Teaching Steemit at the local library. A series.

in #growth-ideas7 years ago

How would you teach Steemit?

This November I am going to be doing a series of classes about Steemit through my local library system. I have been compiling material and ideas for how to educate those who attend.

The focus will be young adult writers who want to earn from their craft. With emphasis about quality posts and networking with other minnows.

I am going to create a series of posts about this 'SteemSchool' and what it takes to do well as a content creator, good groups on here, and stories of success.

There will be interviews with prominent Steemians I respect and some I call my friends. Users who are known as good quality, high classed people who care about the platform and education of new users.

Topics you feel need to be covered please comment here or dm on discord.

And if you can I would encourage you guys to try this grassroots method to get the name of Steemit out there. And to truly teach those in need.

images (33).jpg

Steem on!

Sort:  

To teach others is one of the most fulfilling task I have ever done in my life.

My hat is off to you! Upvoted and resteemed!

Good fortune to you this week. @sargento

Narwhalian Excellence Sir

Hope you don't mind the self promotion but you are welcome to talk about SWG, a group of writers who are trying to promote themselves and other writers on and off steemit while at the same time introducing steemit to users on other platforms. Our plans have changed a bit but we are working on putting our first compilation of stories.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatamidoing/steemit-writers-guild-book-project-update-deadline-for-stories-we-need-your-support

Or you can check out posts by @vangelov

Your class sounds awesome. I'm always looking for ways to connect and collaborate with talented and passionate people :-)

I don't mind the promotion. In fact. I might do a post reviewing your group so I have something to point the kids to.
Well maybe not kids. My librarian friend told me young adults. So I am assuming the age group can be 16-21 years old.

Steemschool is an awesome idea and I rhink this could well be a future category of real education I hope in learning and self empowerment centers around the world ! So great go for it @swolesome

I really like that idea @swolesome, not quite confident enough to stand up and teach Steemit myself though. What happens if they ask where all the money comes from? Steemit is perfect I think for people who want to try their hand at writing, and #theunmentionables can help fasttrack their success.

I know the answer to that! My favorite part kinda :p

You'll have to explain it to me one day like I'm a 6 year old please, dead simple, as I just can't my head around it, especially when telling someone else about it.

I can do that!

Make sure to cover decentralization of social media and what that means to the average user. Good luck!

I am, its an awesome point to cover. I was wanting to compare MoneyBook to Steemit and how the Zuck uses them.

It's not a great comparison though, Steemit is a blog site where FaceBook is a social network. The reason the Zuck is using them is because he currently has the best social network. I would say its more of trading your information for a service. I hope a decentralized facebook that has a good development team exists in the future though.

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This is an incredible idea and cant wait to see what you put out for steem school. Holding classes at the library seems like a great idea as well.

It makes so much sense. Libraries are meant to be places to learn and be hubs of the community.

Great idea! I am still pretty new on here and don't really have much great advice at this stage. I did find it massively confusing the first few times I used discord but it has been so helpful... so maybe you could teach people how to use discord to help build their community.

Good idea. Especially with the #unmentionables group on discord.

Absolutely! It's nice to have a friendly place where you can ask all your questions.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @swolesome to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56