Learn Something New Every Day Contest. Day 8

in #gogogadgetupvote7 years ago (edited)

Hurray for the WEEKEND!!!

Anyone doing anything fun this weekend? I will be here learning and passing out rewards, but you guys already knew that! Hopefully I should be getting my other contest up and going again, too. I just haven't had the energy to sit in front of my computer long enough to do both contests this week. I think I am feeling better, but I am still going to take it easy today. I don't want to over to it like I did yesterday and prolong my being sick if I can avoid it. Enough about me still being sick, though. That isn't anything new. LOL. Believe me, if you are tired of hearing about me being sick, I am tired of BEING sick. Let's see what we learned yesterday, huh?


apple.PNG


Contest Day 7

That green text is a link to the previous "Learn Something New" contest!

If you click that link and scroll to the comments, you can learn some of the fun facts that I did yesterday! Fair warning, yesterday's contest answers seemed to follow a very "adult" theme. It is still educational and entertaining, but just be warned. I found a few of the answers to be gross, like a tidbit someone shared about cockroaches. But you can judge for yourselves by clicking that link! Be sure to Upvote the comments that you learn something from, or laugh at (some of the entries are more comical that informational).


Rules for participation.

Tell me Something I Don't Know.

Leave me a meaningful comment below with a random bit of trivia knowledge (if you don't know what a meaningful comment is, make sure you read the post by @ogochuckwu linked at the bottom of this post). It doesn't have to be the most fantastic bit of knowledge, it just has to be true. If you post something really hard to believe, I may ask you to cite your source or link me to something that backs up your bit of info. If you cannot provide me with SOMETHING (a webpage, a news report, ANYTHING) to back up you claim I will not consider it a valid entry and I will not Upvote your entry. If you say something like "A meteor didn't kill the dinosaurs, Chuck Norris did!", I am probably not going to believe you. Like I said, it just has to be true (and somewhat verifiable).
All entrants will get a small Upvote for participating, (One Entry Per Person Per Day!!!) and my top three favorite will receive a 100% Upvote, a 75% Upvote and a 50% Upvote for teaching me something new that day.
Replies need to be in English or translated to English (If I can't read it, I can't judge it). You have about twenty three hours (give or take an hour depending on what time I get online that day) to make submissions to this post, at which time I will give out rewards and post the new Day's contest. Be sure to check the comments and support the other entrants. I highly encourage engagement in the comments section, and the vast majority of my Upvote power is used on comments. Earning rewards just for talking to each other is my favorite part of the platform, and I highly recommend Upvoting each others entries in the replies to this post! If the first three comments have Upvotes from me (the first one should be at least a dollar), then I have already given out prizes for this contest, but the next one will be out shortly!
You must Upvote this post to be considered a "valid entry". This is not because I want the rewards from your vote. This is because I rent delegated Steempower to provide larger Upvotes as prizes to my contests, and your Upvote on this post helps me pay for that delegation, and spread more rewards to more users!


As always, thanks for taking the time to read my post!



Polish Your Posts by checking out this post full of useful tips for newbies about post creation by @ethandsmith!


Learn how to write quality comments that improve your blog by @ogochukwu


You can see your posts total pending payouts by visiting https://steemviz.com/pendingpayouts and typing in your username!


Don't forget to check out @steemvoter


Every user can set up 3 rules to vote for their favorite author automatically. You get more rules the more SteemPower you have.

Learn how to add Emojis to your Steemit posts by CLICKING HERE



Image from pixabay. Gifs from GIPHY

Remember to follow me so you can catch my different Daily Contests every day!! Upvoting and Resteeming this post helps me spread more rewards to more users!


I'm @gogogadgetupvote and I'm Always On Duty!

Sort:  

Sorry for being out longer than expected @gogogadgetupvote.
Finally uploaded my Social Media in Suriname video which featured one major thing people don't know.

Suriname is the most forested country in the world, with 90.20-98.3% (depending on your source) covered in green.

It's a very hot topic right now, because on one side we want to promote our rainforest as the ecotourism destination of the world, on the other side our government is allowing companies to destroy it in their quest to find gold. :(

Cool. I love the forest. That sucks about the beauty being destroyed just for a bit of shiny metal, though..

Thanks. Yes, it really is disappointing. And interestingly, it are really the Multinationals who are reaping the benefits, as government can't seem to manage their finances properly.

But, because you love the forest, one of our latest videos made by a local. Hope you like it:

In "The Matrix" films, the green lines of falling code were created from sushi recipes. To make the code, a visual effects artist started by scanning the caracters from his wife's Japanese cookbook.

