Getting to Know Herbs: Dandelion

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Often considered a pesky weed in North America, it has high nutritional value. A bitter tonic and powerful diuretic, this ubiquitous plant is well-suited for treating indigestion, hepatic congestion and water retention. Its depurative properties act on acne, arthritis and boils. The medicinal extract is made from the roots which are harvested in the fall.


Photo by @krnel

The scientific botanical name for the common dandelion is Taraxacum officinale. Other names include Blowball, Cankerwort, Cochet, Couronne de Moine, Dandelion Extract, Dandelion Herb, Délice Printanier, Dent-de-Lion, Diente de Leon, Dudal, Endive Sauvage, Fausse Chicorée, Florin d’Or, Florion d’Or, Herba Taraxaci, Laitue de Chien, Leontodon taraxacum, Lion's Teeth, Lion's Tooth, Pisse au Lit, Pissenlit, Pissenlit Vulgaire, Priest's Crown, Pu Gong Ying, Salade de Taupe, Swine Snout, Taraxaci Herba, Taraxacum, Taraxacum dens-leonis, Taraxacum vulgare, Tête de Moine, Wild Endive.


H. Zell/wikimedia, CC BY-SA 3.0

Key Points

  • each flower can have 54 to 172 seeds
  • one plant can produce more than 5,000 seeds per year
  • very nutritious plant to feed off of in a survival situation
  • effective diuretic

History

Unlike many other botanical names coming from Latin or Greek roots, it's thought that Taraxacum comes from Arabic origin through the word 'tarakhshagog' (or 'tarakhshaqūn') which refers to this bitter herb. However, it may also be related to a Greek word, tarasso, which means to disturb.

Where is it found?

Originally native to Europe and Asia, dandelion was imported to America as a food crop, believe it or not. It's not spread and become a naturalized plant in North America, South America, southern Africa, New Zealand, Australia and India.

They can be fond in most lawns and every other kind of habitat, from deep woods to cultivated fields to rocky hills, and everything between such as roadsides, shores and other moist soils.

What's it used for?

Dandelion is highly edible, but you might want to stick to tender young leaves for raw eating as they are less bitter than older ones. They can be cooked too. Blanching them will make hem less bitter but also reduce the vitamin and mineral content.

100g of the raw leaves provides 2.7g. protein, 9.2g. carbohydrate, 187mg Calcium, 66mg phosphorus, 3.1mg iron, 76mg sodium, 397mg potassium, 36mg magnesium, 14000iu vitamin A, 0.19mg vitamin B1, 0.26mg vitamin B2, and 35mg vitamin C.

Roots can also be eaten raw or cooked, and have a turnip-like flavor. Roots of 2 year old plants can be dried and roasted for use as a coffee substitute, and it's caffeine free.

Flowers can also be eaten raw or cooked, but are also bitter. Flower buds can be used as fritters, and preserved in vinegar like capers. Flowers can be made into a tea (as can the leaves and roots), and used to make wine (the yellow part only).

Medicinally, all parts of the dandelion plant can be used. There are many uses, but their effectiveness is not proven "scientifically". This includes use for loss of appetite, upset stomach, intestinal gas, gallstones, joint pain, muscle aches, eczema, bruises, increase urine production and as a laxative to increase bowel movements. It can also be used as a skin toner, blood tonic, and digestive tonic. Dandelion has also been used to treat viral infections and cancer.

Are there any risks?

The only issue is for allergies. If you're allergic to ragweed and related plants (daisies, chrysanthemums, marigolds), then you might want to avoid dandelion.

Dandelion might affect how antibiotics are absorbed and decrease their effectiveness. Lithium also interacts with dandelion, decreasing the efficiency of getting rid of it and thereby increasing the amount of lithium that remains. Medications that are changed by the liver can also be affected as their breakdown can be decreased with this plant, increasing main and side effects of drugs. Dandelion can also act as a diuretic and increase the amount of potassium in the body.


References:


Previous posts on Getting to Know Herbs:
Feverfew | Lemon Balm | Hawthorn | Chickweed | Northern Bayberry | Lady's Mantle | Hyssop | Burdock | Catnip | Lavender | Yarrow | Marshmallow | Skullcap | Codonopsis (Poor Man's Ginseng) | Schisandra | Rhodiola | Canadian Goldenrod | German Chamomile | Blue Vervain | Blessed or Holy Thistle | Common Horehound | Cayenne | Ashwagandha | Gotu Kola | Common Verbana/Vervain | Holy Basil | Sweet Annie | Globe Artichoke | Butterfly Weed / Pleurisy Root | Joe-Pye Weed / Gravel Root | Valerian | Malva/Mallow | Boneset | Elecampane | Lungwort | Cramp Bark | Motherwort | Common Plantain | Eleuthero (Siberian ginseng) | Black Cohosh | Common Bearberry | Mahonia Mountain Grape (Oregon Grape) | Blue Cohosh | Goldenseal


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

When I was juicing I made up a large mason jar of dandelion leaf juice. It was very bitter. But I am so hard-core that I drank it all down to see how I would feel. I felt so frikkin amazing I went on a 10 mile walk immediately afterwards. The next day when I woke up I felt a gentle warm feeling in my stomach. Great for digestive problems. To this day I drink dandelion tea every day. Its really amazing and everyone should try this awesome and free plant. Pro-Tip: Don't pick any at the dog walking park!

Woa, sweet! I think I should try it too for digestive help hehe. Thanks for the tip too ;)

this past season I was able to harvest up some dandelions but not quite enough for my uses I had planned. I was able to make some dandelion salve and tincture but I wanted to gather up so much more because I wanted to try and make some dandelion wine... well, there's always next year, right?

Oh god, I went and collected gallons of flowers with my g/h to make "sugar-water" syrup from it. Not worth it, especially with all the clipping off of the green parts off the flowers. I think gathering leaves would have been easier. In the early summer or late spring, there is tons of dandelions growing in the city in the grass everywhere.

but their effectiveness is not proven "scientifically"

I have grown to feel that when it comes to natural cures they purposely say it is not proven. What are your thoughts on this?

Well if it's not studied in a lab or tested on ppl, then there isn't "scientific" evidence for it ;) even though it may be true that it does what it does hehe.

Wow, what an incredibly collection of resources you’re making! Love this post on dandelion - I’ve always loved adding to my salads!

Thanks! Glad you enjoy it :)

This plant is found abundantly in the Himalayan region of India. I was not aware of its name and had no idea that it has any medicinal value. Thank you for such a valuable post dear @krnel.

Koo, I'm glad you learned something more for it's utility ;)

I use to hate the Dandelion, now I eat it. :-)

Great! I've yet to try to eat some. I've seen the leaves sold now and then. It's good source of nutrition!

Can dandelions grow in the tropics? I am very interested in this dandelion, because from your article I just found out that it is very beneficial for health. I really like herbal and natural medicine.

I love dandelions! I keep tons growing in my backyard, and make syrup and topical salves/oils and tinctures.. I wish I had time to dig up some roots right now, no can do.... great info and quality post as usual, thanks so much @krnel!

Hi @krnel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 7.383 which ranks you at #59 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 60).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 244 contributions, your post is ranked at #8.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87