[Gratefulvibes #8] I'm Grateful to God for My Children's Desire to Be With Me (And a New Garbage Disposal)

in #gratefulvibes7 years ago

I'm Grateful to God for Little Helpers - again!

Can I use that one again? My children seem to be the center of what I am grateful for lately, but above that is my wife. Something very special will be arriving soon that I'm already grateful, but I'm getting ahead of myself.

The Garbage Disposal Broke Last Night

Something got lodged in the disposal and I burned out the motor. It's old, it was about time for a new one, so today we acquired a replacement disposal unit.

I am the first to admit, I am not very handy - but there is something I remind myself of every so often:

I have two hands and a brain, I can do this

And my children want to help. They want to help so much, they're crawling all over me!

My youngest is the most excited! I'm under the sink, tinkering around, on my back, there's a light under there... everything is different, parts are coming out and going in. From her perspective, it must be very exciting!

My youngest grabs a screw driver and gets to work


(don't worry, there was adult supervision... and the power was off)

I am thankful to God for my children's desire to be with me

It's not that daddy's so great or what he's doing is so wonderful. I'm thankful that they have been given a gift: that they have been given the ability to spend time with their father and they have developed a desire to be with him. And what an amazing thing it is for me to be 'him'.

Who is God to my children?

I once heard someone say something that shocked me, but it seemed to ring true:

From the child's point of view, their parents represent God

What a terrifying idea! God doesn't ever sin! God is perfect and righteous! How could a parent accurately represent God to their children? It's not impossible for us to have the righteousness of God (we've seen that it's possible through the Son), but we all fall short. What do we do with this?

We are not God!

What I've come to believe is that we represent the relationship between God and His children through the Messiah. The authority of God, the kindness of God, the love of God. Our children imitate our actions as we imitate the actions of God.

Be imitators of God, as beloved children and walk in love, just as Christ also loves you and gave Himself up for us, as an offering and a sacrifice to God as a fragrant aroma. Ephesians 5:1-2

By imitating our Father in Heaven, as His children, we will treat our children with the love that He has shown us.

Everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened. Or which one of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent? If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him! Matthew 7:7-11

@ironshield


This post is a part of the #gratefulvibes challenge by @paradise-found.
https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@paradise-found/gratefulvibes-community-challenge-day-8-attitude-of-gratitude

Sort:  

I appreciate and enjoy your gratitude posts. :) So wonderful that your kids love being with you. And so nice that you have a garbage disposal to replace! We don't have one here but we put screens in the sink drain that constantly collect food pieces and have to be cleaned out. Good fun. So glad Christ gave himself up for us. Thanks for a great post.

Yes, a garbage disposal is something not to take for granted! That and trash collection... people actually showing up at our house and take our trash away. It's a marvel that not everyone has the opportunity to enjoy. But if these went away... God is still good and His Messiah is LORD! Bless the Most High! @ironshield

Quite true! We also have trash collection but we pay if we go over our allocated amount of bags. We get 2 per house per week, $10 a month. :)

Your kids have a wonderful dad!! Steem on #gratefulvibes!!
And I have to say, those kids are so very cute!!
Especially with the screw driver in hand!!

Thanks, she is certainly enthusiastic! @ironshield

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

What I've come to believe is that we represent the relationship between God and His children through the Messiah.

That is spot on if you ask me. I believe that if our children grow up thinking that they can come to us with anything, good and bad, then they will learn to do the same with God, hopefully to an even greater extent. It's just one aspect of it, but one that's been on my mind lately.

Yes, it's been on my mind lately also. It is my hope that my children will be as pleasing to God as they are to me! @ironshield

Wow thanks for this. Am greatful to God for me to meet you and for me to be a member of this platform @ironshield

It's my pleasure entirely! Happy to give God the glory! @ironshield

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 82.0% @followbtcnews upgoat, thanks to @paradise-found
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks BETA V2 bot has upvoted(1%) and checked this post!
Some similarity seems to be present here:
http://biblehub.com/luke/11-13.htm
This is an early BETA version. If you cited this source, then ignore this message! Reply if you feel this is an error.

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50