Proof: https://nerdist.com/the-matrix-code-sushi-recipe

Pretty cool, actually never knew that one. Always liked the first movie. I really didn't care for the cinematic abortions that they called "sequels".

My second favorite fun fact today!

Thank you very much! :)

Wait what? That's a really cool fact!

The Sentineles are a people who live on tiny island in the Indian ocean called North Sentinel Island. For thousands of years, they have refused all contact with the outside world. Using only stones and arrows, they have successfully repelled all invaders and remain one of the last uncontacted tribes in the world.
source

maxresdefault.jpg

Neat. You wouldn't think that in this day and age that there were any peoples who still have not had contact with the modern world to such an extent.

Indeed..... government of India had tried many time to contact them with signs as no one knows their language. But they have failed miserably.

Thank you...😃

Good morning @gogogadgetupvote, glad to see you're recovering, get well soonest.

OK, thank you for this great platform, I've been learning a lot and yes, yesterday contents were a whole level of new. So for my entry today,

Did you know that the ULCC (ultralarge crude carrier) supertanker known by the names "Seawise Giant", "Happy Giant", "Knock Jevis", or "Jahre Viking" holds the record for the Longest ship ever built and largest capacity of any ship.

It's overall length was 1504.1ft (458.46m) and its deadweight tonnage was 564,763 tonnes.
Its length was more than the length of four football fields joined together.

My sources are from the Society of petroleum engineers Petrobowl question bank and Wikipedia.

Neat. What is the ship's Actual name?

The ship's actual name is Seawise Giant.

Nice! Thank you!

Hey people you may not know this but eating vegetables and other food related to the food pyramid are much better, instead of taking vitamin supplements

You see when we take on anything ediblle it usually goes around our digestive-tract

lets discuss about vitamin supplements first, when we here about that its usually a pill or vial that we should injest ''AFTER EATING!''

Its because of the chemistry of the supplement. When the supplement goes done into our stomachs its usually on its basic compounds making it incredibly useless at absorbing, but if its around food and other micro-bacterial organism's the basic compounds binds to the food molecule and or gets chemically reacted with our gut bacteria making fats that are body's able to absorb and use for our daily needs.

Mean while Ordinary food, which we co-existed with and cultivated have turned into these already edible, rich in nutrients and vitamin.
The difference is when it enters our mouth we already notice the big difference in flavor between supplements and real food and when actual food goes down the stomach its vitamins and watery-based nutrients get absorbed within a hour and soon to the rest which goes through the bacterial gut that changes certain fats already contained in the food into some other complex nutrients and vitamins to which are much more easily absorbed into the body and more processes take until it reaches the toilet!

The big difference is when taking a shit! you poop less if your on a diet with vitamin supplements but your body is actually healthier if you poop more while your on a healthy diet of meat and vegges.

I was a big health nut back in high school, and actually learned quite a bit of this information from the research I was doing into health. I was also a "fit-head" as my brother called it. I spent most of my freetime in the gym at school. As a 150 lb. student, I could bench press 225 lbs. I couldn't possibly do that now without hurting myself, though.

Thank you @gogogadgetupvote

Kiribati is the only country in the world to fall into all four hemispheres, straddling the equator and extending into the eastern and western hemispheres.

My @source is from "Wikisource:United Nations Security Council Resolution 1248"

That is pretty cool. I didn't know that.

The strongest bone in your body is the femur (thighbone), and it’s hollow!

see it here. Click for Source

I did know that one. That tidbit comes into conversation every time anyone I know breaks a bone.

I'm from Canada, but I live in Mexico. I found out that when people here get married, the woman does not take her husband's last name. They don't understand why we would do that because "he" is not family! I wrote a post about it; my brother was vacationing here at an all-inclusive resort and we needed a day pass; the receptionist couldn't understand why my last name was different from my brothers.I tried to explain that it was my husband's last name and she looked at me as if I had horns:)

Oh wow! Isn't crazy how different cultures work? Do the kids take on the dad's name?

Well I don't know! I'm going to have to find out though:)

That is interesting. It's weird how something is perfectly acceptable to one entire culture, but to another culture, the things that seem so natural are not.

Exactly! That's why I love to travel but also to really immerse myself in a new culture. It's all the little things that make it so interesting!

Yesterday I had been working on my computer for almost 6hours straight. Suddenly the screen goes black and whit. I was scared shitless thinking I went colour blind.

Anyway did you know in a pc if you press windows key+ ctrl+c together it will turn the colour filter off?

I woke up and the computer was still black and white thank fully I could see other colors so I was sure the issue was the computer.

I did not know that. Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54280.30
ETH 2452.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24