Nomad Garden Journal - October

in #gardenjournal20186 years ago (edited)

I decided it was time to participate in @simplymike's Garden Journal Challenge!
I have followed the Garden Journals on the side and many times wanted to participate, but since I still don't have my own garden :'( I thought I couldn't really.. But since I've done a lot of garden work in the garden of Roberto's parents where we have been staying for September + October, and follow the plants and flowers as closely as if it was my own garden, I thought I'll share a bit too this time!

DSCF1098.JPG
full moon is getting near.. :)

So this garden is situated at 700 mt above sea level in a small valley in the Italian Alps. The spring was cold and rainy, but the Autumn has been unusually hot and sunny, so we are still enjoying nice warm days and the garden is still very much alive and giving!

DSCF1100.JPG
here the flower and herbs bed, with happy nasturciums crawling about

DSCF1102.JPG
Field of mixed ancient types of wheat and spelt that we sowed last month. They are coming up nicely now, and will then hibernate over the winter to then keep growing in spring

DSCF1107.JPG
Radishes and salad just planted a few weeks ago and the radishes are already ready to eat, they grow so fast!

DSCF1106.JPG
"frigitelle", a type of sweet peppers that has given so much this year!

DSCF1108.JPG
this is radicchhio, they are super bitter now, but will close up and make a nice cone of radicchio inside, which is less bitter because it grows in the dark - similar to belgian endives, it just doesn't need to be covered, since it's covered by the leaves themselves

DSCF1109.JPG
This kale is so giving and so delicious! I don't know the name in English (in italian Black Kale and in Danish Palm Kale

DSCF1110.JPG
"Cardo", family of artichokes, but not artichokes.. Apparently you eat the stem, but these ones went to flower too quick.. beautiful though!

DSCF1114.JPG
Zucchinis are still giving!

DSCF1113.JPG
The pumpkins are hiding all over!

So lucky to be able to harvest all these goods from the garden I didn't even start and amazing that we have had the chance to plant things and already harvest in such short time!

DSCF1115.JPG

Thank you for stopping by! <3


@frejafri

20180516_002249_0001.png

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

How cool to get an insight into an Italian garden and the varieties there!!! In English I call that kale Tuscan kale or kale negro!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I am a fanatic lover of black kale: I eat it raw, yum yum! 😜

@frejafri, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Congratulations @frejafri! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow, what an impressive garden. And you still got so much going on. I'm really jealous now, lol. My garden is as good as empty, except for the cabbages, the root vegetables and a couple of sweet pepper plants. Everything else was killed by a mysterious, but contagious pest. So my season ended earlier than expected.

That radicchhio and those cardo stems intrigue me. I have a thing for veggies and fruits I'm not familiar with. Now, I'm not such a fan of endives, so the radicchhio is probably not a very good idea... I couldn't find anything about cardo. I'm guessing it's Spanish or Italian for 'cardoon' or 'artichoke thistle'. I never heard of it before, so I've put it on my wishlist for next year. I've already got Jerusalem artichoke and Chinese artichoke, so I think it might be a good idea to start collecting more kinds of artichokes.

Thanks for your entry, and even more for introducing me to new veggies to experiment with.

sad to hear that! yes it's pretty amazing this year, i even forgot to share the basil with 6 cm long juicy leaves! In mid october outdoor!
I am not too familiar with the "cardo" myself I must admit - and yes I just shared the Italian word as that's how i know it! We just ate it once and it was pretty mild the taste... It takes up quite a lot of space for what we've used it, but it was also just an experiment of Roberto's mother..
I really love the radicchio, but it's quite bitter raw. They use it a lot here, for salads, on pizza, and also cooked in risotto, in stir fries and the like. It's nice because it's a late season - into winter - fresh crop.
But if you don't like endives, it might not be the best choice :)

Gosh, your garden is absolutely looking delightful (and delicious)!! I'd love to try those sweet peppers and those kale leaves, too <3 Beautiful post!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wow! It must be so wonderful staying up in the mountains lol that! Garden looking so yummy 😋

This is the reason why you are in Dolomites :) Now I understand.. It's a lovely garden with beautiful views. You are lucky to be spending time over there :)

Beautiful garden! So many is still growing, which side of the world are you in if I may ask @frejafri?

Thank you! in North Italy 700 mt up in the Dolomites Mountains :)

Wow, that's very detail of you, thanks for sharing!
I'm from Malaysia, so it's all hot and raining season all year long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63557.03
ETH 3400.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44