Grad Life Update

Hey, everyone! I hope things have been well with you. I have been caught up reading and writing, and I realized I hadn’t posted here in almost a month, so here is a life update post, which will hopefully be at least mildly interesting to y’all.

As I have sort of half-mentioned previously, I am currently in Illinois, getting an early start on my PhD work. My topic is still pretty broad, and refining it is the focus of some of my summer work here. I am interested in race, class, and gender in labor history, with a specific focus on Black working class women. I have begun an annotated bibliography of books related to my topic, and will be reading 8 books on the subject to write a literature review before the end of summer. Here’s my booklist:

  • Gray, LaGuana. We Just Keep Running the Line: Black Southern Women and the Poultry Processing Industry. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 2014.
  • Haley, Sarah. No Mercy Here: Gender, Punishment, and the Making of Jim Crow Modernity. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2016.
  • Harris, LaShawn. Sex Workers, Psychics, and Numbers Runners: Black Women in New York City's Underground Economy. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2016.
  • Hunter, Tera W. To ‘Joy My Freedom: Southern Black Women’s Lives and Labors After the Civil War. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1998.
  • Jones, Jacqueline. Labor of Love, Labor of Sorrow: Black Women, Work, and the Family, from Slavery to the Present. New York: Basic Books, 2009. 2nd Ed.
  • LeFlouria, Talitha. Chained in Silence: Black Women and Convict Labor in the New South. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2015.
  • McDuffie, Erik. Sojourning for Freedom: Black Women, American Communism, and the Making of Black Left Feminism. Durham: Duke University Press, 2011.
  • Nadasen, Premilla. Household Workers Unite: The Untold Story of African American Women who Built a Movement. Boston: Beacon Press, 2015.

Pretty cool, huh? Well, I think so, anyway. I’ve read 4 of them so far (Hunter, Jones, Haley, and LeFlouria), and I’m quite excited to get into Harris and Gray this week.

2018-06-07 10.48.55.jpg
my face when I got access to research databases again

To aid me in note-taking and summarizing each book for annotation, I created a four-page book summary worksheet with the most important info to record about each book. (The worksheet is downloadable here, if you’re interested.) These notes and annotations will come in handy in a couple of years when I take my preliminary examinations and craft my dissertation proposal, as long as I keep with my system.

My advisor is super attentive, which is cool, and not the case for everyone in my cohort, so I’m digging that. Been meeting every week to discuss the books read and how they could relate to my future research. Some of the doctoral candidates in my program have also been giving me loads of advice and answering all my questions, which has been amazing. I’m grateful that folks have been so welcoming thus far.

Can I just say: it’s kind of weird and awesome that I can now officially call myself a grad student! It’s early days still, but I’m already so excited and ready to go. Feeling blessed.

In my free time, I’ve been following the World Cup (go Nigeria!), and rooting for all the former colonies, basically. It’s been lots of fun to watch with others and chat with my cohort about the games. While I don’t normally get into sports much—I was always the book nerd, non-sports type that jocks picked on in school—I love the World Cup, and know enough to have a conversation about it. It’s like nerd camouflage…

2018-06-17 13.03.50.jpg
watching a game in the student union with another member of my cohort

My latest music obsession is Joe Buchanan, a Jewish country music singer. I am Jewish, and I love country music, and I was ridiculously excited to find out about him. His first album is beautiful and amazing, and I’m way into it, and he’s working on a second album now, for which I am suuuuuuper excited.

I have also been listening to Unorthodox, a podcast from Tablet Magazine. It’s really funny, and I’ve really enjoyed that. Also listening to Daf Yomi for Women, as I read through the Talmud, and Your Torah. Basically, hanging about in my room and being super Jew-y in my spare time.

Tomorrow, however, I’ll be venturing out to a protest. Apparently, there’s a particular hotel that ICE agents like to stay in when they come into town here, and we’re going to be protesting outside of it tomorrow morning. I’m no longer in Portland, where folks shut down an ICE office, Occupy-style, so I’m excited to plug in here in my new community.

Not much else to say, for now. Things are going well, even if a bit busy. Hopefully, I can finish up a couple of other drafts I’ve been working on, and post more in the next couple of weeks. I didn’t plan to totally abandon Steemit, I’ve just been hard at work!

2018-03-27 15.06.07.jpg

Until my next post, take care!

DQmNfLM1Farkm7XiKWqkAAAPJR8ja7W76aZNYdhFqLhLrYU.png

Pictures by me unless otherwise noted. Divider created by javehimself, and used with gratitude.

Steemit Author Banner 1.png

TGP-22-Banner.jpgClick the banner to join the Discord server, and click here to follow #teamgirlpowa’s curation trail; to delegate to @teamgirlpowa, click one of these links: 10 SP 20 SP 50 SP 100 SP or set your own amount here

lgbtbannerdirty0.pngClick to join the Discord server

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @tessaragabrielle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Orphaned Land is more my speed.

Because of course they are. :P

So glad to hear you're doing well!

I find that most heavy metal is overstimulating and anxiety-producing for me. I used to listen to metal sometimes when I was a teen, but now I can't, which is a little sad.

Yay, a Tessara update! It's so great to hear about all that you've been doing lately. ☺

Such a lovely update and nice to know you’re still touching base with Steemit despite being a busy and studious student now!

Congrats! Nice to hear from you.

Congratulations @tessaragabrielle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Damn, that is one heck o f a booklist!! :) Happy reading... and you WILL stay with yoru system and be totally sorted when it comes to your dissertation. Love seeing strong women preparing for lift off! :)

Congratulations @tessaragabrielle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 9000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tessaragabrielle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75