Fat Acceptance is Bullshit

in #health6 years ago

Fat acceptanceis bullshit.png

Fat Acceptance is Bullshit

This is going to be a subject full of controversy; if you don’t have to stomach to read this post because you may get offended, then I advise you to run away.

For the last two days, I was browsing the youtube searching for controversial topics, and I got from the killings from South Africa to feminism, and soon after that, I stumbled upon the subject of fat positive which in my opinion is complete bullshit.

If you do believe in something like fat positivity then, this post will probably offend you because I am always frank and straightforward speaking my mind and when I see such a stupid idea being promoted I have to step in and try to tear it down.

In case you don’t know Fat Acceptance is the concept promoted by some fat women, and when I say fat, like really fat, who consider that, fat people should accept their body as it is and stop fighting.

Before I get any deeper into this, I want to mention that I was an obese kid at the age of nine-ten so now I can talk about this bullshit topic.

Guy break.png

Acceptance

I do believe that it’s important to accept, to embrace your situation no matter where you are right now but you shouldn’t stop there no matter what. The problem is that these women accept their weight, which is ok, but they stop there, they don’t have any other wish of overcoming their situation.

If fat acceptance means to you that you can keep on eating fast food while sitting on the couch for the whole day playing video games or watching TV instead of trying to change your life and improve your health then, it only means that you’re lazy and don’t want to put in the work.

Look, I do get that it’s not always easy to lose fat especially if you have a sedentary lifestyle but you shouldn’t believe that being fat is ok, you shouldn’t think that having a massive body is healthy, as these fatty activists, as they called themselves, think.

Guy break.png

Limits

If you accept the fact that you’re fat, but you stop there, you will only limit yourself into thinking that there’s no point in changing the way you look because it is ok to be fat.

I know it’s not easy to go to the gym, I live a sedentary life too because now I’m trying to build something, investing all of my spare time for my goals. But the least you can do is to eat healthier because that McDonald’s cancer isn't going to help you in any way shape or form.

The problem is that we are lazy beings that don’t necessarily want to put in the hard work and change something, thus considering that being fat is okay is convenient for those people because it means that they don’t have to get fit anymore.

As I said, I was fat, and for a kid who was always eating unhealthy food, it meant that I had to put in a tremendous amount of effort to lay off those cancerous stuff, but in the end, I got thinner and thinner until the point I started feeling amazing. Trust me, it’s not good to be fat, being thin feels so much freaking better.

Guy break.png

Conclusion

As a final thought, the people promoting fat acceptance (positivity) but are not putting in the work of losing weight are only some lazy bastards that like the convenience and want to have an excuse for their miserable situation.

Being fat is not being healthy, you shouldn’t listen to those people and if you’re in a position like that you have to make changes in your lifestyle, consider quitting sugar, eating healthier and maybe even trying intermittent fasting.

Lose that weight, eat better and feel better but don't do it because I say so, do it because you want to.

The pictures are from Pixabay: 1, 2, 3, 4.

guyfawkes4-20.gif

Guy.gif

Sort:  

Eh, I'm going to be honest here, your article just kinda repeats itself a few times, and really could have just been TL;DR'd as "Fat people need to eat better and get off their ass and go to the gym rather than be lazy and just accept being fat"

I think this whole "fat acceptance" debate is a lot of people on both sides being too self-righteous. I break it down like this:

  1. People shouldn't be shamed for any body condition, period.
  2. You should work to take care of your body regardless of weight.
  3. Some people settle very naturally and healthily in the "overweight" range, they should accept and love their body as is. No one is naturally obese. But if someone is obese and happy, that's their business, you don't get to judge them for it.
  4. No one is actually trying to force you (the general, not specific you) to be attracted to fat chicks. But it would probably help if you treated fat chicks like people instead of a waste of a vagina. Also societal pressure tends to push guys away from heavier women they might otherwise find attractive. Overweight men do not suffer from this to the same degree.

Anyone considering the issue objectively should come to those points. The overzealousness of some in the fat acceptance movement is a push back to years of society shitting on them. Hopefully over time we can return to a more natural and healthy discussion of body image. But it's really upsetting to see how unrealistic beauty standards fuck with the self-esteem of so many women (and guys to some degree).

