Nomad Garden Journal November

in #gardenjournal20186 years ago (edited)

This chapter in the Nomad Garden Journal is again in the same Italian Alpine Garden as my last month!
And again I post this for the amazing contest by @simplymike #gardenjournal2018
This was my last month in Italy as I will go to Denmark in less than a week, in search to get my own garden!
This is the garden belonging to the parents of my partner, and most of the credits for this wonderful garden should be given to Patrizia and Roberto.

November

.. has been amazing! Warm Indian Summer days, with blue skies, and then suddenly, a less amazing big storm came and knocked down thousands of trees and bridges and roads, and massive amounts of water flooded the rivers. But the garden got through it alright!
Just today we woke up to the first signs of frost and decided it was time to harvest the last of all the non-frost resistant crops!
I got some photos before the harvest though, and here is how November's magic Italian Alp Garden looks like!

DSCF1445.JPG
The radishes we sowed in early October! They came out really good and big!

DSCF1463.JPG
These are also some of the biggest leeks i ever saw! They don't look that big on this picture though -but I love the dancing sun particles ;P

DSCF1443.JPG
Also the photo of this Green Cauliflower doesn't do it justice! It is huge! Around 30cm in diameter, it's crazy! The other ones we harvested were more normal size..!

DSCF1444.JPG
Fennel is such a beautiful vegetable..!

DSCF1462.JPG
The mixed wheat field coming up nicely. Gonna over winter to grow next year

DSCF1471.JPG
Can you believe all these sweet peppers still in November!

DSCF1469.JPG
Radicchio - sorry for the turned photo. I love the pattern it makes when cut. Flower of life!:
DSCF1470.JPG

DSCF1473.JPG
Look at this beautiful cabbage - one of the frost resistant crops that got to stay out for a bit together with the leeks :)

DSCF1467.JPG
Not much to see yet, but under the mulch we planted a lot of garlic to come up next year!

DSCF1468.JPG
Baby leaf salad

DSCF1483.JPG
Willow and his grandparents harvesting salad. It's harvested with roots and soil so it will stay fresh longer, in the cool of the basement, but away from the frost
DSCF1487.JPG

DSCF1488.JPG
Lots and lots of celery

DSCF1475.JPG
And that was it - the sun is getting scarcer and scarcer here these days! It comes for 10 minutes in the morning, then goes behind the mountain and shows up again for around an hour in the afternoon. But by the 28th of November, it won't show up at all for two months! That's why the winters are extra hard on perennials here.

Next day edit!

it was good we got everything in yesterday!
20181118_115234.jpg

Thank you for coming to the garden with me!

And thank you for stopping by! <3


@frejafri

20180516_002249_0001.png

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Thats awesome! The most rebellious thing you can do is to grow your own food 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! This is all really beautiful. Thanks for providing a glimpse into an Italian Alpine Garden. I hope you find the perfect place to plant your roots (and seeds) in Denmark.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

If I only had a arden.. I would plant a lot ❤️

Awesome ❤️❤️❤️
If I only had a garden.. I would plant a lot ❤️

Another amazing update, @frejafri. It's hard to imagine that garden is located in the same continent as mine. Except for the last picture, of course, it looks like full summer.

Again, you thought me something. I never thought of harvestig salad with roots and soil so they would preserve longer.

And you've got to tell me the secret of growing normal size cauliflower. These last couple of years, I've harvested radishes as big as my cauliflowers - or should I say cauliflowers as small as radishes. I have a picture somewhere on my laptop, I'll show you when I have set it up later today.

Thanks again for this wonderful contribution the the Garden Journal challenge. I was a little worried I wouldn't get an entry, because I think I remember promising you to launch the challenge a week ago, lol

The salad with the roots was new for me too! But it's so smart! Now there are 4 big boxes of fresh salad in the basement. They should keep good around a month, but since they don't get much light, they won't just be growing on of course, but it's a really good idea!
I really don't know what made that cauliflower so big! We never had much luck with cauliflowers in the past either. I think this has been a really good year for this place, because many things came out particularly good this year... I didn't plant these, so I can't tell you the detailed secrets ;P
Haha, no you posted the contest perfect timing for me! I am leaving in 2 days :)

Glad I made it just in time :0)\n\nSafe travel! Debmark was it, if I'm not mistaking, right?! Enjoy the trip.

Posted using Partiko Android

yes Denmark! trying to see if we can buy this piece of land in the forest, that would be amazing! But we have to make a secret bid and hope we are the highest bidders :S Should get the answer by tomorrow, hopefully, I'm so nervous!

I'll keep my fingers crossed :0)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63557.03
ETH 3400.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44