Why Would You EAT THIS WEED?! ~ But Lots Of People Do! - Plus Jaimie and Salsa Finished 📷 [MY VIDEO inside]

It's poisonous but people eat it!

There is a plant that grows in the Ozarks that the locals eat every year. I totally don't get it. It's labeled by all agriculture authorities as poisonous...and yet they say its edible...sort of. Many of the locals around here eat it every year and every year I'm cutting it down and trying to get rid of it on my homestead.

It's way too much work. To make the plant safe to eat, you have to boil it at least twice but preferably 3 times pouring off and adding new water each time.

At the time of year this plant is growing in the spring and summer, there are literally dozens of wild edible options that you can eat raw if you choose. Not to mention your regular garden. WHY ON EARTH WOULD YOU EAT THIS?

I'm genuinely curious. Please help me out.


div.jpg

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

glyphsolar.jpg EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR glyphsolar.jpg

Sort:  

Now I'm actually just really curious to try it and see what it tastes like!!! Is it like a status thing, like eating really hot chilis to prove how hard you are? Like Chuck Norris is so hard he eats poke weed? Or maybe it's a really delicious delicacy (bearing in mind most 'delicacies' are often thought of as kind of disgusting upon first encounter - jellied moose nose anyone?). Maybe there's some sort of cultural identity being maintained through the practice? why don't you ask your neighbours why and then you can report back. Steem on!

BTW, I am tagging you in the foragingscavengerhunt1 steemitgame being run by @haphazard-hstead of the @foraging-trail (#FSH1-1).

I grew up eating this , every spring . I have always liked it . It does not have a distinct taste . Like mustard or collard greens , it's just a ' green ' . As kids , we always made ' ink ' out of the berries . Parents and teachers always liked how the ink lasted so long on our skin . ( sarcasm ) It's a Southern thing I guess .

Thank you Sue. Does it give you fond memories of childhood to eat it now?

Chuck Norris is so hardcore that when he picks pokeweed, the plant gets sick.

I'm assuming it dates back to the depression. It's just been passed down. There are a lot of family landowners around here who's ancestors settled this area over 100 years ago. So when you couldn't buy food, you had to do what you needed to and survive.

Waow - so cool that they're continuing those traditions. A lot of places people don't like to be seen eating "famine foods" as they aspire to be seen as the well-off types that buy food.

btw, Chuck Norris can pick oranges from an apple tree and make the best lemonade youve ever tasted.

its correctly called (poke sallet) You have to pick it when the plant is really young that's when its the least toxic. The second Saturday of May each year the town of Blanchard Louisiana has a Poke Salad Festival.

http://www.roadsideamerica.com/tip/8527

Thank you it was very interesting.

To each his own....I will try it next spring and even do it on video. I may try the berries and a number of people have told me they eat them for lots of reasons like arthritis.

That is the wierdest thing I've heard of and that is saying something because I grew up with fried dandelions.

I think I'd be quicker to try fried dandelions...I bet they've never killed anyone.

It actually tasted pretty decent, but like anything else fried seasoning was probably the bulk of the flavor. Fried grasshoppers were good too, but now I know they are unclean food so I refrain.

I have a bunch of dandelion greens in the fridge now . Looks like Sunday dinner .

I've never had dandelion greens. How do you prepare them

It would have to taste REALLY, REALLY good to want to chance it and go through that much effort. And I'll be surprised if @haphazard-hstead doesn't chime in on this post. Up-voted and re-steemed.

Hey one more thing, I read this interesting and misguided article about homesteaders on ZeroHedge this morning, and thought you might like it:

http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2017-08-02/forbes-says-self-reliant-homesteaders-are-delusional-and-mooching-civil-society

I'm glad to be back home and on Steemit, so I can comment on this, for sure! I have picked and eaten a lot of pokeweed. I don't understand why people would not eat pokeweed, lol!

We did a blog on this very thing twelve days ago! Spoiler.. we eat it!

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@clarkfarmstead/poke-weed-wild-edibles

a trick i learned working in kitchens for burns, mustard! no pain, no blisters - cheers! :)

Interesting! I will try and remember that!

Honey works really good too for burns!

I know the berries (2-3) if swallowed whole are used for arthritis. And yes I grow it. Sharing to get others to chime in!

Wow, there are so many warnings online to not eat the berries...Its so weird the discrepancy.

Is it possible that it gives some kind of drug effect? Like mushrooms people eat for hallucinogenic effects. There was those magic mushrooms growing behind my school. The fist sized mushrooms with waxy white spots. The white spots were the supposed to be Strychnine, but that part was a myth apparently. It was said that you are supposed to scrape the white spots off. Kids went to the hospital because they just ate them without removing the dots. I suppose removing the dots reduces the potency. According to wiki they have "psychedelic compounds psilocybin, psilocin and baeocystin". I suppose that is a poison at too high a dose.
So maybe boiling this weed is something like that?
There's got to be a reason. LOL, maybe it tastes good?

Btw, I watch a lot of new2torah. This steemit thing is a little hard to navigate. I hope they make it a little easier. I agree, we need to get away from youtube, even as myself not being a content provider, I would fully switch and as the Bible says, not look back.
I'd like to see new2torah on here too.

I agree the Steemit is really hard to work with.

The difference is swallowed whole not chewed...

Love Jaimie's salsa!

I found it on the edge of one of my fields, but had to look up what it was first. It caught my attention because of the berries. I mentioned it to a coworker and they told me that some people eat it in salads (aptly named poke salad, go figure.. ). I don't have any intention of ever messing with the stuff.

I've had so many comments saying that people eat it that i may try it. If I die on camera...maybe it will be my first video that goes viral. :)

Bahaha don't die! We call it poke salad in north ga but we boil it three times. Tastes a lot like collards to me, stinks up the house when you cook it. Not sure why folks started eating it- I'd hate to be the person who figured out you need to boil is so much before eating!

And what the heck are collard greens?! Lol. I grew up in Wisconsin and have been in Texas for 6 years now and still haven't tried it (them?).

I love the style of headcovering Jamie is wearing these days! The one in this video is one of my favorite. Does she make them herself? If so I'd love the pattern. If not, where does she buy them? Our garden was horrible this year so I will have to buy the ingredients for the salsa, but I look forward to trying it! Thanks!

Many of them she makes herself. Maybe we'll do a video on that.

I'd LOVE that!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76