Detox Bath Recipe for When You are Feeling Sick (Video Tutorial)

in #health6 years ago (edited)

73857B0A-6E08-41C0-8A5C-41CAF8B9EF34.jpeg

Whenever I start feeling sick, I go into full-on on hippie attack mode by trying every natural remedy I can! One that seems to be pretty effective for me is to take a detox bath at least once a day while I’m feeling sick.

I started getting flu-like symptoms last week (congested, cough, sore throat, brain fog) and was able to stop my sickness from getting any worse. It was a mild couple of days and the congestion never traveled into my chest. I was trying a few other natural remedies at the same time, and so I’m not exactly claiming this to be a scientific study that proves anything. All I’m saying is that there has been a lot of scientific research done on the topic and there is some compelling evidence to its effectiveness.

Worst case scenario – it’s all in my head and I just had a lovely soaking bath… bummer. I don’t know about you – but I love taking baths when I’m sick anyway. There is something so comforting about it.

There are many different ingredients that could be used in a detox bath, and there are many different types of recipes already available online. Which one do you choose?

Honestly, I created this recipe based on items I had laying around the house! This is a pretty great approach because if you are feeling sick – you likely don’t feel like going to the store either. Feel free to use any of the ingredients I feature in this recipe, or branch out and make your own detox bath based on what you already have on hand.

The Recipe


1 ½ cups Raw, Unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar (I use Braggs)

1 cup Baking Soda

2 cups Epsom Salt

1 TBS Raw, Grated Ginger Root (dried could work as well)

6 drops Lavender Essential Oil

4 drops Lemongrass Essential Oil

Directions:

Pour Epsom Salt into a bowl and mix essential oils into the salt. Add the salt and the rest of the ingredients to a hot bath. Try to get the water as warm as you can tolerate.

Soak in the bath for 20-30 minutes. You will notice your body heat up and you may continue sweating for about 15 minutes after getting out of the bath. This is normal and is part of the detoxification process.

The Benefits



In this section, I will break down each ingredient that I chose for my detox bath recipe and why they are beneficial. One ingredient that is not included, but I would highly recommend is Frankincense essential oil. It is one of the most expensive essential oils you can buy – and for good reason. I did not have any hand, but if you do throw 4-5 drops into your salt and essential oil blend.

Apple Cider Vinegar

250F547E-C577-40F0-A9A4-C55E9C2E7933.jpeg

Apple Cider Vinegar is famous for having a variety of health benefits and can be a great resource if you are feeling sick. ACV not only helps to balance the Ph in the skin, but helps relieve joint and muscle pain.

Source

Baking Soda

1ABD2C36-B387-4392-BE54-C7F8FBE9E28F.jpeg

Baking soda can help to alkalize the body and is known to help reduce sinus congestion. This is probably one of the most potent ingredients in the recipe and it can really pack a punch when it comes to crafting a good detox bath concoction.

Source

Epsom Salt

5E8F2D0F-9A37-46B9-8CE1-A18C16FB3267.jpeg

Epsom salt has been shown to help relieve muscle pain and pull toxins from the body. Soaking in a salt bath is an ancient practice to improve one's overall health. Soaking in epsom salt will also help to balance the Ph of the body.

Source

Raw Ginger Root

AB85601C-7F55-433A-9827-2660599EF2DC.jpeg

Ginger is a POWERFUL health-enhancing root that is anti-inflammatory. Soaking in a bath with ginger can also help increase circulation - which can help aid your body in the healing process.

Source

Lavender Essential Oil

B78EA911-E1F6-495B-9B64-C9C548204BA8.jpeg

Lavender essential oil is known for many health benefits - including clearing congestion. If you are feeling flu-like symptoms, this is a really powerful essential oil to try. Lavender is also one of the least expensive essential oils, and so it is a reasonable one to try! This oil is also great at calming the nervous system and allowing the body to begin healing.

Source

Lemongrass Essential Oil

6561B8AB-4742-42AB-89C6-F4AADB18022B.jpeg

Lemongrass essential oil is both antimicrobial and antiseptic which makes it an ideal oil for cold and flu relief. Please note that lemongrass essential oil does bother some people's skin. Please do a small test before adding it to your bath.

Source

What If You Don't Have a Bathtub?



Try doing a detox foot soak instead! You may not get as many benefits as soaking your entire body, but you should still feel some benefit from the detox. Simply grab a bucket and follow the other directions above. Try to get the water as warm as you are comfortable with.


Thank you so much for reading/watching! I hope that you found this helpful.

Call out to readers/listeners:



Have you ever taken a detox bath before? If so, have you noticed any benefit from it? Also, what are your favorite ingredients to use??

If you haven’t… what do you think about the idea of detox baths? Is it something that you would ever try?

If anyone has any question or comments, I’d love to hear them!




▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS



A Few Of My Recent Posts


Dtube Exclusive - Golden Slumbers by the Beatles - Filmed at Sunset with my new Goldmoney Shirt!
Vlog from the Lake // Two Years Ago... I Went Back to School and Got a Degree I May Never Use - Do I Regret It?
Dtube Exclusive - Skinny Love by Bon Ivar (Ukulele Cover)

Sort:  

does this actually work? :O

I think it’s effectiveness will vary from person to person, but it seems to work for me! Taking detox baths like this is also an ancient practice and is used more commonly in wholistic health practices.

great article my dear!!!!
same i use. nature has great medicine!
also some ayurvedic mixes i like.
hugs

That’s so cool that you are already using detox baths as a way to improve your health! What are some of the Ayurvedic mixes you use?

