You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learn Something New Every Day Contest. Day 3

in #gogogadgetupvote7 years ago

Did you know that the Bakken Shale in the United States is considered to be like an Oreo cookie. The shale provides the formation which houses the crude oil. The two dark layers are the shale and the cream inside is the oil intended to be produced. Therefore, conventional methods of drilling are not suitable and the need for directional drilling is more advisable so as to penetrate the creamy layer without having to disturb the two dark layers which are the Shale.

I could cite the blogs.platt.com and myndnow.com as my sources.

I learnt this from participating In the petrobowl competition hosted by the society of petroleum engineers (SPE)

Sort:  

I can back that up. I used to work out on drilling rigs as an MWD (Measurement While Drilling) Field Supervisor. My job was to operate a tool that told us our direction and inclination so that we knew where we were going. The Directional Drillers would then use that information to try and keep the drill going in the right direction. For lack of a simpler way to say it, "right through that cream filling."

The only thing I would say is different, is that you are actually drilling THROUGH the shale. Oil Shale is a sedimentary rock with large amounts of organic material in it that yields oil. When you drill horizontally through the middle of it, you are able to frac and break apart much more of the shale than if you just drilled straight down in one spot. This ends up yielding a lot more oil than conventional oil wells where they dug straight down and hoped for the best. However, there are usually formations above and below that effectively sandwich the shale formation. So the above explanation is pretty accurate.

Wow, this is great. Nice meeting you sir. Looking forward to learning more from you.

If I can answer a question or share any knowledge, I'm certainly more than willing to do so. I also look forward to learning more from you! This is a great competition and it is rather fun to see what kind of interesting facts get posted :) Your's just so happened to be something I actually do know a little about, haha.

By the way, I noticed you are from Nigeria. That's kind of a funny coincidence, since the guy that trained me on my first rig was also from Nigeria.

OK sir, I'm more than glad to meet you. I'm looking forward to getting on a rig someday. And I'll keep you posted if I have any questions or ideas to share. Thanks for this great opportunity.

OK sir, I'm more than glad to meet you. I'm looking forward to getting on a rig someday. And I'll keep you posted if I have any questions or ideas to share. Thanks for this great opportunity.
And yeah, I'm Nigerian 😀

Interesting, and educational! Thank you for the entry! Second place today!

Thank you very much @gogogadgetupvote. I really do appreciate it. We go again, I'm glad for this platform I'm learning a lot of new stuffs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48