Tell Me Fellow Steemians, Where Does Your Food Come From?

in #gardening7 years ago

I was born into a world of convenience...


A world where groceries meant traveling to the nearest supermarket to pick them off of the shelves instead of trees. Fruits and veggies came from the produce aisle instead of gardens, dairy came from the refrigerated section instead of farms, meat came pre-cut and packaged instead of freshly cut for you by the butcher, bread came in plastic with unknown ingredients on the labels… and that was what I knew. I never questioned it, if I needed food, I would get it at the grocery store!

In the summers (Canadian colds don’t do produce any favours) my mother would stop at a little wooden stand that set itself up at the front of the local Beer Store (highly trafficked area) and pick up some (what she called “new”) potatoes from the farmer selling them there. That was about as much as an interaction with a farmer that I ever had. My step-father ordered bulk orders of grass-fed beef from a cattle farmer he grew up with. See, he was born back in the early 50’s and was raised on a farm, learned to work in the fields and still retained some value for the food grown from those around. He made some concessions in convenience to ensure we were supporting locals and getting quality meat we could trust. He also made sure to have a garden in our backyard. Though it was small, requiring minimal effort, we could pick from it to alleviate some meal costs. (Hey, I support it, no matter what the motive!)

What happened to agriculture?


What happened to knowing your local farmers? Buying food that was grown in your climate, your city, your country? It might be convenient for us but it has to be inconvenient to someone... my guess is Mother Nature doesn't find it so convenient!

When did we start shipping food from across the world just to give us more variety, diversity?


Do we really need to have pineapples where they don’t grow? That doesn't seem very convenient, does it? Those foods are seriously lacking their original nutrients. They get picked too ripe, so they can stay unscathed by travel and last even longer on the shelves.
foodmiles-redux-basics.jpg

How did we get so unattached from our food sources?


Why are we OK with grabbing those potatoes from the store, not knowing where they came from or what could have been used to grow them? Convenience is a huge issue, sure. But when did we start letting pesticide ridden mono-cropping by huge corporations dictate what food goes into our bodies?
farmers market 2.jpg
(I know where everything on this table came from and it's an indescribable feeling!)

Do we even think about it?


My research says for the most part, no.
We're used to this now. It's just the way things are. But things are changing, these issues are being brought up more and more each day...

What if there was another way? Would you be interested to know?


I have been researching food for over 3 years now. That’s not long enough to even scratch the surface of what we are dealing with today in our society with GMO’s, antibiotics, bucket-loads of pharmaceutical drugs and countless other toxic chemicals being sprayed and injected into all over our food. What I have discovered through these years of looking for the answers has led me to make direly different food choices, especially since food is a passion of mine and I enjoy it far too much for it to be a negative consequence in my life.

Supporting Local Initiatives:


support local farmers.jpg

The Farmer’s Market is one of my favourite things in the entire world- I kid you not. I awake like a child on Christmas on Saturdays, knowing I am going to be able to pick up fresh, organic, locally grown fruits and veggies for the week. My mind starts getting lost in ideas, recipes and meals to create. It’s a wonderful experience.

I believe in supporting my local farmers with my dollars, the men and women that are out in their fields, day in and day out sweating under the heat of the sun to grow food to nourish me. These people are my friends, neighbours, community heroes, putting food onto our plates. These are the people I want to reward, not huge corporations feeding me diseases.

I have most of my farmers’ contact information and they remember me week after week as I continue to come back and we trade our values. In exchange for my currency, they provide me the substances I need to survive. It's really convenient!
farmers market 7.jpg

What about this word "Organic"?


I know there is heavy debate over this. I also know (from experience) that especially in the West, the label organic can be unaffordable for many people. I think it’s a damn outrage that our crops are being sprayed with toxic chemicals in the first place – not to mention that now in order to have our food without them, we need to pay more. It doesn’t make sense to me but I am not the one who makes the rules. All I can do is vote for what I believe in, and that vote comes attached to what I spend my money on and where I spend it.

Even after researching and realizing the importance of avoiding these sprays and chemicals, I would find myself in the aisles at grocery stores, putting back the organic options in favour of the cheaper, conventionally grown ones. Why would I knowingly sacrifice my health like that? Well, larger companies have made it easier to subsidize costs (there's convenience again). If you’re producing for a mass market, it’s obvious that you can charge less. That’s what is affecting the consumers.

What's worse is that the big corporations who supply this contaminated food to us, are lobbying with the government to change the regulations on labeling. That means (in short) that we may no longer be able to know if those labels such as USDA, GMO-Free, etc are legitimate anymore. That's a scary thought that I am not able to swallow.

What can we do?


Trying to find a solution is where I found the Farmer’s Market… I really believe it is the key to the food we eat- why not support the people growing your food, while at the same time, knowing where it’s coming from and being able to trust it? It’s a no-brainer for me! Most of the time, you can even visit the farm it’s grown from if you want to take a closer look. I have visited many farms as my interest for growing food blossoms. I hope to one day grow a lot of my own food as well, my young garden is springing to life as we speak and it's an exhilarating feeling! Exhilarating feeling=convenient to me!