Hey my dear.
A simple Ayurvedic mix is

Linen oil, mix yogurt. You can add such as maca or chlorella or fruits of the session top of you like.

evening with herbs for digestion.

the oil serves as a transporter, so to speak, in the yogurt better and more to make up the protein.

Also in Ayurvedic it will be used when someone has cancer to heal this being.

Hugs

What an interesting blend of ingredients... thank you so much for sharing! It makes sense that the oil would be a good carrier for the herbs.

you know what...i will make a post so you have it all and you make a new one with my basics but in your style and post it also. so we inspire each other :-D

hugs

Oooh I LOVE that!! Please let me know when you make a post in that, I would love to check it out! 😊

Hello again! :)

It's funny, we all probably have our own thing we do when we think we are getting sick. My first thing is run to the Vitamin C! Vitamin C is great for the immune system, although if you feel you are getting sick - it's likely too late and taking it probably wont prevent the sickness..(I take it anyways and cross my fingers haha)

I've never taken a detox bath before, but all of the elements you listed are great. I'll definitely give it a shot when I feel i'm coming down with something! Like you said..

"Worst case scenario – it’s all in my head and I just had a lovely soaking bath"

Nothing to lose, and I absolutely hate being sick.

Ugh I’m with you there! Who’s got time to be sick? I actually do the exact same thing with vitamin C! Haha I do think it helps to boost your immune system, which can help even if you are already sick.

Well I hope you stay healthy this season!

Hello again dear @coruscate, can i use another salt aside Epsom salt and can i use any type of baking soda? What's the minimum time i should expect to start seeing changes? Are there no side effect at all? Can a pregnant woman make use of it as well with no harm done to her? Your response will be appreciated.

Thank You

Great questions @phinaloly! I have read that some people use sea salt instead. Some people do a mix of epsom and sea salt because they have slightly different properties.

You can use any baking soda you want as long as it is sodium bicarbonate. The arm and hammer brand I have pictured is pretty inexpensive.

Honestly, the effects and benefits will be different for each person. I can feel a difference after one bath, and I try to take one everyday when I feel sick.

I am not aware of any negative side effects - but know that it will make you sweat and cause your body to heat up.

If someone is pregnant, I would recommend they ask their doctor first. I am not a medical professional and am not in a place to be giving advice to someone who is pregnant.

I hope that helps!! Let me know if you have any other questions.

Right back at ya! The flu has been terrible the last few months, and the flu shot where I live has only been like 10% effective(which is terrible) and actually gave a good amount of people the flu. I don't ever get flu shots, but I feel bad for all the people that did this year!

I never get the flu shot either. Why pump your body full of crap on th chance it will keep you from getting sick. I guess everyone’s bodies will respond differently - but I know plenty of people who get flu shots and then still get sick.

It has been a bad year though!

Yes! I don't always get around to putting oils in the tub, but I diffuse them all over the house whenever there's sickness going around.

We also do megadoses of C and extra A. I've read that having A is what helps protect you from viruses.

Lastly, I make homemade elderberry syrup regularly. So yummy and studies have shown that something in the elderberry encapsulates the bad germs (I'm obviously missing the actual term used). Anyway, I just wrote a post about it a couple weeks ago if you're interested in checking it out. https://steemit.com/health/@crowbarmama/elderberry-super-syrup-yummy-immune-booster

Thanks for sharing your elderberry recipe!! I have read about it’s benefits before, but have never tried it. Thanks for the inspiration to finally make some!

Hey @coruscate, love the recipe. This is totally my style of healing, too. Looks like we stock up on a lot of similar staples. It's amazing what you can do to get the feel good on when you keep some of this stuff in the pantry and enjoy a good spoil!

That’s awesome @intuitivejakob! I looove taking detox baths, even if I’m not feeling sick. 😊

Oh me too @coruscate! I make salt and oil scrubs for energetic detoxification and protection. I'm really big on home spa treatments. 💘

YAY another crazy hippy that believes in getting health back naturally! Thank you for existing!

Love it! Us crazy hippies have to stick together. 😉

I'm to lazy to try out all the Mixins but ill play with it and let you know how it goes!!

Hahha deal!! You don’t really have to mix anything if you don’t want. Just throw it all in the tub. 😉

Great stuff!!!! Love that organic apple cider vinegar! I get the same one :D
A teaspoon a day keeps the sickness away!

Yes!! ACV is such an amazing thing for your health. I like to drink some warm lemon water with apple cider vinegar in the morning.

a flu irritates the hell out of me ...will try this detox bath thing out next time i have 1 ...thnkyou fr sharing

Awesome!! I hope you stay healthy this season and don’t have to try it, but now you’ve got this in case you do. 😉

Now this is very good information..
I haven't done this ever, usually I just lay around until I feel better.
Maybe I'll give this a try someday

Laying around isn’t a bad plan either. 😉 Give it a try next time! You never know, it may help you.

I'd definitely give this a try.
Hopefully not too soon

Hahah agreed! I wish you nothing but good health!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72