Learn Something New Every Day Contest. Day 2

You guys are freaking awesome!

Not that you need me to tell you that, but it doesn't hurt to hear it every now and then!

Bullseye.PNG


PERFECT!

The replies you guys gave me were EXACTLY the kind of neat, fun little trivia facts that I was looking for. There were so many good entries that I had a really hard time deciding the ones I liked best, so a lot of them ended up with 50% Upvotes! I can think of way worse things that could happen than giving out extra prizes in a contest! And since the first post went so well, I really don't see any reason to change much. If you missed out on the first post, you can still check it out HERE!

Rules for participation.

Tell me Something I Don't Know.

Leave me a meaningful comment below with a random bit of trivia knowledge (if you don't know what a meaningful comment is, make sure you read the post by @ogochuckwu linked at the bottom of this post). It doesn't have to be the most fantastic bit of knowledge, it just has to be true. If you post something really hard to believe, I may ask you to cite your source or link me to something that backs up your bit of info. If you cannot provide me with SOMETHING (a webpage, a news report, ANYTHING) to back up you claim I will not consider it a valid entry and I will not Upvote your entry. If you say something like "One thousand years ago, homo sapiens were an average of 12 feet tall. My teacher in third grade taught me that", I am probably not going to believe you. Like I said, it just has to be true (and somewhat verifiable).
All entrants will get a small Upvote for participating, (One Entry Per Person Per Day!!!) and my top three favorite will receive a 100% Upvote, a 75% Upvote and a 50% Upvote for teaching me something new that day.
Replies need to be in English or translated to English (If I can't read it, I can't judge it). You have about twenty three hours (give or take an hour depending on what time I get online that day) to make submissions to this post, at which time I will give out rewards and post the new Day's contest. Be sure to check the comments and support the other entrants. I highly encourage engagement in the comments section, and the vast majority of my Upvote power is used on comments. Earning rewards just for talking to each other is my favorite part of the platform, and I highly recommend Upvoting each others entries in the replies to this post! If the first three comments have Upvotes from me (the first one will be about a dollar), then I have already given out prizes for this contest, but the next one will be out shortly!


As always, thanks for taking the time to read my post!



Polish Your Posts by checking out this post full of useful tips for newbies about post creation by @ethandsmith!


Learn how to write quality comments that improve your blog by @ogochukwu


You can see your posts total pending payouts by visiting https://steemviz.com/pendingpayouts and typing in your username!


Don't forget to check out @steemvoter


Every user can set up 3 rules to vote for their favorite author automatically. You get more rules the more SteemPower you have.

Learn how to add Emojis to your Steemit posts by CLICKING HERE



Images from google and pixabay. Gifs from GIPHY

Remember to follow me so you can catch my different Daily Contests every day!! Upvoting and Resteeming this post helps me spread more rewards to more users!


I'm @gogogadgetupvote and I'm Always On Duty!

Sort:  

Hi @gogogadgetupvote! I hope you are doing well today. Here's my submission for today's contest:

Did you know that Texas is the only state in the lower 48 to have its own power grid? There are only 3 power grids in the contiguous United States. The Eastern Interconnection is the largest and serves the states east of the Rocky Mountains. The Western Interconnection serves states to the west of the Rockies, and the Texas Interconnection, also known as ERCOT, serves the majority of Texas.

This had its foundation in the Texas Interconnected System, which was formed during World War II, in order to provide consistent and reliable power to the many vital factories and industrial plants located in Texas. Basically, the electrical planners in Texas did not trust any other states to provide the power and figured Texas could do it better on its own, especially since there are plenty of resources in Texas :P

ERCOT is also the only grid not subjected to regulation by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, since it doesn't sell electricity across state lines.

Long story short, Texas has it's own power grid due to World War II and because it wants to avoid the feds :)

Disclaimer: I'm a Texan

Nothing wrong with being a Texan my friend! Interesting how things end up happening because of the worlds nature of war. So many different historical structures that still exist today are only there because of some event during this war or that war.

Yep, and at the same time, so many great structures and priceless artifacts have been destroyed by wars. It's a vicious cycle.

Thanks!

Penguins also give each other rocks while proposing, er actual rocks or pebbles

Penguins mate for life, right? Because then that is a really fun fact!


Do you know that the darkest man made substance in the world is Vantablack? It only reflects about 0.03% of light that is incident on it.

Thank you again @gogogadgetupvote

Okay, so I totally though someone just blacked out a part of a picture. After doing a little research, either it really is a thing, or it is an INCREDIBLY well put together hoax. Thanks for the submission!

I was hoping to find this in a paint but dam is it hard to source those carbon nano tubes

Third!

Thank you so much 😀

That's so weird. It looks as if you just cut that section out of the picture altogether...

Hello @gogogadgetupvote you are awesome too I love your contest idea. It definitely shows you have a passion for learning new things and that's a habit I'm definitely going to pick up from you. Thanks for sharing.

