Minnows! Lets Change the Reward Pool!

in #steemit7 years ago

"Steem has so much more to offer than the current trending posts" ~ @pharesim

Lets examine the Steemit Trending Page for a moment.

It has it's good and bad points.

On the good side, it does entice new users to register for an account. Came for the promise of money and stayed for the community

On the not so good side, the same people ride that page day after day, month after month, with some of them spinning posts reworded from last weeks post.

There's many minnows who publish original work every day. Innovative and interesting posts. We write. And not to mention the creative process- thinking of the subject, weaving the words, etc- is truly hard work. Original content is what makes a site great. Originality is what makes a community grow.

There is a lot of really good content that never gets upvoted because everyone used their votes on those few trending authors.

Steemit has so much more to offer than the Trending page!

After you've been here for a while, you notice you're not heading for the trending page as fast as your imagination took you on your first days at Steemit. And you get frustrated. It's natural.

But you, Minnow, have a lot of power. You don't even realize it.

If you look at the top people on the Trending page, you will see they each have a thousand votes. Only a small percentage of those votes are from whales. That means that hundreds of minnows voted on that post. We got them to the trending page.

WE gave them those rewards for that post.

WE can rise each other, the same way we are rising the trending authors.

I know you feel like your $0.01 vote means nothing. But all those one cent votes paid that trending authors rent in one day...

Every time a minnow votes for another minnow, they take a little away from the trending authors. By voting on your fellow "smaller fish" you are helping each other grow.

Minnows supporting minnows builds the entire Steemit community and we rise together, faster!

Guys, we really have a a stellar amount of power.

With great power comes great rewards. Lets use our power to our mutual advantage.

The cool fish at the @MinnowSupport Projects mission is to "Accelerate the minnow growth through community accounts, and social interaction generating friends, resteems and upvotes." Run by @aggroed @ausitbank @someguy123 @teamsteem @thecryptodrive @theprophet0 @canadian-coconut @followbtcnews @netuoso @reggaemuffin @drakos @rondonson @swelker101 Give these guys a great big Thank You for their tireless and often unappreciated work to help minnows grow to be whales. They really do a lot behind the scenes. Check them out and show your appreciation :)

Peace Abundance and Liberty- PAL Discord channel is a wonderful resource, and if you haven't already, please register. You will be glad you did! While you're there stop by and say hi to the mods @discordiant @gmuxx @rhondak @swelker101 @sammosk @crimsonclad and @r0nd0n They all volunteer many hours to keep everything running smoothly.

And please vote for #MinnowSupportProject members and PAL moderators as witnesses. They totally deserve it and will serve us well.

Learn more about Minnow Support at their website

Minnows Unite! STEEM ever onward and upward :)

shaded line.jpeg

animated-dividing-line-image-0032

Enter the Creative News Headline contest for cash prizes! And Dont forget to vote for your favorite :)

Sharing is sexy :) Follow @ArbitraryKitten for more :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

animated-arrow-image-0032 Please Upvote and Resteem :) animated-arrow-image-0044

animated-dividing-line-image-0110

I appreciate your support and ♡ your comments and questions :)

Sort:  

I agree with everything. I just found two scientists writng about their theories and getting only pennies for it. Whale shared and upvoted one post from one of them and make him more vissible on Steemit. I scrolled thru his wall, only pennies for two months. Why am saying this?...it takes time to be noticed. That guy wrote fow two months and did get noticed. So guys don't give up and don'tbe fooled by trending posts. It takes time to get there. So relax, write about your passions and don't care about money, it's free in the end. Eoy your ride on Steemit.

Well said.

It does take time. But it also takes support :)

It takes a village to raise a child. It takes a community to raise a Steemian.

:)

Key word on Steemit...patience.

All good things take time :)

Great post, I totally agree. At first I thought I should just vote on popular posts (or those that I thought would become popular). But the curation reward for minnows is so low that it's not worth it trying that.

