Off-Grid: Garden Hose Irrigation with Gravity and a .79mm Drill Bit

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

When gardens have ample access to water, the harvest is much more impressive. After a good rain you can really notice the extra growth everywhere. Multiple days without rain can slow the growth of a garden.

irrigation_cover.JPG

Drip Irrigation

Instead of hand watering the cabin garden terrace and other garden rows, I will use 1/2 inch garden or irrigation hose with a tiny hole drilled into the hose at each plant - for drip irrigation.

Cabin Terrace Garden Hose Irrigation

In the picture below you can see the garden terrace that is just off the southwest corner of the cabin. The kitchen herbs corner of the garden will not be irrigated, but you can see the irrigation hose laid for the tomato, cucumber, pepper, and the wild strawberry and pickling cucumber rows.

cabingardenterrace_labeled.png

On the right side of the picture above you can see the green garden hose that attached to a rain barrel to feed the irrigation grid. The green garden hose I recently purchased in 100 ft lengths for $35 each. For irrigating the production garden rows I have ordered 500 ft of bulk 1/2 inch irrigation hose for $80 - a much more reasonable price in bulk.

1/2 inch Garden Hose Irrigation Grid

cabingardensideview.jpg

The 1/2 inch garden hose was cut to the required lengths to make the irrigation grid. A 1/2 inch T-connector is used where the rain barrel hose enters the irrigation grid - and also for the two connection points of the middle row.

Tconnector.jpg

The remaining three corners used 1/2 inch elbow-connectors to complete the irrigation grid.

corner.jpg

Rain Barrel Tap Opened

The rain barrel tap has been turned on, gravity is feeding the garden hose irrigation grid.

rain_barrel_spigot.jpg

Garden Hose Micro Bit Drilling

No water will come out of the irrigation grid until the drip irrigation holes are drilled. For this delicate task I am using a 1/32 inch or 0.79 mm drill bit. The drill bit is so small that it comes with two in the pack just in case one snaps.

microbit.jpg

I was very careful to drill straight in and straight out with no bending of the drill bit - the small bit did not break.

Drip Irrigation Hole Drilling Demonstration Video

Pepper and Tomato Plants Irrigated

cabin_garden_terracetomato.jpg

Cucumber and Wild Strawberry Plants Irrigated

No More Carrying Water ;)

I'll simply turn on the rain barrel tap whenever there has been a couple days without rain. Soon I will be digging a large water catchment just uphill from this terrace garden - with a 1/2 inch hose outlet providing irrigation water for the multiple hose drip irrigated garden beds.

cabingardenbottomhigh.jpg

Previous posts that may be of interest to you:

Have a great day!

Sort:  

Nice bro, you gave me a great idea for my green house! :)

Excellent - not much work to setup - and will save lots of water and time.

That's a great price for the 100ft hoses.
I like the set-up man.... kind of like a small version of a huge farmers field... Great to harness the rain too... just like nature intended...
Great work and i'll bet it will give great rewards...
Nice Job.

Thanks @preppervetuk - I got the 100ft hoses on amazon, it was half the price of what I could find in the local stores so I couldnt resist - the 500ft for $80 is coming from amazon too. The garden should fill out quickly :)

500ft? DAMN!
LOL thats long, i have hoses and they're 150ft & 75ft long for filling my water tank... but yeah for your purpose that sounds just the ticket..
Nice one.

Very nice, you planting out from starters or seed. This time of year, for me I will plant squash and beans from seeds.

Thanks, the tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, and some herbs i started indoor early .. The rest I'm putting in seeds as the beds are ready. Beans and some cover crops asap, want to get in a couple rotations of mixed lettuce, and baby roots and greens in a couple poly low tunnels.

Cool project, I remember you making that wall :) Love the post. You do excellent posts with the photos and writing. Always enjoyable.

Thanks - it is nice to see that terrace garden up and running - will be much easier to get it going next yeat too - just add plants :)

Awesome system, I haven't thought of drilling the holes myself! Thanks for sharing

Works great with the .79mm - After seeing all the attachments available for drip irrigation, I knew I had to find a simpler way. The garden will be happy with the turn of a valve :)

So simple really - with plenty of water the plants will be soaking in that sun and getting yuge :)

Now this was a great post!! I love gardening and stuff (I mean, I don't do it yet, but I'm getting so motivated to start). It's a great system, albeit it does seem expensive at first. The T-connector reminded me of like puzzle games. Life can be a game! Great post :3

Thanks - the T and elbow connectors were pretty cheap, bag of 10 for $4. It was a lot like putting a puzzle together - satisfying too :)

Looks like somebody is a serious fan of cucumbers. That would not be me. (Grin)

Lol I do like cucumbers on sandwiches and salads - pickles and relish I do like too, but most of them we'll be selling at a stand up by the road. Next year we'll be selling at the farmer's market. Many more garden rows and irrigation to finish building for next year :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #179 (6/28/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45