Zeke's Family Garden - Challenging!

family garden.jpg

I haven't garden blogged in 9 days! Seems I am always marveling at how long it has been between branded columns. I think it is because life has a way of making time either fly or be unavailable, and I have so many critically acclaimed trademarks, I can't fit them all in!

This one is jumping ahead of a few I have chambered because I missed the last @simplymike #gardenjournal2019 challenge https://steemit.com/homesteading/@simplymike/steemit-community-garden-journal-challenge-june-2019-with-steem-bounty Another reason is because the weather seems to be taking to long to become hot and sunny and all my plants seem to be RUNTS! Well I will just macro photo them by jamming my iPhone up close to seem artistic and give the illusion of big plants. Don't tell anyone.

I have 2 raised boxes and a couple big flowerbeds I am slowly taking over to produce more....produce! You can check this year's lead up here https://steemit.com/gardening/@zekepickleman/outside-the-garden and here https://steemit.com/gardening/@zekepickleman/zeke-s-growing-garden

text16.png

IMG_6420.jpg

Starting with the green beans, I was impressed to see they are indeed growing, and scaling the stick I put in there a couple weeks ago. these worked well enough in a pot last year so I put them in the corner of the raised bed to see if more soil would promote better growth and yield. I love these vining veggies.

text16.png

IMG_6421.jpg

The little Nasturtium bed I made last year out of a short 2x4 and back of garden soil is going to be back this year. I include them here because they are edible flowers my little one likes to snack on right from the garden, and are also the COOLEST thing to shred up and add to a salad to be fancy. They were planted with the seeds produced last year and are in a battle with the thistles but I help out. Looks like they are sprouting just fine and we should have many different colours and blooms soon.

text16.png

IMG_6422.jpg

These Beefsteak tomatoes are small but mighty. I left a little room around them this year because they REALLY get bushy and can crowd each other out. I will also be using much thicker sticks to prop them up and let them climb because they get heavy when the big fruit grows.

text16.png

IMG_6424.jpg

Blog followers from last year might remember the weaselly little Asparagus I planted....only to be told soon after that they will take 3-4 years to grow to the point of being able to harvest any asparagus. The whole family eats them and they are great on the bbq. So, I kept them and will wait it out. You can see they are going quite nuts and I will take suggestions on how to contain them so they don't cover the whole box. ;)

text16.png

IMG_6425.jpg

I added Roma tomatoes this year because I discovered planting only beefsteak tomatoes leaves you with a HELL OF A LOT of tomatoes that don't freeze as well. Fresh, they will be great for sauces. When I get too many of them, I can freeze and preserve them for the winter months.

text16.png

IMG_6426.jpg

Another new addition this year is carrots. I wanted to make sure I had enough soil for them to grow down and become big. I planted them indoors early and probably didn't have to as the seeds just sprouted when sewn outdoors. I have a really big row of them probably too close together so we will see how that turns out. They are doing rather well and are so soft on top.

text16.png

IMG_6427.jpg

This is the humble beginnings of my cucumbers. They are barely awake and my dreams of english cucumbers and pickles/relish seemed to be in peril. Knowing that each of these will grow into a nice vine is comforting but I may go buy some more mature seedlings this year. Need lots!

text16.png

IMG_6428.jpg

My Ghost Pepper plant is doing alright. I don't think they grow as tall as jalapeno or chili peppers but there are some nice branches which will hopefully produce some really hot ones for my hot sauce, and seeds for next year.

text16.png

IMG_6430.jpg

The Jalapeno plant is probably a foot tall now and has doubled in size. It even has some blooms that will soon become peppers. Probably the closest plant to producing anything and encouragingly leading my bed of peppers. I like to slice these onto burgers and will use them for the hot sauce and pepper relish.

text16.png

IMG_6431.jpg

My sweet green peppers as still a little runty. I do remember them being a little slower last year as well and hopefully the increase sun will help them do even better this year. I tried growing orange and yellow peppers last year but never got them to wander much from green which they start out as. So, I just went for green this year.

text16.png

IMG_6433.jpg

Habaneros are new this year as well and will add flavour, colour and heat to a hot sauce for sure. They probably end up smaller than the jalapeno plants but seem to be off to a really slow start. Peppers need heat though and that is around the corner.

