SEC-S19 / W3 | Types of vegetable cuts most used in the kitchen.

in #gastronomy-s19w3last month

IMG_20240726_172948.jpg

It is another week of gastronomy engagement challenge and happy to take part in the teaching team which has unleashed this cooking skills in me.

I have learn a lot from this week course especially the different types of cutting which will help me perfect with garnishing of meals while using the different cutting techniques.

This week, after learning the different types of vegetable cuts, I decided to share my understanding on the course by answering the assessment questions for students as follows.



Two cut from the week course

Stick cut; this is a cutting type that is done by slicing food items into small, rectangular sticks. It can be use for French fries, stir-fries, and veggie platters as garnish.

IMG_20240726_123028.jpg

IMG_20240725_073102.jpg


It is easy to cut but very technical, you need to maintain a straight long cut to have the shape come out well.

From the image above I used to plantain to make french fries so I decided to give it a different cut and ofcourse a stick cut also known as the canes cut.

Brunoisse cut: The brunoise cut is the smallest form of the dice cut and is derived from the julienne cut, used for soups, stews, stocks, and garnishes.

IMG_20240725_093341.jpg

To cut it properly, you need to start with a julienne cut item then cross-cut the julienne horizontally into cubed pieces as seen above.



Other two cut of vegetable researched on my own

IMG_20240726_123209.jpg

Rondelle; it is the cutting of food item into a round shape or oval shape.

This is achieved by washing your food item be it veggies fruits or anything that you want to cut into the shape clean, then place it on your chopping board, using your knife you cut it straight or on a bias depending on how spherical what you are cutting it


IMG_20240725_091805.jpg

Chiffonade; is a technique for cutting leafy greens and aromatic herbs into long, thin strips used for garnishing, topping, and creating artful salads. These leaf includes; spinach, basil, garbage, azuza, mint, lettuce etc.



Use one or more of the cuts made for this course and use them in some preparation, share the images and details.

I used different cutting technique to cut veggies for breakfast. He used plantain, cabbage and onion going to perform this task.

First of all I cut my onion; I used two types of cutting technique to cut onion, rondelle and brunoisse cut

I also cut cabbage 🥬into a thin sting know as chiffonade.

IMG_20240725_093347.jpg
rondelle and brunoisse cut

IMG_20240725_091831.jpg
Chiffonade


Then, I cut plantain into a stick cut with other shapes as well because it was for baby, so I made different types of cutting to attracts her.

IMG_20240725_073102.jpg
Stick cut, dice and rondelle cut

IMG_20240726_123028.jpg
After frying


Then I fried egg using cabbage and onion.

IMG_20240725_093955.jpg

First I place frying pan on the cooker
Added vegetable oil to it, Fried all the veggies, Add pepper, spices and seasoning to taste then cover the pot to simmer for some minutes.

After some 2 minutes, I added egg then cover the pot again and allow to simmer for 3 minutes I turned the egg and boom!! my fried egg was ready for breakfast.

IMG_20240725_095907.jpg

It was really tasty and crunchy I tested some bread and it's went well with the bread so my family love it so much you can also give it a try you will like the recipe.

What I discovered from this recipe was that the rondelle onion was still very fresh and crunchy so I'll be using this technique to cut my onion.



We want to know your opinion about this course, you can share it with us.

Sincerely I really appreciate this cause so much I never went to a catering school but then I like reading online to know the different recipes of food because I like my family to have a different tastes of meals. So will discuss the 3 weeks of course I've learnt so many things when it comes to cooking the different cutting techniques and the different cutting knives and different combination of spices to cook different meals.

I appreciate this course so much because I knew the different cutting techniques before now but I never knew their names. So now I'll be using those different terms at home while cooking, especially when I have someone that is assisting me in the kitchen. I will help the person learn these terminologies in cooking.

So thanks to this teaching tea, I'm looking forward to another wonderful course next week and many more.

I wish this course will continue on steemit even though the engagement challenge get to an end, I really wish it will continue.

I will like to invite @lovinah @dequeen and @abijacob to take part in this contest

Polish_20210708_192135556.png

Sort:  
Loading...

TEAM 2

Congratulations! This post has been voted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere and any tags.

Post.jpg


Curated by : @anailuj1992

Thanks a lot for the invite I have learned some cooking skill here and the food looks delicious by the way I will try this this weekend

Okay I'm waiting for your entry, thank you for your comment

Estoy segura de que tu hija disfrutó mucho el plátano, se ve muy lindo el plato con los diferentes cortes que realizaste.

Por otra parte, la mezcla de vegetales a la que le agregaste huevo te aseguró hacer tu desayuno más nutritivo, debe haber estado muy rico.

Qué bonito que deseas compartir tu conocimiento con otras personas.

Te deseo mucho éxito.

Oh thank you so much I really appreciate your nice comments.

The veggies is very nutritious to the body and it was tasty as you said.

Hola @eliany que bueno es aprender corte de verduras y frutas, el corte de palito es el mas utilizado en mi cocina a mis hijos les encanta las papas fritas y platanos.

Varias técnicas de cortes que nos lleva a una preparación de comida exquisita a nuestro paladar nutritivas y saludable.

Te deseo mucha suerte y bendiciones 💗

Yes even in my kitchen stick cut I'd mostly used, it looks appetizing if our veggies and fruits are neatly cut.

Thank you so much for your comments

Greetings dear friend.

Thanks so much for the invitation, I really appreciate. I will try and participate in this contest today.

Your explanation on this topic is very simple and unique. Yes even me too, I have never witness the four walls of catering school but with steemit platform, I am learning it free of charge. I really appreciate this course.

Best of luck in this contest.

Oh thank you, I waiting to see your entry.

Thank you for your comment

Hola amiga. Es un gusto saludarte, creo que el corte brunoise es uno de los más utilizados en la cocina, aunque la mayoría desconocemos su nombre y técnica apropiada para hacerlo de manera prolija.

Por lo cual es maravilloso este curso en el que podemos aprender más respecto al tema. El corte chifonade es uno de mis favoritos para las ensaladas. Tu tortilla con los vegetales luce realmente apetitosa, espero lo hayas disfrutado.


Fue encantador visitar tu publicación. Éxitos en el desafío. Saludos y bendiciones.


Hahaha thank you for your nice comments, I appreciate it.

We use some of this cutting techniques but never knew their names.

The Brunoisse, rondelle and stick cut in the first photo after frying the plantain looks appetizing. The brownish look of the plantain reminds of BROWN in our previous course. I like how you took your time to give these vegetables a perfect cutting. The toasted bread looks delicious too. 😊

Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us and many success in the challenge!

Hahaha 🤣🤣

Thank you so much for your nice comments, your observations is top-notch, see the way you read and scan through the post. I appreciate it

Lets see how next week lecture will look like

You are welcome 😊
The next course is already out🤭💃💃💃

Time to learn new recipe hahahahhaaaaa

Absolutely!💯🥳

Let's give it a try

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57932.25
ETH 2469.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37