Steemit Community Garden Journal Challenge March 2019, My Entry

in #gardenjournal20195 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians and gardenjournal community,

I am back for March. Unfortunately I missed the February edition because I was busy and away from home attending leadership seminar.
If you want to join pls see this link. I know it is late
https://steemit.com/gardenjournal2019/@simplymike/steemit-community-garden-journal-challenge-march-steem-bounty

65m1fqj0vk.jpg
I utilized the small area of our home near the kitchen and lined it up with used styrofoam containers. On the photo I was preparing the soil after weeding out the previous wilted vegetables. See how narrow the space is? In the future I will put the grape seedling here which is slowly creeping and growing. I am hoping it will provide some shade but I won't show the grape yet.
58zotpkgp0.jpg
Here we got few sacks of soil. We got them from the mountain. So one sack is fertilizer and the other mountain soil. My husband has access to nearby mountain where he bought the soil from local farmers. As you can see I am using the small area in front of our little house which doubles as my potting area.
0nkww5sfxq.jpg

a66f4cb8050e9941549132a9f7fd60de.0.jpg
This is a lemon grass that we use to add flavor to some dish. Here it is growing on a pot but I remember they thrive in the wild or even on roadsides.
313aceeb3548a5ff2dd087708f7423a4.0.jpg
In front of me ( 3rd photo) is a small banana tree I wonder if this will grow tall. On the box I have squash seedlings and one local shrub we call talinum the leaves of which we use on our soup dishes.
e08c271e95df48dc020b7ab987b2a2ab.0.jpg
Most plants I have this month are ornamental. The vegetables all wilted but most we consumed. This is how my garden looks like. Despite the hot humid weather and scarcity in water these plants survived. It is now summer here in the Philippines and it is not easy keeping a garden to thrive.

Sorry guys, we don't have internet connection for few days and if ever the service is back it is either slow or limited making it difficult to upload photos. Thank you @simplymike for this initiative I know I am posting on the contest payout date already. Nevertheless I want my fellow garden enthusiasts to see my little garden. Hope you like it.

Thanks and keep gardening
Gus

Belated birthday greetings to you @simplymike

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @pastoragus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58387.03
ETH 2359.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37