GTO Muurica Adventures: Why the clown car look?

in #gtomuuricaadventures7 years ago (edited)

If you've followed or been following my saga, since I first purchased my beloved 05' GTO back in winter of 2011. You know it was once pristine-ish condition and came in a very rare beautiful Impulse Blue color with a dealer installed sun roof.

Time and mostly my wallet priorities have not been kind to her appearance. I think I spoke about it briefly in previous post,but not in very full detail. A few months before I left Italy I got into a fender bender with an old Fiat 500.

Don't worry, no classic 60's car was damaged. In this case it was a beatup 80's/early 90's square body. The incident creased my old hood, crimped the corners of the fenders, mangled the bumper mounting brackets, moved the headlight buckets,etc.

I got a hood from my late friend John who was stationed at Rammstien airbase at the time. It was a VFN 4.5 Cowl hood fresh in the box. John had bought it for his car during a deployment and never used it. Being a matte black hood and slightly longer than I needed (that's what she said). It hid a lot of imperfections and gave the car a really mean look.

1555292_10201651989540354_8063016462932888383_n.jpg

With such a massive manly hood and a very short G/F (now wife) unable to see over it, you can imagine this caused some issues. I ended up trading the hood for the silver RK Sport you see on it now. The fender and hood came off a white car in LA somewhere. So in an effort to fix the car the right way. I acquiredall the parts and just never got it painted.

To repaint old girl to her original color in a nice paintfor the whole body is nearly $5k. This is about average cost and I'm willing to pay. However, between the LS3 swap, transmission rebuild, suspension parts, clutch rebuild,etc. The cosmetics just haven't been jn the cards.
20160729_205001.jpg

On the flip side it runs good and sounds great ! It'll get painted and be pretty pnce again, it's all just a matter of time.

DSC_0870.JPG

Sort:  

It's nice to have a car that you like and are willing to spend time and hard earned cash on. One of those real men's time spending activities. Have fun out there and good luck with future posts!

Thanks ! It's hard at times and like any relationship (because in the end it is one), there are times you just want to give up. I know it has happened to me with this car many many times.

Welcome to Steemit @blackbob :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Congratulations @blackbob! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46