Learn Something New Every Day Contest. Day 3

in #gogogadgetupvote7 years ago (edited)

FANTASTIC!!!


big thumbs up.PNG


Your guys' responses to my new contest have been SO MUCH FUN to curate! I have gotten such a larger response than I was expecting and so it takes me a little longer to get through the comments. So after curating the comments sections of both of my contests yesterday, I totally got tired and passed out. It was late, like, 2 AM here. So this post should have been up last night. Sorry for the delay, but here we go!

Curating the "Learn Something New Every Day Contest"


Well, since the goal was to "Learn at least two new things every day", I would have to say that this contest is a SMASHING SUCCESS!!! I have definitely learned more than two new things per day since the first day of this contest, and it is all thanks to you Amazing Steemians! Thank you for making my contest so much fun and educational at the same time!

Contest Day 2

Here I would like to recap some of the things that I learned from the previous post!

You can see all of the participants and the fun conversations that their submissions sparked by clicking the link just above that says "Contest Day 2" (for those who didn't know, text that appears green in a Steemit post is usually a link or hyperlink). So here they are, in no particular order!

1 . Texas is the only state in the lower Continental U.S. that has it's own power grid. @tj5553 submitted this little trinket of knowledge, along with a short history of the WHY Texas has it's own power grid.
2 . "Vantablack" is the darkest man made substance in the world. I thought for sure that someone had just gone into a paint program and blotted out a chunk of a picture with black paint, but after a little research, either it really is a thing, or it is the greatest global hoax since Stonehenge.
Vantablack.PNG
3 . Penguins also gives rocks (as in actual pebbles and rocks) to one another when proposing! If I am not mistaken, penguins also mate for life, which makes this a pretty neat little fact, in my opinion. Thanks to @diebitch for this little tidbit!

Rules for participation.

Tell me Something I Don't Know.

Leave me a meaningful comment below with a random bit of trivia knowledge (if you don't know what a meaningful comment is, make sure you read the post by @ogochuckwu linked at the bottom of this post). It doesn't have to be the most fantastic bit of knowledge, it just has to be true. If you post something really hard to believe, I may ask you to cite your source or link me to something that backs up your bit of info. If you cannot provide me with SOMETHING (a webpage, a news report, ANYTHING) to back up you claim I will not consider it a valid entry and I will not Upvote your entry. If you say something like "One thousand years ago, homo sapiens were an average of 12 feet tall. My teacher in third grade taught me that", I am probably not going to believe you. Like I said, it just has to be true (and somewhat verifiable).
All entrants will get a small Upvote for participating, (One Entry Per Person Per Day!!!) and my top three favorite will receive a 100% Upvote, a 75% Upvote and a 50% Upvote for teaching me something new that day.
Replies need to be in English or translated to English (If I can't read it, I can't judge it). You have about twenty three hours (give or take an hour depending on what time I get online that day) to make submissions to this post, at which time I will give out rewards and post the new Day's contest. Be sure to check the comments and support the other entrants. I highly encourage engagement in the comments section, and the vast majority of my Upvote power is used on comments. Earning rewards just for talking to each other is my favorite part of the platform, and I highly recommend Upvoting each others entries in the replies to this post! If the first three comments have Upvotes from me (the first one will be about a dollar), then I have already given out prizes for this contest, but the next one will be out shortly!
You must Upvote this post to be considered a "valid entry". This is not because I want the rewards from your vote. This is because I rent delegated Steempower to provide larger Upvotes as prizes to my contests, and your Upvote on this post helps me pay for that delegation, and spread more rewards to more users!

Again, sorry for the delay of this post!

Post should have been up last night, but I fell asleep. Also, I will be skipping the "Daily Introduceyourself Post Bounty" today, as it takes a lot of my voting power to curate that contest (three prizes plus the Upvotes given to the intro posts linked to me). So today will be just this contest, and I will be back again tomorrow with both contests again!

As always, thanks for taking the time to read my post!



