HOPS - UPDATE PLUS OTHER USES

in #gardening6 years ago

They are really growing, and are already taller than I am!


I am wondering how well my gorwing technique will work this year, and it seems like I am off to a good start. After having these plants in five gallon buckets for the past two years, I've finally got them in the dirt!

About two months ago, I hooked up the chains between the trees to support these plants, and now I just released the update video.

HOPS UPDATE VIDEO

QUICK PHOTO UPDATE FOR THE NON-VIDEO PEOPLE

After two years in the buckets, these plants we ready for the soil. When we planted them, I wanted to do a really good job, so I pulled in the heavy artillery.

The backhoe attachment on the front end loader worked a lot better than a shovel or post-hole digger, and it sure saved time too. Now, the plants are happily growing in their new home!

A lot of these are growing great and getting higher every day. I expect this to be a thick wall of green in about another month, but some are already taller than I am and almost reaching the chain already!!! These are one of the biggest, greenest things in the garden so far this year, and some are already making hops cones too.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-hops-growing-and-growing

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

It's nice to see your hop plants in the ground and thriving, @papa-pepper! I eat a lot of hop shoots in the spring - and I have some delicious Pickled Hop Shoots ready now, too! Eating the springtime hop shoots is one advantage that home growers have over commercial operations - we can afford to harvest all those hop shoots by hand, through the season.

For anyone interested in eating hop shoots, here's a post with 5 ways to eat hop shoots and I have a YouTube video with more about that, too. And here's one way to use the hop cones -- Hop Mac and Cheese.

Happy hop growing! They are such monster plants -- I'm excited to see what your hop wall looks like by August!

Full power upvote for visibility! Thanks so much for everything!

You're welcome, @papa-pepper! I enjoyed your recent Greenbrier foraging post, too!

That one was thanks to you! I never knew until you came along!

This is super cool @papa-pepper :) I wish to use your hop in my homemade beer some day ;) Can I ask you is this any of most known American kinds? Or just some "no-name" kind?

Cascade, Chinook, Golding & Sterling... some are pretty common.

Maybe they are common, but they're doing a great job with the beer. I know and use Cascade and Chinook mostly. And in general, American hops are the best ones.

Excellent, that good idea, agriculture and gardening are two areas very pretty and very productive,congratulations @ papa-pepper, go ahead in such a beautiful project.

Wow...this is a great harvest coming already with a good start.

After having these plants in five gallon buckets for the past two years, I've finally got them in the dirt!

This statement meant something different to me...
Some people need to start engaging the seeds that they have, if they will be expecting any harvest!

Thanks @papa-pepper
Keep steeming!

howdy papa-pepper very interesting information, I didn't know that anyone used Hops for anything but beer so thanks for the education, your's look awesomely healthy!

Nice papa. You operate that big ole backhoe by yourself by yourself ??

Sure do! but Monster Truck supervises...

Sure do! but Monster Truck supervises...

Wow...this is a great harvest coming already with a good start.

After having these plants in five gallon buckets for the past two years, I've finally got them in the dirt!

This statement meant something different to me...
Some people need to start engaging the seeds that they have, if they will be expecting any harvest!

Thanks @papa-pepper
Keep steeming!

That's plant papa
They grows unexpectedly before you know and it's because of your good work out hadn't been you didn't plant them well or just plant them anyhow,they may not grow well

Lol
They are already taller than you are lol
That’s the joy of it
Just like a child , growing taller than his father
It always a great joy for a son to be more successful than father
It shows that you have done a good job with the plant @papa-pepper

WoW! These hops really like where you planted them. I need to get me some rhizomes...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80