MAKING PROGRESS ON THE HOPS SETUP

in #homesteading6 years ago

With a good helper, and a great machine, this went rather well!


Perhaps it is a bit of overkill, but I want to have this last a while if it works. You may remember that a couple weeks ago I was starting to get this set up. Now, some of the hops are planted and my experiment has officially begun!

DIGGING WORKS BETTER THIS WAY

With my chain already up in the trees, it was time to get the hops plants in the ground. I had begun to dig a hole a while back with a shovel, but then I thought it would be time to work smarter and use one of the resources that I had available. This front-end loader with the backhoe attachment sure does come in handy.

If you notice the buckets in the forefront of the picture, you'll see that the hops are ready to be planted. They are waking up for the year and are eager to grow this season. It is amazing how well they have done the past couple years in these five gallon buckets, and I am pleased to now be able to release them into the wild!

IMG_0507.JPG

Since we have a high level of rock and clay in the "soil" here, the backhoe attachment saved a lot of time in digging these holes. Not only was it much easier, I was able to go much deeper too. This helps, because although the rhizomes do not need to be buried this deep, having deeper holes allows me to loosen the soil beneath the plants and add organic material to enrich the soil.

Obviously, these were some large holes! Check out how big this one is compared to Monster Truck! Trust me, I would not have made one this big by hand, so I am glad that the machine encouraged me to!

TIME TO PLANT

IMG_0514.JPG

As I mentioned earlier, the first step for me was to enrich the soil and add some soil amendments. Since I have a lot of rabbit manure on hand, that is what I started with. This will create a rich source of fertilizer deep beneath the plants, so as the roots grow, they will have plenty to feed the plant with. I also mixed in some compost, alternating layers of rabbit manure, clay, and compost.

This photo shows how root-bound the hops plants had become. They are still alive and well, but they were ready to be able to spread out and growing on their own, without restrictions. At least they were easy to remove from the buckets and replant.

Beneath the chain and somewhat South from it, we planted our first row of hops. The larger root-bound ones were planted as is, while smaller ones were spaced out and placed in-between the others. With the loose soil beneath them full of compost and rabbit manure, the roots should have plenty of room to spread out beneath the surface of the earth.

NOW FOR THE SUPPORT

IMG_0530.JPG

Once the plants were in place, I moved the front-end loader beneath the chain. A ladder could have probably been use as well, but I think that this was a better option, and I did not have a ladder at the moment.

Here is my helper Monster Truck the Pepper bringing over some wire. It is a heavy roll, but not beyond his capabilities, so he's pleased to help out where he can.

For the next step in the process we gathered the wire, some sections of angle iron, and some snips. The wire was left over from another project, and the angle iron was scrap that I was re-purposing. I like to reuse old and discarded items whenever possible, so this was one more opportunity.

By standing on top of the front-end loader, I was able to reach the chain and pull the wires through. We pounded the angle iron into the earth and secured the wire to it. By placing the hops to the South of where the chain is located, the hops bines will be able to grow up the wire to the chain without blocking their own sun.

Hopefully this will just be one green wall of hops bines and cones by the end of the season. Again, this is just an experiment for us, but I am hopeful about the results. Either way, I'll keep you posted. So far, it looks like it could be a winner!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-progress-and-a-little-helper

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Beautiful .. for more creative work
Great post from you
Thanks for sharing

this is a very tiring job I salute you.you do this very well,Behind your rearing you will get very good results
Good luck always for you my friend @papa-pepper.

You're a good helper Monster Truck. We love you!

Thanks Dad!

Good job! Its seems a tiring job and really it is but in the end reward is great as well.

Hi @papa-pepper sorry I haven't comment on anything in the last few days, I have been moving house and with no internet and just my mobile it is kid of hard to keep up with steemit.
I thought I should let you know that one project with the new house is it has come with a little bit of land.
this is going to be my own piece of freedom from the world, It won't be ready this year as there is a lot to do on it but I am going to try and post as much as I can to show what I am doing.
This plot is inspired by you my friend and when its done I have a little surprise for you not saying what yet but I think that you are going to love it.
lots of steem love to you and yours
@artonmysleeve

Weldon sir papa great work you are doing over there. How is family

Working smart with the back hoe...What is hops used for, making beer?

There are many other uses, but many do use hops as a bittering agent in beer.

What are you going to use Hops for...feed to your live stocks?

Very good job Sir, you are really good at choosing an easy way and this is smart thinking.
Is the front-end loading with this backhoe attachment yours or leased?

It is a friend's who lets me use it!

Very nice. The hops should grow well like that and produce a very heavy dense canopy. I have thought about using large mess wire instead of tin roofing and make a large lean to and plant hops to grow up the mesh. If healthy it should get so thick it would even block out lots of rain like a living roof that still produces. What type of tractor is that I have not seen one like that in a long time. The good ones last forever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23