Massive Dust Storm in Phoenix, AZ

in #haboob7 years ago (edited)

It's that time of year again in the desert southwest where we'll begin seeing these enormous dust storms rolling through.

I captured this one in 2015. This is a 360° VR image from one of my drones. The dust storm is approx. 20 miles wide by 1 mile high and moving towards me at around 50mph.

When these come through it feels like you're on the surface of Mars. The sky goes deep orange red and fine dust fills the air. They usually blow through and are gone within 30 minutes, but they are a sight to behold!! In recent years, some have come to call these a 'Haboob'.

http://www.aerialsphere.com/spheres/arizona/haboob07032014/

If you click the link above you'll be able to view the fully interactive version where you can look in any direction you want!

If I catch any this year I'll be sure to post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10