I agree with you, besides no. 3. Overweight people should not be judged, but also we should not let that be. Let me explain. If I have a dear friend or family member with a health condition (it doesn't matter what) and doesn't want to get medical help, I would try to nudge them it the right direction. It's not ok to let someone be sick. This applies to obese people too. It's not healthy. If they consider they are happy, probably they're lying to themselves. It's about caring for them, not judging.

Yeah I agree to a point. There's concern and concern trolling though. Suggesting your long time friend who is having health issues lose some weight, totally fine. Telling some stranger unsolicited on the internet they really need to lose weight because they are going to get diabetes, is fat-shaming masked as concern.

Oh, I see your point. I usually don't say/comment anything if it's not something nice of it's not my business. I wish I could see others do that on the internet.

The problem is that in the USA the obesity rate has gone through the roof and when people come forward saying that fat acceptance is good and you shouldn't try to lose weight, it's unhealthy for the whole nation. As I said, because people search for excuses not to do something, not to work out, they will find relieve in this fat acceptance movement.

It's a complicated matter, people should accept their situation (not talking only about body weight), and if they consider it shitty, they should change it, nevertheless try to promote it as something good because they are insecure.

I think what's missing here is nuance of the situation. Lets take a woman who is 5'9" and 175 pounds. BMI says she's overweight, she does have some extra fat on her, but all her vitals are good and is overall healthy. She should be able to so say, you know what, I like my body, some people might say I'm fat but fuck them.

Now if she were 275 pounds it becomes a different question. No one is really healthy at that BMI. It's really only a very small subset of people who are pushing this condition to be normalized and they should be ignored like most fringe groups.

I see this a lot, conflating a fringe part of a group with the views of the larger group. All BLM is about is an excuse to riot! All conservatives are neo-Nazis! All Muslims are terrorists!There's idiots in every group, don't let them detract from the larger message.

I mean there's a huge difference between "out of shape" and "medically unhealthy". I'm not saying being overweight is good for you, and it can definitely lead to medically unhealthy conditions (heart disease, hyper tension, diabetes, etc), but grouping all people that are out of shape into the same group is simplifying things and vilifying people in unproductive ways.

Let's take Donald Trump for example. He's in shit condition, but he's medically as healthy as anyone his age could hope to be. He looks like a slob, but his organs are chugging along just fine. Someone could be in perfect shape and still have underlying problems that are a bigger danger than working out can do anything about.

Some people just don't care about their weight. I'm fine with them living how they want to live. The people that suck are the ones that complain about it all the time but do nothing about it. Also a general societal encouragement of not being healthy sucks.

I read a reddit comment that poked some pretty solid fun at it: "KMart is changing their plus sized items to 'fabulous sized'. Hospitals are also now changing the name of Type 2 Diabetes to 'Fabulous Diabetes'.

I agree if someone is unhealthy we shouldn't praise them. They should be open to help and it should be looked at the same as addiction (drug, alcohol, etc.)

I think the biggest problem with overweight is what is healthy or unhealthy. To my knowledge, there is no good measurement that can clearly indicate overweight as BMI and other measurements all have their issues (obviously not talking about those clearly overweight).

I take pride in the fact I am currently in the position of being one of those people who breaks BMI. Technically overweight with a 12% body fat. Weight is an irrelevant number to what you see in the mirror.

I think the biggest issue is that people don't like to admit that they are in need of help, they want to look like they have the situation under control but that is in most cases false.

Very true, and other instances they are aware of the issue and just don't care.

FB_IMG_15041628410622901.jpg

Although we can debate that metabolic syndrome is a vicious cycle of insulin resistance, etc.. this picture really does sum it up!!

Meat eater vs Plant-based whole food. Love it!

Think you're missing the point. That's highly processed meat. Meat isn't intrinsically bad for you. That's all junk food.