Now I only upvote posts that I think are good, and mostly by minnows. It's more important to support fellow minnows than whales, and you make friends doing it too!

That was exactly my line of thinking when I began here two months ago :)

I did not know that about the curation reward! Where can I find information on that?

Good writing

Glad you like it :) Thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by 343281547886542810 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Good point, I think somehow we think if we vote for the whales they will vote for us. Which is probably almost never the case. Best is to write sensible meaningful comments on their posts and try to get them to follow you...Have a great day!!!

I think it is more effective on the dolphins. They usually dont have this huge of a following and most of them engage more with their followers.

But I think your approach is right. If you want to succeed $$ wise you should focus on brining value to the whales and so much that they cant ignore you anymore.

If you just want to express yourself, well... you dont need them.

Yeah you are making a great point here. Now, I am curious what would bring value to the whales. Best way to find out is ask them I guess. Find them and ask them. You know any?

No, unfortunately not.

But in my opinion, it is the same what brings the most value to every post which are genuine comments, upvotes and resteems in this order.

I feel my posts are most appricated when sombody comments on it and showed he/she really read it. As whales are humans, too I think it will be the same for them.

But when you look how many comments they get, it will get hard to be noticed. This is not so much the case if you focus on the hot tab of a topic you are interested in. (I dont really like new sooo much till there is so much nonsense posted, which I understand is a problem for minnows to get out of there)

Of course an upvote is nice and so is a resteem but there I think you have to watch out to not overdo it and that the content you are resteeming is kind of similar to your own to not annoy or irritate your following.

I am still new here also so take my 2 cents with caution.

Yea, getting noticed is the difficult part. I read some highly undervalued posts that offer compelling content from consistent authors that just seem to be lost in the dust...

Good point... thanks for sharing. Have a wonderful day!

Before I forget... can I ask you a huge personal favour @flipstar?

well...depends what it is

Who do you know right now that is a whale?

Well said. That is a much better way to get the whales to notice you, while using your upvotes for the little guys :)

Thanks. I think my best upvote so far was for a comment. If I remember correctly it was around 33 USD. Are you a little guy or a whale?

Oh I'm tiny. lol. I celebrate my two month Steemitversary next week ;)

Good luck, have a great day!

Thank you, you as well! Great talking with you :)

Have a great day! Following you.

Thanks- and ditto :)

I hope your day is awesome!

I can't even remember the last time I checked the trending page. I really focus on my feed and then moving out from there to see who the people I'm following are interacting with.

That is what I do too! Like ripples in the pond...

Exactly and this helps me find more people that share the same interests as the people I am following.

I'm more likely to check hot, or new. I like upvoting good content I catch on "New". Also, i have a few tags I visit too. Spread that minnow love.

Spread that minnow love.

I like that!

I'm the same- new and hot is where I tend to visit after my feed.

Nice @arbitrarykitten. I admire your hard work and so with others the likes of @agroed, @ausitbank,@gmuxx,@someguy123, @teamsteem and others for making this platform possible in helping minnows to grow. Your efforts is greatly appreciated and we salute you guys for a job well done. Thanks.

Thank you so much :)

I am truly happy to be here, I love you guys. I am proud to be able to contribute with such a wonderful and supportive community :)

Apparently I'm classed as a minnow, so I'll chirp in here. I agree with everything you said. The last time I looked on the trending page was at least a year ago. I swear there is nothing of value to me there, I don't like any of those posts, and most of them are tough reading, technical heavy, or just some bullshit that I'm not interested in. I do understand that is me, though, and a load of other people may think I am wrong, as can be shown by the thousands of upvotes.

I'm playing the long game though. I'm quite positive that in a few years the gap between minnow and whale will become even wider, when adoption becomes more widespread and everyone and their dog comes for a chance to find their glory, and of course, stay for the community.

