Win Some Gold and Tell us What is Your Favourite Coin in History?

in #gold7 years ago

What's your favourite coin and what year was it minted, is your favourite coin one that hold a memory or do you think it holds a significant role in history or do you just like the touch and feel of it.

Reply and Upvote with a picture of the coin and why it is your favourite coin, this will be a unique prize to who ever wind it, so have a go and lets see what coins come up.

My favourite coin is the 1817 Sovereign, it is because is a part of history but also it is the start of a new era in coinage, because of the way it was made and the pure detail in the coin.

1817 Sovereign f.jpg

Sort:  

I've actually just done a post on my favourite coin.. The Maria Theresa Thaler silver dollar. The history of both the coin and the queen is quite amazing.
This coin has not only been around since 1740 but has also been money since then in many different countries

Another Great Coin as well, watch my post next week you will like it.

Looking forward to it :)

this is a very interesting coin indeed. nice

My favourite coin comes from my childhood and is almost worthless, in collectable value, but to me it is priceless. The Irish Punt (pound) represented summer holidays spent with my family at my late grandmother's house in Donegal. We were a stone's throw from the beach, a ruined castle, and a wee town I loved so well.

This was the most valuable thing I carried in my pocket on a day to day basis in those days. It meant ice cream, beach toys, or a new computer game for when we went home.

But more often than any of all that, what it really represented was TEN of these tokens of fun:

And what these represented was a go on the arcade games, laser gun shooters, or a coin-operated helicopter ride!

Wow.. they seemed a LOT more impressive in my memory. Google just ruined the magic, haha.

So the Irish punt coin represented carefree summer fun. A great deal of that time was spent staring into one of these things:

The Euro has since replaced that currency, but we keep one of each coin in a massive old coins jar my dad has been adding to for decades. I've not actually looked in that jar since becoming a casual collector and silver stacker. I might just go do that.

Great post you should show people this great memory, there must be proofs of this coin

Thanks!

Are you still gonna do a vote on the worst coin contest?

Trouble is the worst one so far is 2017 Britannia, need more coins to enter, I will put out another one and promote it, what you think

I did a search and found one proof, the 1990 £1 Note & £1 Coin set, with nice Celtic art. Bit pricey at £40 on ebay though. (EDIT: I think it's sterling silver)

If you find any 1900 Victoria pennies they are worth money any older Irish coins are worth a bit

Found a second proof on its own:

I will be shopping around for this one I think,

first,upvoted

Really nice coin, I think mine would have to be the gothic florin, just amazing!

The Gothic Florin is truly a great coin, I have something I will be putting out to all to help everyone make money, you might need to spend money to make money but not much you interested? Will need between £20 and £100 and you have to trust what I am doing as I have done this and I made over £200,000 no bullshit.

I will be interested :)

My favorite coin is Canada's first gold coin, 1912 $5 piece. I showed it on here the other day in my tiny world gold post. It was givin to me after my grandad died because he knew I was an aspiring "coin collector" Some items I could never sell regardless of the spot price. This baby is an heir loom. It also helps it's a super nice coin with so much history!

Wow nearly in tears that is great, the respect for your grandad, that show you have true feelings and your awake.

Who gave you the spoons I saw in vid?

Haha that spoon was found in some old camping supplies my brother had. It was either my parents or uncles at one point. Mine now haha

Yup, that's a "never sell" coin for sure if GrandDad gave it to you! I have a couple of little things that people have asked why I keep, little elephant figures, a weird fish tie clip (that I wear proudly to events), trinkets etc. I keep them and display them because they were Grandma and Grandpa's

Priceless items regardless of value. The coin I was gifted also set me on a path to be a serious collector later in life. My wifes parents gave me some silver dollars and my aunt gave me some old Canadian pieces and world coins they acquired on thier travels. It's so great when ppl want to help you with your hobby and know you'll cherish items more so they pass them on

That's awesome GA. I have a similar situation, I just posted in the comments.

Hiya Regal, this is my favourite coin of all time since a kid :)

1715 8 Escudos, from the Spanish treasure fleet, the ultimate
Pirate Booty!! it's my favourite coin in history because the age
when Pirates and galleons battled the seven seas is just full of
excitement with tales of buried treasure and cannon fire! And
It's what got me into Gold and Silver and shiny things :) Arrrg
Harr Harr!!

don't know how old you are but if your below forty you should aim to have one or similar, I always wanted the 1817 sovereign and when I put my heart into it I got the first one, then the second one, now I am after the best one, Aim high if you just miss the target you have still done well at least you tried,

I'll be 30 next month im not particularly looking forward to it but im sure ill enjoy the party! , i think the only way im gonna have enough money to treat myself with the things i really want, is if i can figure out all this crypto business because i know its the future. 2 young boys and miniumum wage just covers things and id rather treat the family than myself. I will find a way to escape this slavery!

