Update on our sweet Lamby! ♥ It's weaning day!

in #homesteading6 years ago

I can't believe it, she is 11 weeks old already!

Yes, I could have weaned her already, a week or so ago, but, you know, who can resist this face?

P1050797.jpg
Yeah, she's cute, but perhaps the main reason I have waited this long is that she is just so darn LOUD when she wants her bottle! Who knew a sheep could be so LOUD?! Well... I didn't!

She is doing fabulously!
So healthy, so solid. I am used to looking at miniature dairy goats, so the size and meatiness of this girl just keeps surprising me...
Here is a shot of her near one of my Nigerian does. It's amazing, she is almost as big as an adult goat, and just at weaning! I can't wait to see how big she grows. It won't be long before she towers over them, haha!

P1050780.jpg
Does that goat look unhappy to you? Well, she is. She is NOT amused by Lamby and her cute, fuzzy antics!

Lamby, (yes, I know she had other names at first, but everyone just calls her Lamby for some reason!), is growing fast, super sweet, and adorable! She love grazing on grass! I know, I know, not really a shock there. It is interesting though, to watch the difference in the grazing habits of goats vs. sheep. Goats are browsers, like deer, and prefer weeds and shrubs, whereas sheep are grazers and munch on grass.
It WAS surprising though, to discover that she loves eating Spanish moss!

P1050796.jpg

Goats love this stuff too.
I don't know what the nutritional value is of Spanish moss. I've done some Googling but haven't come up with much.
The goats and Lamby love it though, so Ill keep on feeding it to them whenever it hangs down low enough on the old oak trees.

The future of Lamby is still not certain.

She was purchased with the intent to eat her this fall. However, she is adorable and friendly, and all the family love her.
We have been entertaining the thought of keeping her around to be a mama, but honestly, we already have a goat herd and don't really have space to start a sheep herd as well...
We shall see.

P1050801.jpg

At any rate, thanks for reading this update about Lamby!

Hope you enjoyed the cute pictures! ♥

Have a lovely day!

DQmbj7aFc4KUTeZutepodkoLfk8RQpX8bmZR1UxNQmeJQ7X_1680x8400.pngDQmWanpr4tr3184ecNVLjHGyoLuS4zVRwgUBUbFzNWfq7Nq.pngDQmXncjfgxpSbXutHSRAPCjVUq7ddoA5SHsLPe7EoNrVfhC.png
badges courtesy of @daddykirbs

Logo-Black-Small-Banner.png

Sort:  

Lamby is adorable in her pink collar, and already sounds like part of the family. I'M ON TEAM LAMBY!!

Woooo team Lamby!!

Lamby Lamby Bo Bamby... (you know the rest) :-D

Haha, well, as long as we dont sing that 'other' song.... you know the one. I can live with this one.
;)

Which other song? Oh, the one with Lambchop and Sherry? I can't remember what that one was called. But it seems to me that it went on and on...

Sorta like this one here:

;-)

LOL
You'll be happy to know that backfired on me last night... couldn't get the song out of my head.

Yessssssssssssssssssss!
Great success!

Yeah, she's cute, but perhaps the main reason I have waited this long is that she is just so darn LOUD when she wants her bottle! Who knew a sheep could be so LOUD?! Well... I didn't!

you know that you have already said it.

Hell Yeah..! :D

Haha for sure I know it NOW, I just didn't know that BEFORE I got her! I figured she would be about like the goats, but nope, she is very much LOUDER!

were you considering...eating her??? :/

Ummm.... well we homestead, and a sheep is typically a meat animal, so....
Taking a life is not pleasant, but any meat we eat was once a life.
I make sure any animal under my care is loved and taken excellent care of so they may have the best life possible. :)

I understand completely, it was mostly a tongue in cheek question...I figured that was her purpose in life :)

Glad you understand! Many people do not and I get horrified people telling me what a monster I am for killing an animal I named.... I still feel that is kinder than eating a factory farmed animal that lived an awful life.
Who knows though, perhaps she will get to hang around... ;)

Awwww lamby...she got big fast! To eat or not to eat...that is the question ;)

Yesssssss.... that IS the question!
She's a baby yet, so we have time to think, but man, she is growing up fast!

You could always keep her solo as a pet too, teach her to walk on a leash so you can bee the cool kid on the block that takes their sheep for a walk. 😎
You could also use her wool 🐑

I like that idea, how cool would we be?! I dont know if the hubby would go for that though, we already have a lot of pets. (Dog, 4 cats, 4 snakes, 3 birds, a turtle, lots of fish, a hermit crab...)

She is actually a 'hair' sheep, so she doesnt really produce much wool. Its worth looking into though, if we can use what little she has. It is SO soft and fluffy...

Is that all the animals you have, hahaha. You sound like us. 2 dogs, four cats, a hampster, a parakeet, a boa, 12 ducks( not including babies, 20 chickens, two goats, thee turkeys, and ass hole bunnies who got loose and preproduced after failed attempts in a very large and spacious cage. We now need to thin them out 😕😣

No, that wasnt all, LOL! That was just the ones classified as pets!
We used to have ducks, rabbits and pigs, but we got rid of all those and are down to about 30 chickens and 7 goats. Babies are on the way from both sets though....

She is cute I have a feeling she will be staying

Sigh... She may well be. Lord knows I dont need a pet sheep to feed, but what can you do?
shrugs

Exactly 😎

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 16:48:27
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 53.30/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 43
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62932.98
ETH 3353.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47