text16.png

IMG_6434.jpg

The chilies look happy and healthy and are probably just pleased they don't have the tomatoes hogging the sunlight this year. Can't wait to chop up some for stir fry and to add a little ZING to tomato sauces.

text16.png

IMG_6436.jpg

This is the third year for these raspberry plants. They started out really modestly and didn't produce a berry til last year. This year, they are going nuts like my steem gardeners told me they would. I will be containing them and tieing them up so they don't spread everywhere. As you can see, I should have a metric ass-load of berries this year.

text16.png

IMG_6437.jpg

Last but not least, I have my @lostandconfused plant. She was a follower last year I enjoyed and named a mystery plant (that turned out to be a sunflower) after her. It was planted probably by my little one and seemed a little lost and mysterious until it finally produced a flower. This is the same and looks like a sunflower at this point. We will see and track its brave performance and development here as we go. Hope you are doing well!

text16.png

As I mentioned at the outset, a pretty modest start for the garden this year.So, it looks as though I have been treating the garden like my cryptos lately: looking at the weather and not paying too close attention for the lack of growth! I am encouraged with both lately and it is always great to get outside to garden.

text16.png

What grows in your garden?

zekepickleman.jpg

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Looks like you will have a decent harvest soon enough... raspberries would be pretty great, we have blackberries... not so much last year, but like you... hoping for more this year! Fresh (and frozen) home made tomato sauce is the best! Especially if you have a pasta machine to make fresh pasta as well....

We have those raspberries and a mulberry tree which makes me think I should make some jam if the yield is enough.

Pasta machine huh? I might have to look into that when we yield enough sauce veggies as we eat lots of pasta in this family. Thanks!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Give it a go... it is quick and easy!

What a beautiful garden! Love the raised beds, so much easier on the back, lol Lovely soil, it looks like you're going to have amazing garden goodies this year :)

I hope so! The raised beds were intended to keep the rabbits out as I see those furry shnooks probably everyday.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It always amazes me how cucumbers crawl along branches and ropes)) It's so beautiful!

Yah. The aggressive surviving and thriving by always climbing and reaching new heights. Inspirational.

Posted using Partiko iOS

The growth is good and you got a good set of garden...evergreen👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it doesn’t seem like I have too much til I realize I have 14 pictures to post in a garden update. Hopefully some red soon.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Not many weeds in that garden

I think it might be the selective photographing. There are some persistent thistles, dandelions, and these crazy native viny things that never stop popping up.

I try and assign the picking of those to the chicks with varying success.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I just love the baby plants. Theur leaves look so green and adorable. Is that weird to say? Your garden is lovely and i cant wait to see what all your garden gives.
Ren

Yah I have a soft spot for the little sprouts too but like to see them get up and go! I hope they take off soon and I will always have pictures of them as babies.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yay! They may all be small now, but often the best things come from humble beginnings. It all looks really healthy, so hopefully they'll all sprout up soon. I've definitely got raspberry envy! I'll be excited to see how many you get off that great looking plant. We keep finding more acorn squash hidden underneath the ever-expanding bed of vines and leaves, so I think that might be our biggest producer this year.

I failed to mention the secret planting of pumpkin and watermelon my little one has made. Those ground vine fruits and veggies tend to flourish and I may have to deal with that like you.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Love it! We have some pumpkin seeds to plant in a bit for the fall, so I hope they grow just as well!

🎁 Hi @zekepickleman! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I’m growing some beefsteak myself just pulled a couple off. That plant has already out grown the cage I was using for it. Been dealing with a lot of rain as recent and some white flies. I’m hoping the plant gets a few days to dry out.

GL on your garden looks like you have a great start.

You must be well south of me because I bet I don’t get my first beefsteak for a month and a half.

I plant marigolds in the garden and spread a little bone meal to fend off some of the pests. Not sure if that is a placebo but you may try that!

We learn together.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I just tried the marigolds in a test planter this year. So far it is going great. Only notice one leaf that had a single hole in it on the bell peppers with it. Tempted to get more for everything else.

You have a lot of things working in your garden Zeke. Plus these photos make me want to add more items to our garden. Great job! 🙏

Ah yes! That was my hope. To inspire people to grow more because if Zeke can do it, anyone can!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45