Polish Your Posts by checking out this post full of useful tips for newbies about post creation by @ethandsmith!


Learn how to write quality comments that improve your blog by @ogochukwu


You can see your posts total pending payouts by visiting https://steemviz.com/pendingpayouts and typing in your username!


Don't forget to check out @steemvoter


Every user can set up 3 rules to vote for their favorite author automatically. You get more rules the more SteemPower you have.

Learn how to add Emojis to your Steemit posts by CLICKING HERE



Images from google and pixabay. Gifs from GIPHY

Remember to follow me so you can catch my different Daily Contests every day!! Upvoting and Resteeming this post helps me spread more rewards to more users!


I'm @gogogadgetupvote and I'm Always On Duty!

Sort:  

I'm loving this contest @gogogadgetupvote. Keep up the good work!

Today I'm going with something video game related and relatively obscure, though you may still be aware of it.

Did you know that Nintendo was not always a video game company and is actually well over 100 years old?

Nintendo was founded back in 1889 as the company Nintendo Koppai and sold handmade Hanafuda cards (Japanese playing cards). They became very successful in this industry and continued to expand for a number of years.

The company changed names many times over the years, before finally settling on just Nintendo in 1963. At this point the company was doing pretty well and began trying to branch out into other fields, apart from playing cards.

They continued producing trading cards and toys, but also tried setting up a taxi company, a love hotel chain, some food companies, and various other endeavors. Ultimately, most of these flopped and with a sharp decline in their trading card sales, they had to struggle to survive.

They managed to hang on in the toy industry, but just barely, until one of their employees on the assembly line was noticed due to a toy he invented just for amusement. He was quickly switched into development where he had a knack for electronic toy development.

After a number of successful electronic toys, the first light gun was finally invented in 1970. This opened the way for Nintendo into the electronics and video game industries.

In 1972, they had their first video game collaboration with Magnavox, creating a light gun accessory for the Magnavox Odyssey. Then in 1977, in collaboration with Mitsubishi Electric, they released their first video game system, the Color TV Game 6.

From playing cards to video games, the rest, you could say, is history!

So, I decided that this entry is first place! As an avid fan of Nintendo, it is pretty impressive to teach me something about it that I didn't already know (excluding new stuff in the last few years that I just haven't been able to afford..... yet). Plus I really enjoyed the following conversation! Good luck on your LTTP playthrough. Again, let me know if you get stuck at any point. A couple of those dungeons are a pain if you don't know what you are looking for.

Thank you! And I definitely will do ;) Actually, that sounds good. I might go hop on that here in just a minute...

I knew that Nintendo started as a Hanafuda card company. And I know a good amount about Nintendo since the release of the NES, but I didn't know all of that middle part. And for a guy with a Triforce tattooed to his chest, you would think I would have known a little more about the company. Thanks for sharing this with me! I am an avid gamer, and Nintendo has always been my favorite, mostly because of the "Legend of Zelda" series and the "Super Mario" series. To this date LTTP and OOT are still on my top ten favorite games of all time! Super Mario Brothers 3 is probably my all time favorite game.

Fantastic! Nice to see another Nintendo fan :) I never played too many Zelda games, though I am currently playing through LTTP on my SNES Retro (I was super excited when that came out, btw). However, I have played a good number of the Mario games over the years and am a huge fan! Super Mario Brothers 3 is a fantastic game, though I still think I'm partial to Super Mario World myself. If you like RPG's, and you haven't already played it, you should definitely check out "Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars." That game is a blast! I still remember playing it with one of my best friends on our original Super Nintendo's, heh.

RPG's are my next favorite games on the list, after Zelda and Mario, the Final Fantasy games are towards the top of my favorites list as well. FFVII all the way. Legend of the Seven Stars is one of the best Mario games ever, and the precursor game to all of the Paper Mario Series. If you get stuck at ANY point on "LTTP", feel free to let me know. I know that game better than the back of my hand. Aside from the graphics, I actually like LTTP better than OOT. I have found a video on youtube that perfectly describes how I feel about the two games. Sequelitus: LTTP vs. OOT. Fun little video to watch. I have done a challenge run where I sat down on a new profile and pounded out the entire game. Picked up all the hearts and every in game item and killed the final boss, with no deaths, in about 7 hours.