I have lived all over this world and I always say I haven’t witnessed a city properly until I have been to their Farmer’s Market. In fact, I often plan when I will arrive in a city based on when one is being put on! I love seeing the diversity of food, grown in different regions, tasting the freshly picked selections and enjoying the satisfaction that comes from something grown with love, picked for me (not being sent by planes, trains and automobiles to get to the store where it’s unloaded and sits on shelves for who knows how long!)
farmers market 9.jpg

Call me obsessed but a healthy body and mind is of absolute importance to me and I can tell you that since I have been eating this way, I have become a completely new person! Hey, that sounds convenient!

Here are some pictures of my feasts I have collected at the markets the past couple of weeks and the delicious creations that came from it. I am vegan, gluten free, and sugar free so I rely heavily on the produce these farmer’s bring to me as it is conveniently 95% of everything I consume!


farmers market 1.jpg

(Todays collection complete with still warm, homemade, GMO free tempe from my friend, Benny!)


food market.jpg
(Spicy Mexican avocado bowl filled with homemade salsa, cherry tomatoes, sweet corn, mushrooms and bok choy)


farmers market 6.jpg

(Sautéed veggies in a mushroom/celery sauce inspired by one of my favourite Chinese dishes!)


greek bowl.jpg
(Greek bowl, veggies topped with homemade tzatziki and spicy tempe)


So, I thought I was born into this world of the convenience of the large businesses, but that seems to come at a price, a price I am not comfortable with. What could be more convenient than buying from my local neighbours, knowing what I'm ingesting and feeling this wonderful feeling, I feel now?

Thank you to the local farmers all over the world from San Francisco to Vietnam who have provided for me, and thank you to @ericvancewalton for encouraging this post with his Farmer's Market Challenge.

I hope this information acts as a reminder if not new knowledge, that our food is in our hands, we just need to take it back from those who take it from us.

XO,
heartofthematter.jpg
hearttoheart signature.png

Sort:  

I was lucky to grow up with grandparents who were complete farm stand people. Every weekend we would go to various farm stands and each week we could get one sweet fruit, and then bushels of whatever we were canning that week. Then we would spend the next day prepping, and then canning or pickling until it was done. We had home canned fruits and veggies, and sauces and everything for the next winter.
They had a network in their neighborhood too, so we grew tomatoes, one lady grew cukes, one guy grew grapes, etc...so they would all share.
So for me it seems strange to go to grocery stores, but there have been times in my life where there were no farm stands, and I had no time to home can. The food never tastes quite the same...

Wow, that sounds like an absolute dream- that is what I am striving for! how wonderful that you got to grow up experiencing that! I try to make everything I can from scratch and it is just so much more satisfying!

Nothing tastes better than freshly grown and supporting and sharing with the community is such a treat in itself! Thanks for sharing this, it's just wonderful!

XO,
💜2💜

Wonderful post! I guess I was very lucky because I grew up on a farm and had high quality vegetables and fruit. While my parents were alive they sold at Farmers Markets in Wisconsin. My dad was into the organic movement well before people understood it's importance.. I may have chosen a different path for a career, but most of my adult life I have grown my own food organically.

When most people talk about gardening they are growing in small plots. I currently use about 3500 square feet for gardening, I can, store, dry, and freeze some. I plant a little extra because the deer like raiding my garden.

I taught my daughter and granddaughter gardening. The have smaller plots but at least they do it. I taught them how to butcher chickens, even though they do not participate currently, they do know where their food comes from.

I even grow greens indoors under lights in the winter so I have some fresh raw veggies.

Yes, by all means, support your local farmer...They work very long days to provide nourishing food. By buying directly from them you bi-pass the middleman and get much better and fresher food. Big agriculture companies/farms do not grow food for the taste. instead they grow it so it will ship.

I do not mean to ramble, but this post is VERY important to read. Great job presenting such important information!

Wow @r2cornell, what you're describing to me is a dream- something I am currently striving to achieve for myself! That is incredible that even though you moved away from the farm life, that you still maintain growing your own, organically. Can I just say that it makes me scream with delight inside to hear that! I think the separation between "mainstream" or "normal" life statiscally placing most people into cities away from rural life is generally where I find the divide of our food sources. The city allows for the convenient runs to the stores whereas you might be inclined to know your neighbours and growers if you're a bit aways from the supermarket. Certainly this isn't the only reason or way but it's something I have noticed in my own hometown area.
I wish I had my grandparents to teach me these things- I believe they taught my parents but it got lost along the way, through lack of interest, rising of technology... those big brand stores...

