Farm Update: Free Range Hens Love Compost

in #gardening6 years ago

We moved a lot of our chickens over to what will be a good friend's house, once they arrive. In the meantime we've filled it with chickens and ducks to allow them some good free range time and they've loved it. I took them some compost and took these shots!

The ones in this picture are out of a flock of 15 really pretty chicks we purchased. They ended up looking like this and it seems like we got lucky and picked all females, if not most of them. There are no clear roosters in this batch and more than 10 confirmed hens, based on the size of their vent and the numbers of eggs we've been getting.

They went nuts over what I brought them. That same flock follows me around when I come in, regardless of if I have food. They've even jumped into my lap unprovoked. Sweet birds!















That's enough chicken madness for one day, thanks for looking!

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Farm Update: Chicken Babies Have Hatched!
Farm Updates: New Silie Night House Shots
Farm Update Steady Duck Egg Production

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Anarchaforko for Dummies Trailer
Jungle Shots: Pink Pineapples
Hecho en Acapulco Coconut Blossom Sustainable Produced Honey Review and Photos

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Such a cocky post.
Chicks amiright?

LOL.I think that they can eat a person :)

Chicken-Driving-Car.gif

amazing post my steemit friend wish you good luk thank you

Fotonya bagus

Wow!! This is very beautiful. You are so kind. For this reason you love gardening. I appreciate. All hens are healthy and cute. Thanks for sharing.

this is very nice. how many type of chicken here?

chicken eating eggs? Isn't that cannibalism ?

Egg shells are actually really good for chickens, makes for thicker shells

beautiful , i have also 5 hen in my House

Great photo...in hobby gardening best i mine.your activity is good
keep it up

I never knew that but It is good to know in case I ever get some chickens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66892.02
ETH 3513.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67