A little bit of trivia knowledge
Igbo is a language spoken by eastern Nigerians in Africa. The interesting thing about this language is that over time, as the language evolved, people can't speak 5 sentences in igbo without adding an English word or 2. In fact, most people tend to "igbonize" English words instead of speaking correct igbo. That means that they call the English word and somehow make it an igbo word. Example; skoolú- school as opposed to ulo akwukwo.
This phenomenon sometimes may have been due to the fact that some of these words were not in existence back then and they improvised. But who knows. 😉
There are other quirks of this language. And I would know because I happen to be an igbo girl😁😁

Pretty cool. Are there many people that are preserving the language? I can imagine that people igbonize English words, happens with a lot of languages. I remember that in High School during French exams I used to write down English words with a l'accent circonflexe if I didn't know the French word.
Last question, do you know any artists that use Igbo in their art (paintings, mural etc.)? Would love to see those works.

Thanks. Mostly the very old people are preserving the language. Most middle aged people just speak it to themselves. About 30% of Young adults hardly speak and about 90% of children don't know it. I'm sure there are lots of artists. I'll find some pictures of artworks and get it to you😊

Thanks. One of our most renown artists in Suriname, Marcel Pinas, uses the Afaka syllabary in his paintings (Some images: https://www.google.sr/search?q=marcel+pinas+afaka&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjF7uemgr3YAhUB8CYKHTwQBd4Q_AUICigB&biw=1355&bih=559).
Not much is known about Afaka, aside from it having African roots. The signs really bring a special feel to the artworks, unfortunately none of us know what is actually written.

Wow. His representation of the symbols are beautiful. Very genius to do a painting on syllabry.

Please may I have your Steemit.chat username so we can talk more

Weirdly enough not active on Steemit.chat. I am active on Discord. Under @jeanlucsr. Same for Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and Snapchat :)

Not weird😊 I'll try discord.

Nice one.great writeup

It is interesting how various languages evolve over time and adapt to the other languages and cultures that they mingle with.

In a 2014 study of 41 languages Mandarin Chinese had the least borrowed words coming in at only 2% meanwhile English come in at a 42% borrow rate.

Man if we had to give all those words back we wouldn't have much left

American English or British English? I am American, and I can tell you, British English is an entirely different language, LOL.

And Australian english is different again

Why haven't you set your profile picture yet? Just out of curiosity?

That is a very good point I will have to add one

Nice! Awesome bud!

Of 100 crop species that provide 90% of our global supply of food,, 71% of it is pollinated by 🐝
http://www.cnn.com/2014/05/17/opinion/spivak-loss-of-bees/index.html

Nice entry. I did know that one though. And this contest has already closed and paid rewards. But there is a new one HERE

Aussie Fun Fact: KANGAROOS

There are over 60 different types of kangaroos, when born the average about one centimeter in length. They are the only large animal to use hopping as a source of movement and can reach speeds of up to 70 km (43 miles) an hour.

No wonder they do so much damage when they collide with a car, I have seen many write off's on country roads from a roo jumping in front of a car unexpectedly. Dusk & Dawn are the worst time as they are out in droves in country areas and you can't see them coming through the light.

Like, species of kangaroo? How do they differ from one another? Do you have a source?

Us living here helps the main one you would know is the boxing kangaroo the big red one however chances are if you came for a visit you are more likley to see one of the smaller greys.

Size, color, abilities, fear factor, some of those buggers are big! The average red is 1.5 m and the largest confirmed was around 2.1 m. The power behind their kicks can kill. Weird Facts About Australia & good old Wikipedia. :-)

Fun fact
Did you know that if you are about to yawn, you can stop it by rubbing the roof of your mouth with the tip of your tongue.....

😀😀😀 ,, i see you trying it already.. It will obviously be helpful to prevent yawning in a public place...

See you 2mao, bye!!

That doesn't work all of the time, but I have tried it before. It helps sometimes. Other times there is just nothing you can do about it.

Good contest @gogogadgetupvote. You're using your contest to learn new things.
Well, let me tell you something about my field, hope you don't know it already.


When babies are born, they are born with more bones than an adult has. These bones fuse over time to form the 206 bones an adult has. So, babies have more bones than you do😁😁

I did know that one, though I just recently learned it! I am expecting my first baby in February! But I will count it if you can tell me how many they have at the time of birth, so that I would learn the difference of bones!

OK. Great, February is real close
They have about 300 bones

FUN FACT: Philippines

It has been colonized by three countries. The first one was Spain for more than 300 years, after that was USA, and then a fews years by the Japanese. No wonder our culture was much leaning to the Spanish culture.

I think that was part of the history class in high school that I was too baked to pay attention to during. So I'm not sure if that counts as something I don't know. I feel like I learned that, and then forgot it, LOL. Effit! I'm going to count it!

You should count it😊 i demand you too. Hahaha. I might end up like some bots putting trivias on people's posts and get downvoted. Hahaha
Thanks dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58334.82
ETH 2595.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40