You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tell Me Fellow Steemians, Where Does Your Food Come From?

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

I was lucky to grow up with grandparents who were complete farm stand people. Every weekend we would go to various farm stands and each week we could get one sweet fruit, and then bushels of whatever we were canning that week. Then we would spend the next day prepping, and then canning or pickling until it was done. We had home canned fruits and veggies, and sauces and everything for the next winter.
They had a network in their neighborhood too, so we grew tomatoes, one lady grew cukes, one guy grew grapes, etc...so they would all share.
So for me it seems strange to go to grocery stores, but there have been times in my life where there were no farm stands, and I had no time to home can. The food never tastes quite the same...

Sort:  

Wow, that sounds like an absolute dream- that is what I am striving for! how wonderful that you got to grow up experiencing that! I try to make everything I can from scratch and it is just so much more satisfying!

Nothing tastes better than freshly grown and supporting and sharing with the community is such a treat in itself! Thanks for sharing this, it's just wonderful!

XO,
💜2💜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65189.35
ETH 3155.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60