I do believe Steemit is going mainstream soon. How long in soon? At least in a few years. It already has google and facebook running scared. We have a system here that laughs in the face of theirs. Google with adsense that pays a pittance to its publishers and facebook which blurs the boundary between publisher and advertisor whilst facebook sucks up all rewards. When people finally realise that 0.01 is far better than 0; post a hundred times and that's $1, some people do that in a day on Facebook.

Alas the gap will widen, the whales will stay the same and mass adoption will be widespread, making more bottom end users (minnows), which means in time, thousands of votes will become millions and minnows really will rule the roost, if we realise this of course.

You and I are still classed as early adopters. I was, you are too! You wait. 3 years from now you'll have thousands of steem and because everyone wants in on it those STEEM will be bloody priceless :)

I truly believe Steemit is the future. And we have not even begun to realize what this platform can do!

I'm serious when I say the potentials are boundless

Now I am reading all these posts about how people are putting Steem logo on their vehicles and laptops- gathering many inquiries per day...

It's growing faster and suddenly. And it's only going to continue. I, too am playing the long game. And to be quite honest this is the first endeavor I can say that about! Steemit has gotten under my skin! STEEM is my blood- I bleed blue ;)

Same! I've even integrated Steemit into my website. When I get my courses up and running I'll have an option where you can pay by steem :)

The last time I looked on the trending page was at least a year ago.

I feel similar, but I think that this is actually the biggest problem with Steem atm. The most trending should be our go to page for the most interesting topics. To be fair, I dont think the content on trending is bad, I just feel very reluctant giving 3 cents to a post that is already recognized, while I see Steemians and good friends producing really good content where 3 cents increases their payout by 10%.

When people finally realise that 0.01 is far better than 0

That is why I would never bite the feeding hand (Steemit). I earned 10x in two months compared to what I earned while making youtube for 2 years. I deactivated youtube monetarisation for all my recent youtube videos. It is just not worth it and I hate adds.

You and I are still classed as early adopters.

Yup, every day you started earlier is a natural advantage you have to all later adopters. That is also why i don't hate whales for being whales. Most of them supported Steem in the early days and that deserves to be rewarded. They literally build the platform as we are using it right now.

To be fair, I dont think the content on trending is bad, I just feel very reluctant giving 3 cents to a post that is already recognized, while I see Steemians and good friends producing really good content where 3 cents increases their payout by 10%.

This ^

Precisely.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Minnow support has my vote. And not just because I am a minnow. I believe in the mission, and when I am a whale one day I will continue to support :)

What really needs to happen is the auto voting bots people use need to be kicked off the system. How much better would it be if people actually had to come to the site comment, click vote etc. It would be a much better community then it is right now, seriously the bots are taking over.

Oh man. Right??? It's a real shame. And it seems like the bots have grown massively in proportion in recent weeks.

Honestly when I started almost 2 months ago , I used to go on the trending page , then I stopped and upvote content that deserves to be , not because it's popular . What interest me an what people put hard work into , that's what will make the community better

Exactly. I see some trending post that people have upvoted simply because it's a "top user" but it has no compelling content. Sometimes it feels like people don't even read half the stuff they upvote... Case in point- Read this article I wrote to help new users write a good introductory post. Then read the comments...

I remember reading that post of yours few days ago , but now is actually when I saw the ridlicious comments , I am sorry but is it wrong if we flag the comments :( it gets me mad or ask for follows under the content , I just tend to ignore now

Personally I just ignore the followbeggars. I have noticed they learn real quick that is not how they are going to get anywhere so they change their plan of action rather quickly. I save my flags for genuinely offensive content. The follow beggars are just new and naive. They really aren't hurting anything- just annoying lol They do learn quick tho :)

Nopw the followbeggar bots? I hate those. At least if you're going to beg do it in person after a thoughtful comment!!!

GRRRR!!!

It's okay , they will get tired one day and leave the platform if they aren't able to learn right from wrongs , they won't receive attention and go bye bye :D

Exactly. Only the ones who produce good content will stay - and that is the best for the community :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71