Geez, that's impressive! I'm not too far, but I've already died once, heh. LTTP is a definitely a fun game though, and the mechanics are actually pretty well done for it's time. I've noticed recently that some of the games from that time period really are terrible when it comes to how responsive they are. I guess I just never noticed it as a kid.

As for Final Fantasy, my personal favorite is FFVI. I just thought the game was fantastic all the way around. I never got too far in FFVII, much to my regret. I had it for Playstation and loaned it to a friend before I got too far into the game. He returned it with a missing disk which he never did find...

I'll definitely check the video out. I don't take it you recorded your own challenge run?

I did not record that challenge run. It was a few years ago the last time I actually did it. But, that isn't a bad idea for a post. I may just have to do that.
That really sucks about the missing disk from FFVII. It is probably my favorite game in the series. I like the fact that by the end of the game, you have literally explored EVERY part of the world, from the deepest trenches of the ocean, to the frozen poles of the planet. You even have a short stint orbiting the planet in a rocket. And it was the first TRUE 3D RPG game. Instead of the "top view down-yet strangely seen from the side", it added the ACTUAL third demension to the characters and map areas. Truly a revolutionary game for it's time.

Haha,

"top view down-yet strangely seen from the side"

It's funny cause it's true, but I had never thought it it in that way before... Yeah, I'll have to get around to downloading a ROM at some point and playing through it again. It's just tough to find enough time to dedicate to a game like that these days.

VII? Nah man, you can bust that game out in about 30 hours and have pretty decent stuff and a fairly decent fight with the final boss. Course you kinda have to know where you are going and what you are looking for to do that. I remember getting stuck on one part for DAYS! It was really frustrating. Probably spent a good 15 hours of gameplay over one week looking for one stupid switch, until a kid at school told me where it was. Then I felt stupid for not seeing it before. But these things happen. Nature of video games I suppose.

I'm just lost here, guess since I'm a 90's kid, I never did get the opportunity to play with most of them. Now I know about Nintendo. Way to go. Thanks for sharing this piece.

Did you know that the Bakken Shale in the United States is considered to be like an Oreo cookie. The shale provides the formation which houses the crude oil. The two dark layers are the shale and the cream inside is the oil intended to be produced. Therefore, conventional methods of drilling are not suitable and the need for directional drilling is more advisable so as to penetrate the creamy layer without having to disturb the two dark layers which are the Shale.

I could cite the blogs.platt.com and myndnow.com as my sources.

I learnt this from participating In the petrobowl competition hosted by the society of petroleum engineers (SPE)

I can back that up. I used to work out on drilling rigs as an MWD (Measurement While Drilling) Field Supervisor. My job was to operate a tool that told us our direction and inclination so that we knew where we were going. The Directional Drillers would then use that information to try and keep the drill going in the right direction. For lack of a simpler way to say it, "right through that cream filling."

The only thing I would say is different, is that you are actually drilling THROUGH the shale. Oil Shale is a sedimentary rock with large amounts of organic material in it that yields oil. When you drill horizontally through the middle of it, you are able to frac and break apart much more of the shale than if you just drilled straight down in one spot. This ends up yielding a lot more oil than conventional oil wells where they dug straight down and hoped for the best. However, there are usually formations above and below that effectively sandwich the shale formation. So the above explanation is pretty accurate.

Wow, this is great. Nice meeting you sir. Looking forward to learning more from you.

If I can answer a question or share any knowledge, I'm certainly more than willing to do so. I also look forward to learning more from you! This is a great competition and it is rather fun to see what kind of interesting facts get posted :) Your's just so happened to be something I actually do know a little about, haha.

