But... what about Lamby and Jacob?!

in #ghsc5 years ago

Good morning all!! I know, you all have been wondering, whatever happened to Lamby and Jacob?!



What?! Some of you don't know who Lamby and Jacob are?! Well, here are some back-posts if you want to check them out:


Lamby gets weaned
Look at cute baby Jacob!
Will Lamby and Jacob ever like eachother?!
Jacob is growing up!
The story behind the ugly pallet fence they live in (and yes, it is still holding up VERY well!)

Okay, now that you know who Lamby and Jacob are, I thought I'd give you all a quick update on their progress!



P1080955.jpg

Jacob is kind of a butt-head. He's in the throes of young malehood, and likes to constantly test me and see if today is the day he gets to be the BOSS.


Nope, not a chance. Every time he tries it, he gets thrown to the ground and sat on as a punishment, something he detests. I'm going to buy a mask for him, that inhibits his forward visions, but not side. This is supposed to deter him from charging, but does not constrict his day-to-day activities.


P1080926.jpg

Lamby seems to be quite pregnant!!


Here she is, scratching herself on the fence. She looks plump and is beginning to develop an udder, so I am expecting a baby or two any time now! I've never had a sheep give birth before though, my area of expertise is goats, so I'm not sure what to expect. It should be similar though. I'll try and get a video if possible!


P1080943.jpg

She is looking dingy and gray, with some leftover wool from last year hanging around.


She is a hair sheep, meaning she sheds every year, rather than needing sheared. Jacob, on the other hand, will definitely need sheared. If Lamby hasn't made any progress on her coat by the time I shear him, Ill probably trim her up as well.


P1080938.jpg

Lamby and Jacob get along fine now.


They DO bicker from time to time. Sometimes they push each other around, but for the most part, they seem to enjoy each other's company. If all goes well, I am planning on getting another ewe or two in the near future. So far, raising sheep has been pretty straightforward and we haven't had many issues to deal with. I think this is a great way to raise healthy meat for the family. ♥


P1080931.jpg


page-break-1024x256.png

Thanks for stopping by!! ♥ I can't wait for Lamby to lamb so I can show you all!!


It will be adorable for sure...


Have a blessed day!!

page-break-1024x256.png

Badge comp.png

Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

What a cool update on them, the Mask for Jacob may be the best idea t train him a little and looking forward to seeing Lambys lamb

Thanks for this great post and being an active member of @steemusa !tip

Aww thanks so much!! :D

Most welcome 😎👍😎

🎁 Hi @squishysquid! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Those horns look like they could do some damage. I wouldn't want that running at me. He looks pretty big to be tackling to the ground and sitting on. I commend your strength, your courage, your vigilance. I'd be buying a stun-gun at this point, but then, that's me.

Bah ha ha... I have to admit I have considered it.
I was planning on selling him after the baby was born, cause I had had enough of his crap, but now I think Im going to give him longer to calm the heck down and behave. Just about any male animal will become a butthead when reaching maturity.
I have to PAY ATTENTION when I get in that pen, because I admit, I could get injured if he caught me unawares. Those horns also make great handles, and I used them to flip him on his back, haha. Maybe I can get it on camera sometime...

Just about any male animal will become a butthead when reaching maturity

That pretty well says it. And most of them stay that way.

Heh... they've grown up a little bit!

Congratulations @squishysquid! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3750 replies. Your next target is to reach 4000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hahaha! We used to have sheep and our ram was a total butt-head too. I didn't know about the mask thing or we might have tried that before rehoming them. We wanted them to lamb but the ewes didn't like Winston any more than I did. I can't wait to see lamb pictures!

Bah ha ha! Sounds familiar.
She didnt like him at all at first, but they worked it out. I am hoping that with the mask and training him through puberty, we can get his attitude under control. If not, well he will either taste good or get a new home. ;)
I know my billy goat went through a couple of attitude phases when he hit puberty and was testing me. It was different though, he wasnt actually trying to hurt me... we shall see how it goes!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 464

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.68
ETH 2443.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36