a Gym)

in #health6 years ago

Good morning Steemit!

A quick post today from me. I've had amazing feedback from my Six Week Health Challenge which you can read more about HERE. So many of you are taking health into your own hands and each week of the challenge you could also win sixty Steem.

Please everyone get involved and you will be helping yourself AND Steemit to improve their health. With the housekeeping done, let's get on with the article!

Getting your exercise without a gym

Staying active, and exercising regularly, is extremely important if you want to maintain a healthy body and mind. Growing up I struggled with self esteem issues, anxiety and depression. You can learn more about that HERE in my #introduceyourself post.

Since then exercise has helped keep me feeling better about myself, worry less and stay more positive. A big part of that journey is having exercise as part of my routine. My body is also healthier and I feel more energy and am much fitter than ever before, even as I get older.

Here's my top three tips for exercising, even without a gym membership.

1. Get out in nature

485843_10151609497675261_2113517115_n.jpg

A view of the Matterhorn, Switzerland, after a six hour hike

It doesn't get much better for mental and physical health than getting out in the park, local nature reserve or heading off into the natural beauty of nature.

2. Try a local fitness class

834-5410.jpg

Tai Chi in the park

There are loads of fitness classes in most towns and cities that you can attend, either cheaply or sometimes for free! It's also a great way to meet people while you stay active.

3. Get an active hobby

166577_10150340900030261_1623622_n.jpg

Kickboxing is a favourite hobby of mine!

It could be anything from martial arts, to water sports like surfing and kayaking, to hiking in the mountains. Find something you enjoy that also gets you active.

How do you guys stay active? Tell me (or show me) in the comments below.

Finally,

For those following with my transformation:

I've had great responses and interactions with my Sixteen Week Transformation, which you can read about HERE. I have lost another 1.5% body fat, meaning I have dropped three percent body fat in three weeks.

BF 19.01.18.JPG

I started at 22.1% Body Fat and 73.9kg of weight. You can see HERE.

Thank you for all of your kind words and for all of you who have joined in with the Six Week Health Challenge so far. Check out all of the entries at #sixweekhealth.

Until next time,

Yours in health,
Coach Ben

Sort:  

A0D691EF-F85B-4C5B-B410-015FBF971433.jpeg

My favorite way to stay in shape is doing handstands! Love the challenge and you don’t need any equipment at all, except maybe a wall. Love working out and it definitely makes you feel better mentally and physically!

Absolutely nailing that handstand :D Working up to longer holds is definitely hard, right?

Yep, definitely hard. But it’s all about personal growth and pain and discomfort are unfortunately parts of the equation to getting what you want in life. The key is no excuses. Just jump right in and you’re already one step closer😁

I have no enthusiasm to go to the gym but love to use my body to tone myself. I find yoga and pilates helps me a little. One of my favourite positions is the crow.
the crow.jpg

I like it! Personally, I'm a big walker http://bit.ly/2Bilte0

Walking, especially when you can get out in green spaces, is amazing for your health AND mind :D Great article @caloriesproper

thanks! get some sunshine - good for circadian rhythms, too

Yeah kickboxing is so great, trained it myself about 3 years :)

Fun AND keeps you fit :)

I use to think I had to go to the gym to get results. But more often than not it was just a chore. I usually felt embarrassed as the fat guy in the gym around all the hard bodies, and I never really got any results.

I changed to a no gym approach and dropped 78 pounds but ditching the gym. I spent the money that I would've going to the gym to get some equipment for my home and results started to pick up.

I try to get out in nature as often as possible but I live somewhere thats pretty cold most of the year. Great post

Congratulations @nicholasarthur, and well done for sticking with your goals and finding the way that worked best for you! I've heard that walking in snow burns a lot of calories ;)

thanks, I did go snow shoeing once, it was actually pretty fun

Practical and possible! We can find a way if we really want to exercise without being at some gym member, like you said. I really like the 3rd tip.
Well, staying active is in my nature! I'm that type of person that only have 1speed. that fast speed. I cant move slowly, i have that energy that drives you crazy! and besides i exercise at home, with music and youtube channels being near my cats! they love to come and push me out of the gym mattress just for their own fun! omg, i love that! have a nice day!

That's great @missdeli! Some people find it hard to stay active naturally so it's important for them to find activities that they can enjoy :D Thanks for the comment and keep on working out! Have you thought about entering my Six Week Health Challenge? Week one is to post about a healthy recipe. Check it out

hello!Thank you for your time and your truly response. I read about it! and very bad of me for not leaving a comment to say that I like the concept. But I'm already on something. It's about detox. I'm about 2 months of doing it. Its a plan based to detox all your organs. You start with the intestines and the colon (reason because all that accumulated and toxic materia do not reenter in your blood circuit), then with the liver, pancreas, stomach, etc etc. I'm also a nutritionist and this is what I do. Thats why i dont know if i have the time to participate at your challenge. but i might consider. So, thats why i'm glad meeting people like you that try to help other people to understand that they are responsable for their health.They just need an impuls, a person to sustain them like you or me. Anyways, really glad of this little chat here. I'm happy talking about health !:) And maybe we'll keep in touch. good luck :)

Thank you miss Deli - well if you have time to show us which foods you eat to help with your detoxification plan then do let us know! The challenge is HERE

Thank you for this informative post, Well written and Really helpful for me

I'm glad it was helpful! Good to keep focused with activity.

I knew that body weight consisted of muscle, water & fat but I had forgotten that it includes bone as well. Thanks for reminding me about that.

'I'm big boned' might actually be true for some people :p

Nah I'm joking :p It would only make like 0.1% difference to your weight haha

You got me there. Lol.

Thank you , for reminding us like me the runner who is looking for 3000$ to pay my air ticket , visa and accommodation to run in UK next month ,
But am from training just now in uhanda , for 50 minutes hard run ,
Thank you

Good luck with your run!

Interesting and useful info for exercising without spending a lot of money
Thanks for sharing :D

Very true! A lot of these activities can be done for free! :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51