Cold Showers: Why/How to Take Them

in #health8 years ago (edited)


Tips and tricks for taking cold showers, and the benefits which result

In the video below I discuss why I have been experimenting with cold showers and the tips and tricks I have developed for "handling it" as someone who has never been a fan of the cold and especially cold water. Regardless of what you think of yourself I am positive that you can take cold showers, enjoy them, and enjoy the benefits of them. As I am writing this (maybe 30 minutes after the shower) I feel much more refreshed and alert, and am very happy with my decision to take it.

Tips

  1. TAKE DEEP BREATHS. This is the most important lesson. A lot of the negative effects of cold water stem from our tendency to react by taking quick, short breaths which can lead to hyperventilation. I find that with each deep breath the water gets noticeably warmer. It's like the breaths signal to my body that it's time to adapt to this new reality.
  2. Remember: IT WILL BE OVER SOON. The water feels the coldest at the very beginning. From there on out it continue to feel warmer until after about a minute you become used to it
  3. USE YOUR HEAD: I use the top of my head to take the initial burst of cold, it seems like the part of my body best suited for handling the cold

Productivity-Boosting

I've been working non-stop with laser-sharp focus which has enabled me to edit the video below, upload it to youtube, create a thumbnail for it, write this text, and probably a few other things too. Of course, that isn't a very long time, but I feel like I've gotten potentially hours worth of work done in this short time and have enjoyed doing it. For those who have experimented with modafinil, the feeling is somewhat similar (ketogenic diet + ketosis + bulletproof coffee + cold shower), though it feels more natural and sustainable (modafinil gives me the chills and the focus often feels "unnatural").

Recent Posts:
The State of Steemit: Doomed or Destined For Greatness?
The Ketogenic Diet: A Diet For The People
Elon Musk, AI, and Simulation Theory - Andrarchy in Washington Square Park (Episode 1)

Sort:  

After seeing a special on Wim Hof, I am convinced we should only be taking cold showers. I haven't made the switch yet. Below is the special, it is really good, by Vice

Climbing Everest in nothing but a pair of shorts? Pssh too easy ;)
But seriously, that's insane!

Yup, and he says anyone can do it!

"this isn't that kind of channel... I'll show you... the knob."

haha... I almost had to switch off at that point. Thankfully you were referring to the knob of the shower!

Is anyone else afraid to click "play" on that video?

I tried to keep the frame limited to the top of my chest and up ;) Fair concern though

In Iceland, every community pool has a plunge tank that is kept at 5 degrees. It amazed me that people could slowly lower themselves in, sit there for 5 minutes, then casually get out.

I started to whimper as soon as I put my arm in.

Wow, I didn't know that. And I've been to Iceland three times! Going back on November 13th, I'll have to check those out! Thanks!

Glad I am not the only one who does this XD
I personally start with cool water, and then ramp it up to cold.
Awesome post though

Good addition. I prefer to just get it over with, the old band-aid method :)

Great post! I'm a big fan of ice baths and jumping in my pool when it is cold.
If you want to feel one of the best feelings then go to Lake Tahoe during the summer and jump in that water and cool off and then let the sun heat you back up. I love it! Here is a picture of me in Iceberg lake in Montanta. It was a 10 on the shrinkter scale!
standing-on-iceberge7e47.png

Aren't cold showers only for those who take it after everyone else or before getting into a public pool? ;-P

Is it me or you look tired in your videos since you started your ketogenic diet?

I think I have more energy on average being on the diet, but I had pretty recently woken up when I shot the video. I think that's just regular morning grogginess you're seeing. But thanks for looking out!

That explains it. I hadn't look for any eye booger. ;-)

It would be far easier in warmer weather methinks... I did it two days in a row inthe past, but did not continue. After reading the book "The Mighty Atom"

Joseph Greenstien, The Mighty Atom- 1930's strong man

I used to brave the cold like to the point of loving it. But lately I've become a little bitch. I like sleeping in a cool room but I warm it up in the morning. A cold shower in the winter might take some soul searching...

I love cold showers and it's very soothing for your hair as well, it keeps it shiny and also healthy and it won't create frizzyness. Cheers !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63