Finally some Raspberries here in Northern Ontario.

in #gardening6 years ago

I've been so jealous watching everyone's berry photos over the last month or so. Our seasons come so late up north here, and I should probably just be happy we can still grow as much as we can around here, but it didn't stop me from being jealous.

Maybe all your seasons are over now and you'll be jealous of us....lol.

IMG_6867.JPG

This may actually turn into one big jealousy post, since I'm going to admit this is actually my sisters berry patch as our is pretty pathetic this year.

IMG_6868.JPG

I wish she know what variety these are because they are massive berries, they take amazing, they are super productive and grow like stink.

IMG_6866.JPG

There is her whole patch in crappy soil right next too her house in only a couple years. I can not believe the suckers these things put out too. I've been there twice now and dug probably 2 dozen to replant at my own place and they are still popping up and very far away!

IMG_6871.JPG

It's hard to see in this photo but I tried to show at the bottom right chair leg there is one growing up here. They are also already a few along that fence at the back of the photo too. Really in a couple more years she can have a patch all around that whole fence. And in pretty lame sandy soil too. (although maybe that helps with spreading in this case, not sure)

I'm excited and hope they take over our yard this much as well, it's so great to be able to make such a big plant with only a few starter plants.

IMG_6874.JPG

Here's one row of our patch. It needs a good weeding and conditioning. Unfortunately this spring my wife cut back all the plants so we don't have any berry growth this year, but now it just means next year should be a massive crop. These are all wild raspberries that we're growing all over the property when we moved in. They are much smaller fruit, then my sisters, but it's fun to have different varieties and something more natural.

Looking forward to my next chance to sneak over to my sisters and raid her patch!

Sort:  

Don't worry so much, over here in Alberta we are the same, the fruits are just beginning to form, it's been so dry this year again. Your patch starting to look good , don't forget to give it a bit of compost, this will mulch and feed your patch, then water heavy if you can afford it. jijiji

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

backyard raspberries are the best!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 17.12% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You have been defended with a 54.55% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint.

my god those look delicious id try one.

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @phelimint!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

nice post eagerly waiting for more
follow me to get amamizng food benefits i am a food blogger

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by PheliMint from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67467.65
ETH 3470.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71