According to many studies, research and tests all saturated fats (animal fat) & trans fat (processed fat) will clog our arteries and lead to heart diseases, strokes, and alzheimer. It's difficult to argue against that :) Many people got sick and go on plant-based whole food diet and reverse their condition. You can't argue with that either. But you will say human been eating meat for thousands of years how can it be unhealthy? I will say to you: There are people smoking and drinking till 100 years old, does that mean smoking is healthy? And you will continue eating your delicious meat and feel I'm just another crazy vegan. And I will say this to you to conclude. One day if you do become sick in the far future, consider a 1 week experiement for going plant based whole food. And I know you would say, what if you eat clean and still die early, you didn't get to enjoy this wonderful life. And I would say to you, I can die any time, I have no regret for taking care my precious life.

That's because people eat way too much of it. Humans evolved the way we did because of animal meat. Eating it in excess certainly doesn't do anyone favors though.

That's interesting when people eating too many fruits and vegetable, their arteries don't become clog. I do respect your belief in moderation. Smoking just 1 pack a day is not too bad. Those got sick because they smoke 2 packs a day :) Those who can stop smoking can hold no regret in the final moment because they done their best to protect their precious life. rrr.jpg

Smoking one cigarette a day has been recently shown to still have a huge affect on your health and also the amount of sugar in fruit isn't healthy to binge on either. Everything is a balance. Meat isn't bad in and of itself. It's a very effective and efficient way to get protein and fat. And a lot of meat isn't high in cholesterol or saturated fat which is what "clogs arteries".

Nothing wrong with being vegan, but there is some basic information you're missing on nutrition. And smoking hahah.

Smoking 1 is damaging, eating 1 animal is also damaging. Human have compassion nature. When we agree to kill animal our spirit enter darkness and our consciousness went from spiritual world into material suffering. When our body becomes the tomb for dead animals, we lost the connection to our higher consciousness.

I pretty much agree bro, this is a controversial one. I do get upset when I see a fat person justifying their eating and not doing a damn thing about it, on the other hand I believe each human being has the liberty to do with their body as they please, that is a line nobody can cross, if a person tells you that is comfortable with their weight and lifestyle, then there's nothing we can do about it!

I'm gonna leave this satirical video. Please Don't Watch it if you're sensitive!



Of course, anyone can do whatever they want with their bodies, but when they try to impose their ideas on other fat people and try to make the skinny ones feel ashamed for the way they look, then it's not ok anymore.

I have no idea what I just watched, but it was an interesting scene, lol.

Obese people should not be shamed or discriminated against. However, I agree that the positivity trend is not helping like the intention probably was. Obesity is a leading cause of death in most western countries, and people should treat it as that. We would never make campaigns for cancer or heart disease, that people should accept having it...

That's a great point you just did, I like it a lot, people shouldn't promote things that kill as being amazing, but they some still do. I must say that the whole fat positivity has gone off the rails and it's sad but funny at the same time.

Sensitive subject for sure! I heard something that shifted my way of looking at that word, fat, recently. It was a woman who was sharing a story about her daughter, who called her "Fat." And the mom responded in a conscientious way:

I'm not fat. I have fat on my body, but that does not define who I am.

Feeling this is a real, raw #truth, as I learn to be a better listener to the ladies, and a more compassionate person.

That's very well said, language is very confusing most of the times. I'm on that road to becoming a more compassionate person too but, there's still a long road ahead of me.

Amazing article George!

Fat acceptance is a complete bullshit created by lazy and comfortable people. I understand that you might have a health condition - good, go fix it. If you don't have a health condition and you just like to eat like a hippopotamus, shame on you.

A question for all those fat people who say it's nice to be fat:

Is it fun to carry an useless bag of 50 pounds around you every time you make a move?

Awesome! Now go eat some more Mcdonalds ;)


Love the article George!

Haha, there's nothing better than some raw truth, I would pick it over anything. It's sad that people go as far as considering being fat healthy only because they don't want to put in the work and actually change something.

Thank you. :D

If you say "if you don't have the stomach for it then don't read this post" then you know it's gonna be a good post.

Anyway I'd guess that most people agree with you but just don't say anything fear of being rude. There's a find line between "honest" and "rude", and you are defiantly on the honest side.

Hey man, thank you, I'm glad to hear you feel that way. :)

I totally agree! The change becomes from us. If we don't care about ourselves, why others should care?

That's right, we're the only ones that can change ourselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80