Farm Update: Chicken Babies Have Hatched!

in #gardening6 years ago

WE GOT CHICKEN BABIES!

All of Sizzle (the white one) and Judd's hard work paid off, in the form of two baby chickens today. They've been sitting on five eggs for nearly a month and still have one left under them. So far we've had no success from the incubator that was started before these hens went broody.

We took them and put them in here, with heat lamps and plenty of food and fresh water. They've been lively all day, eating and drinking and sleeping mostly, with the occasional peck to one another. One day in and they're already fighting, typical chicken stuff.

They basically need to stay in here for a few weeks until they're older then they'll be put out for short durations, just like the silkies.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Farm Updates: New Silkie Night House Shots
Farm Update: Steady Duck Egg Production
Farm Update: Still Ducking Around with Eggs

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Jungle Shots: Pink Pineapples
Hecho en Acapulco Coconut Blossom Sustainably Produced Honey Review and Photos
Adventures Around Acapulco: Mid City Car Show 2

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Hi @lily-da-vine, how beautiful are the chicks on your farm. An incubator can never compete with a chicken! hahahaha. It is usually only the hen who lays the eggs. I think it's interesting that the rooster is there too. How did you get the rooster to contribute, too?

That's not the rooster but a best female friend. They've lived together almost a year now lol

Two chickens cramming! much better. I hope you have lots of babies! Greetings @lily-da-vine

Congratulations! We had a calf today! Well, our cow did. :) Spring is in the air!

Oh wow, congrats to YOU!

we also have chickens. When chicks hatch I forget everything bad in the world. so cute

very beautiful..cute cocks

cute photos...great photography!!!

I love seeing cocks and hens.

I'm not sure if this is a joke LOL

thank you for the post
It is always a pleasure to read you.

Waw. Very cute. I like it.
Amazing photography..

Good photos, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste, you have my vote :D greetings

Hi @lily-da-vine, Sizzle and Judd seem like very nice parents :D. Great article and touching photos. Yesterday I found you on the category garderning since I was posting about mine as well. I can tell you that I am happy that there are more people working with goods of nature out here. Will be coming back. All the best, @keyss.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43