I'm happy to hear that food is being brought up again, that people are talking about it and trying to change things. I never want to tell people what to do but presenting them this information so they have something to think about is my entire mission and it makes me overwhelmed to get such passionate responses about this- it gives me hope! I believe we can change the future of our food and I am going to try my best to do my part :)

Enjoy that delicious food, I can't wait for my garden to kick off so I can share it with you all :)

Have a lovely weekend, thanks for this inspiration (by no chance was it a rant, I loved it)!
XO,
💜2💜

I live in Canada, and I think a big contributing factor to raising and growing your own food etc, is that there is so much work to be done in such a small or little amount of growing season, there is putting in the garden, weeding, harvesting, canning or freezing, mulching for winter. People today are busy and in many cases with the younger generation, see it as a lot of work when they can just go out and buy it.

Hi there! I totally get that, which is why (in this post) I am not saying it's necessary to grow your own but maybe aim to buy from markets or local growers when you can! I have found that all over the world they seem to have food markets, you just have to know about them. Everywhere people are growing food! I even have a friend in Montreal who is growing massive amounts on his land in greenhouses during the winter so I am just trying to encourage that kind of purchasing over the stores (obviously understanding it's not possible all the time or for everyone!)
:)

Because of setting up a small, small garden in and around my home, I will now never again need to buy:

  • Spring Onion
  • Parsley
  • Coriander
  • Baby Spinach

I have also got in the ground (but not yet harvested)

  • Green Beans
  • Snowpeas
  • Chilli! (I can't wait!)
  • Strawberries
  • Lettuce
  • Blackberry
  • Blueberry

It was a bit of effort to get it all started and in the ground (and to clear the old plants that were not edible) - but now all I need to do is weed, water, and wait.

Fresh stuff from the garden is 10,000 times better than stuff you can get from the shops! Everyone should have at the very least, a small pot with their favourite herb in it.

Yes! I LOVE it @holoz0r! That is so amazing, isn't it such a great feeling to see your plants growing, knowing you can just walk outside and get them from your own land? I love it!
I have planted a lot lately and am working on planting more. Most of my seeds have only been in the ground for a month but they are surprising me with how fast they are taking off!
I always recommend to people to just plant a couple of things, fresh herbs make a meal pop with flavour!

I love it :) Tell me about the chillis when they come, I actually have some lovely ones that were here when I got here! Could not have asked for anything better! ;)

XO,
💜2💜

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team! Want more earnings? Join @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396, or delegate/donate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead!

Please upvote this comment! We will earn more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings!

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: First 7 weeks of xx-votesplus: YOUR dropAhead Curation Team!

Nice !! Thanks , validate's what I'm working on with my site check it out ask questions I like that . upvoted and resteemed .
@rustynut

Awesome, yes I completely agree! Hopefully we can change our food systems sooner than later!
Hope you have a great day! Thanks for sharing this!
XO,
💜-2-💜

This is well thought out, you make great points! The chemicals in our mass produced food are there for greed and profit, now there is nothing wrong with profit, but when you are doing at the expense of the health of the people you are feeding, then its wrong. There is no nutrition left in mass produced foods, you might as well eat cardboard with the dose of growth hormone and anti-antibiotics as side dish. But local, stay local, know your farmer and support them and they will support you! Thanks for posting the information!

Thank you, I try to always make sure I put lots of time into my posts... especially something so important as this. I think people need to know and this message needs to find it's way out there! I completely agree with you and it drives me bonkers to learn about all of the problems with our food systems but hopefully through education we can start to change that!

It was my pleasure to post it, thank you for reading :)
Have a wonderful week! I hope you can find some local, real food!
XO,
💜-2-💜

This post is so timely for me as I have just dug up my first lot of new potatoes out of my garden! I can't wait to eat them! lol They always taste nicer when they are home grown too. Great post, resteemed!

Oh yum! I wish I could come eat them with you! Mine are doing amazing but they aren't read to be picked just yet unfortunately. The good news is, my main farmer got me some purple sweet potatoes this week and I am so excited to try them :)
Enjoy those potatoes! I'm hungry now thinking about them (I LOVE potatoes) ;)
XO,
💜2💜

I do think about these things every time I pick veggies and fruits from the shelves. Bulgaria's soils and climate are super good for growing a wide variety of tasty fruits and vegetables - tomatoes, cucumbers, potatoes, beans, berries, apples, plums - you name it. Nowadays, however, it's quite difficult to find Bulgarian fruits and vegetables in the supermarkets. You often see potatoes from Germany, tomatoes from Egypt, apples from Argentina, which makes you wonder what's happening. Like, how the fuck is it possible that apples from Argentina and potatoes from Germany are more cost effective than the Bulgarian ones?

Anyway, thank you for writing this wonderful article! I believe too that farmers' markets are the way to go.

WOW! See, that is exactly what I am talking about! It blows my mind! It's so ridiculously inconvenient! I know there are better ways, I hope that I continue to share them. Maybe you can grow some of your own food, especially if you have such great soil. I know a lot of countries are lacking in that department.

You are totally welcome and thank you for sharing this with me. Sometimes I like to pretend that there are places out there where this isn't a problem and that it's isolated... sadly it is not the case :(

We can work together to change things though! I'm happy to work on this together!

XO,
💜2💜

Congratulations @heart-to-heart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57