By the way, I noticed you are from Nigeria. That's kind of a funny coincidence, since the guy that trained me on my first rig was also from Nigeria.

OK sir, I'm more than glad to meet you. I'm looking forward to getting on a rig someday. And I'll keep you posted if I have any questions or ideas to share. Thanks for this great opportunity.

OK sir, I'm more than glad to meet you. I'm looking forward to getting on a rig someday. And I'll keep you posted if I have any questions or ideas to share. Thanks for this great opportunity.
And yeah, I'm Nigerian 😀

Interesting, and educational! Thank you for the entry! Second place today!

Thank you very much @gogogadgetupvote. I really do appreciate it. We go again, I'm glad for this platform I'm learning a lot of new stuffs.

I was eagerly waiting for this post. Thank you again @gogogadgetupvote for this great contest.

Do you know about The Twin Paradox ?

It is a thought experiment based on special relativity in physics which involves identical twins.

One of them makes a journey into space in a high speed vehicle (say a rocket). When he/she returns he/she can find the twin that stayed on earth has aged more.

This is because the physical and biological clock will run slower for the one that travelled in high speed.

Interesting ain't it?

I think that gravity also has something to do with the affect on the "biological clock". Stands to reason that in space with less gravity, vs. being on the planet under the full force of gravity would have an effect on that, as well. Definitely interesting and thought provoking! Third place!

Do you know 8 out of 10 of world highest mountain lies in Nepal.
Namaste

I didn't know that. Thanks! Bonus points if you tell me the names and locations of the other two mountains in the top ten!

Pulling teeth from the human mouth is quite easy in most cases, but if there are complications a chunk of the jawbone can come out with the extracted tooth.

I can't really cite a source, but I know it's true because I had it happen to me when I was on the pulling end of the proceedure once. I have pictures of me pulling teeth, but not of said bloody jawbone.

That... just sounds terrible...

It was...for both of us, @tj5553!

Yeah, that does sound just awful. I mean, no fun for you, but definitely no fun for the person getting their tooth pulled.

"The pulling end"? So you are a dentist, then?

No, @gogogadgetupvote, I'm not a dentist at all, but when I was in the Army, and stationed overseas, I helped out at the dental clinic in my spare time. One of the things I got to do was pull teeth. The limit was 5 teeth pulled per visit per patient, and many of the people were maxing out, so you can only imagine how badly they were in need of this humanitarian aid service we provided.

I just read this again and once more shuddered...

Did you know that to lose one pound weight you have to burned 3500 calories more what you consumed. or burned 7700 calories approximately to lose one kg. Hopefully i will right at this time:) keep sharing @gogogadgetupvote

Do you know that kiwi is the only animal that walks backward?

Do you have a source on that? Or a video or something? Also, don't forget to Upvote this post to be considered a "valid entry".

@gogogadgetupvote, I've upvoted and resteemed this post for you, and have included it in my daily curation report today!
Cheers!

That is really great man! Thank you very much!

No problem. It's been fun reading back through all the comments.
Cheers!

In a bid to outdo myself, I have hunted far and wide to wow you with some education to allow you to learn something new...In doing so I have blown my own sausage brain... and I found my long lost relative.. allow me to introduce you to my Russian cousin the 'hairy steemsausge.' I am unsure, what you will do with the fact, but I am guessing you will be whipping up a culinary delight tonight. Grab the spaghetti and get into it! Apologies if you already knew about this hairy sausage.... we have been separated​ all our lives, and I​ have been none the wiser​. The Russian component of the family​ has​ been blessed, while I am just a poor blad steemsausage. I present to you 'The hirsute​ Steemsausage'. I kind of feel inadequate now :(

https://goo.gl/images/7ksUgr

Did you know SnapChat was originally intended to be an app for sending nude pictures? It was called 'Picaboo' in its early days. XD

Source: https://funfactz.com/technology-facts/snapchat-picaboo-nude-pictures/

Somehow, that does not surprise me at all...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42