Just one you like and is your favourite coin

My favorite is a miscellaneous random one ounce silver round that features a ship called the U.S.S. Constitution, with the banner "Honest value never fails."

That's not what Wall Street believe in, it should read"Dishonest value never fails." with a US government seal

The 1913 Canadian 10 dollar gold coin. Because it is the first gold coin I ever bought. This sealed the deal, that I am a full blown stacker!

can10gold1913.jpg

I just posted this is my favorite too! Cept I have the $5 version. Canadian pride all around haha

I can't post a pic in comments from my phone but I'd love for you to see my post 😁

Yeah, I don't think I can put pics in a comment on the phone either. Almost everything I do on here is through the phone, but I went on the computer and was able to.

Thats a nice coin, im just having a google read about it and wow what a first gold coin to get

It's a nice example, not graded, but is in very good condition. Have thought of getting it graded and slabbed.

Seen these on silvergoldbull don't know what you paid MS63 is selling for $1,199 the MS64 and ms65 selling for $1,400+ get it slabbed could be worth more

Canada.jpg

Yeah I saw those on there. The coin shop owner where I go, told me it would likely come back as MS 63 - 64. I trust his opinion on that, he wasn't trying to buy it from me, or make a deal on it. In fact he told me I should hang on to it cause it will be worth a lot more in the future. It wouldn't hurt anything to get it slabbed though I suppose.

These coins had a limited run, 3 years but most were locked up during the war. They stayed in a Bank of Canada vault for 100+ years before they went on sale to the public again in the early 2000's. They sold the nicest ones marketed as "hand selected" and melted all the rest down. The newly sold coins hurt the value of them all as it flooded a market that had thought anyone with the few that were sold were the only ones available. Due to the history and the relatively limited mintage still I think they'll do very well over time. Plus the design is great

Yup. Mine is a hand selected one from that vault bag. I'll put up a picture of the coin in the case here, later, for those who are interested in how it was presented from the mint.

Here's how the mint packaged the coin
IMG_20170818_1656468 - Copy.jpg
IMG_20170818_1657022 - Copy.jpg
IMG_20170818_1657270 - Copy.jpg

Yes I had a silver version of this type coin once. I really dread having sold it years ago.

Mine will still always be the 1937 proof Sovereign!

Sov.

My most favorite coin is the Morgan Dollar from 1878 till 1921 for the design.
us-morgan-dollar.jpg
The most currious coin was the 3 cent from 1851-1873, it was so tiny that I can't see how you would be able to keep them.
us-silver-three-cent.jpg
Then the most deplorable coin I ever saw... aside from the current winner of the new sovereign coin so well described by Britcoin was the Susan B. Anthony dollar that was the size of a quarter with a detestable bun hair-do
us-anthony-dollar.jpg

Morgans and Peace dollars are high on my list of favorites!

I love all crown sized silver coins from around the world. So many classic designs. A treat to collect aswell

My favorite historic coin is the old 5p shillings. When i was a kid my auntie Sally used to tell me to go to her top drawer and get her steradent tube out and take a coin. Back then i used to think, wow 5p, a curley wurly is 10p!! But i didnt realise she wasnt giving me 5p she was giving me a piece of silver, all her shillings were old and so many fantastic designs, i just didnt appreciate them at that time, still got a couple but sad i didnt keep them all.
shilling.jpg
Would be cool if Royal Mint were to release an updated version of them like a 1/4 oz silver bullion coin, id want a tube of every design and give my little niece one when she visits and see her Curley Wurly is 30p face.

Nice design

My Nan used to give me the same, if I knew now what I did not then I would be rich, but at 10 Sherbert and a red lolly looked better

I love those old 5ps. I have a wee treasure chest full of the cupro-nickel era ones, and their 10p counterparts, up to and including when they were the big chunky 10p, before the new smaller ones came in. Love all the 'silver' change. I have a separate wee chest full of the 12-sided 3p coins, which have inspired the new pound coin. In fact I just realised.. That 3p in 1947 when they were released? Is now worth £1 to us. Inflation.. ugh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57475.27
ETH 2375.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34