SEC-S19 / W4 | Mise en place, Types of Roux and Mother Sauces.

in #gastronomy-s19w416 hours ago

IMG_20240801_141649.jpg

This week course was a little bit challenging because rouze is not part of our cooking method. I don't even cook it before so I have to sit back and study it, bought the ingredients and then give it a try.

Buh guess what? I am very happy at the results I'm happy I have achieved something at least I finally know how to make a ketchup and every other mother sauce that is mentioned in this week course.

I feel that we will need more weeks!
@nahela I feel this too

I understand vividly well this week course but even though I still stand to be corrected where necessary.

Let me share my understanding with regards to the contest questions.



Do you do mise en place before cooking? Show us how you organize everything before cooking.

Yes I do,

Although it is not done often times because most times, I rushed into the kitchen to prepare food, so to be honest, when I'm in a hurry in the kitchen, I don't my ingredients before cooking always.

IMG_20240801_133104.jpg
Mise en place for stew

IMG_20240801_123629.jpg
Mise en place for steaming chicken


But in most times I do prepare everything place my ingredients before I start cooking This will help me not to miss any ingredients while cooking, it will also help to finish cooking on time without wasting too much cooking gas.

IMG_20240801_135319.jpg
Mise en place for ketchup

Then when it comes to baking and frying I do mise en place before cooking as I need all the ingredients in place to begin my mixing process. This helped me not to missed any ingredients that is required for a particular cooking. It also help to identify a particular ingredient that is not available so it can be purchased before the start of cooking.



We would like you to make a type of roux and set aside for the next task. (show ingredients and process)

This is my first time of hearing that word roux, I've not heard it before. And for the very first time I learnt it is in this contest, all thanks to steemit and the steemit team who brought up this teaching team initiative which has helped many users to benefit from it.

Let me show you how I prepared my clear rouze, I may not get it very well and I stand to be corrected where necessary.

To prepare my rouze, I used butter and flour.

  • First of all I placed my pot on fire, added butter to the hot dry pot to melt.

  • After melting, I added flour to it and stir consistently for 2 to 3 minutes.

  • Lastly, rouze ready

IMG_20240801_135625.jpg1IMG_20240802_172901.jpg2IMG_20240801_135920.jpg3

So after learning what rouze means and how to do it, I decided to do a clear rouze and set aside for mother sauce.



We would like you to use the roux made in the preparation of a mother sauce or derivative. (show ingredients and process)

In the course, I learnt the different types of mother sauce, it's origin and derivatives and after learning, I choose to make a tomato sauce which derivative is ketchup.

Ingredients

  • Tomato puree,
  • Mirepoix onion
  • Roux
  • Water
  • Salt
  • Garlic
  • Sugar
  • Bay leaf
  • Pepper.

Ingredients photograph👇

IMG_20240801_135319.jpg
mise en place

Steps

  • Added butter to the pot
  • Add rouze then stir
  • Add sugar and salt then stir
  • Add tomatoe puree then stir
  • Go in with onions and spices, pepper and stir consistently for 5 minutes, add a little water stir and it's ready

IMG_20240802_182316.jpg
Ketchup ready

I blended it in with blender and finally got a fine and smooth texture.



We want to see what use you give to the sauce you make.

So I was very happy to prepare a very tasty ketchup that was my first time of preparing ketchup but believe me it was really nice.

Then I fried plantain chips and make good use of my ketchup with it.

IMG_20240801_141700.jpg
Chips with ketchup

As I finally know how to make ketchup I'll be producing it for my hubby business rather than buying readymade ketchup in the supermarket.



Did you like the result of the sauce? Were there any difficulties in the process?

IMG_20240801_141822.jpg
Enjoying my recipe

I'm so much like the result of the sauce, At least trying it for the very first time and it came out well I like it hopefully it my next trials and subsequent time I will be able to catch up with the steps and do it perfectly well.

Yeah there was difficulty in the process, the floor while making rouze has lumps in it, I stir very well but it didn't dissolve so after preparing the tomatoes mother sauce, I blended the ketchup to have a fine texture.

I will like to invite @adylinah @mile16 and @goodybest to take part in this contest

Polish_20210708_192135556.png

Sort:  
Hola amiga, es un gusto saludarte. Realmente en nuestro día a día a veces en la cocina andamos bastante apuradas pero cuando tenemos un poco de tiempo organizar todo lo que necesitamos a la hora de cocinar nos da una gran ventaja, tal como dices, nos ayuda a no olvidar ningún ingrediente y a facilitarnos esta tarea.

El roux que preparaste luce muy bien, para hacer la primera vez lo hiciste genial, al igual que tú tampoco lo había preparado antes. La ketchup que preparaste se ve bastante apetitosa, espero la hayas disfrutado.


Saludos y bendiciones.


Yes I enjoyed it so much, thank you for your observations and commendations

Yes, I am also in support of the extra weeks. Six weeks won’t be enough for us to learn everything to our satisfaction in this course. 😆

You’ve showed your understanding in this week’s class by Mise en place before cooking, making a type of roux with butter and flour and also preparing a tasty looking mother sauce with tomato which is called; ketchup.

Your presentation is wonderful and perfect!🤩 👏🏻

Thank you for the invitation and many success in the contest!

Oh thank you so much I really appreciate your support, let's keep learning and improving in preparation of different recipes.

Most welcome!🤗

Friend, you are right, it seems that we need more than six weeks to be able to learn many things, since in terms of gastronomy and cooking you learn a lot and there is so much to learn and as is the trend then, there are many things that we must practice.

On the other hand, I really liked your dish, your sauce because you made it look simple and tomato ideal to accompany with pasta, with some potatoes and the step by step is very well explained, I like to see you here very motivated following this line of learning challenges.

Yes you are right 👍 we need more weeks of learning in this field.

Thank you for your support I appreciate you

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46