My Papa Pepper?

in #gardening6 years ago

P_20180728_115620_HDR.jpg

No, not the famous @papa-pepper, its my papa pepper, the big daddy, the first one to become ripe.

P_20180721_111857_HDR.jpg

Here it is with one of its spicy little friends, the first semi ripe pepper of the year

I picked it a little ripe because the wife was like "do we have any peppers?" When they are like this it is like having a green pepper and a red pepper in one pepper, these garden grown peppers are sweeter when they are like this than the dark red ones in the supermarket. I have a few more in the pipeline that I will let get totally red before I pick them.

P_20180728_115733_HDR.jpg

P_20180728_115801_HDR.jpg

P_20180728_115650_HDR.jpg

I'm pretty happy with how productive these plants have been this year. The jalapeños also look plentiful:

P_20180728_115846_HDR.jpg

Here is the final product of fresh garden cucumbers, tomatoes, a semi ripe bell pepper, a jalapeño atop a little hummus and naan bread and feta on top:

P_20180721_112520_HDR.jpg

About a quarter of the pepper was left over after and I sautéed that up in the cast iron skillet I make my eggs in and fried up an egg and put them on top, I felt so much healthier than when I fry up ham with my egg sandwich. I didn't take a picture of that I just ate it.

What should I make next?

These low resolution cell phone photos, the fantastically composed title shot of the mesmerizing aubergine and dull commentary are @funbobby51 original content, all rights reserved, please upvote generously and resteem, my wife still thinks STEEM isn't real money.

Check out my previous harvest

Sort:  

I make a vegetable spaghetti, cook some spaghetti, saute some zucchini, carrots, mushrooms, green peppers, sweet onion, garlic, throw in some cherry tomatoes at the end just enough to warm them, top your spaghetti with sauce then the vegetables. Might be good with your own sauce you are going to make also.

I make a cold version, like a salad with spaghetti just switch out the pasta sauce for Italian dressing, don't saute the vegetables.

that sounds good, I have been sautéing zucchini and putting it on pasta with meat lately and the wife likes it.

When I have a garden, the last couple summers I haven't, I tried freezing zucchini to put in dishes in the winter time because they cost a buck or more in the winter here, it worked pretty well for the smaller ones but the larger ones didn't turn out so well. One thing I always regretted was not learning how to can. You would think I would have learned early on since when I was young canning was a big thing among the neighbor ladies, they'd all get together in one kitchen or another and form a assembly line around the table and can up stuff for their families.

Wow, Where do you live? Up Nort? ;-)
My Jalapeno's are done almost, last 2 on the plant :-(
They were very good however ;)

I could pick them green for a while now but I am going to let them ripen on the vine until they are red and then pick them all and make sauce. I made sauce from green peppers before and it seemed to produce a lot of heartburn. And yes I am up north ;)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-28T16:52:33
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 48.55/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 37
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The peppers look great and very healthy too. I've been looking for some plants for weeks now but nothing at the nursery looked this good.

I bought these in May, the peppers have really come out nicely this year. I can't remember if I dosed them with aspirin like I did the cucumbers.

Aspirin? What's the story on that? Does it help growth? Just curious.

It is supposed to activate the immune system, you give it to the plants when they are young, I gave it to the cucumber in the hopes of keeping the powdery mildew at bay. So far so good.

That's interesting. I have heard of people using Aspirin for all sorts of things like rubbing it on stings etc.
Aspirin is pretty amazing.

if I recall they suggest two aspirin for 5 gallons, I think you only need to use it once when they are little, there is a lot of info online.

I have just harvested my red bell pepper yesterday...the more more red they are the better because they become sweeter.

Posted using Partiko Android

yup, so much better than the tasteless ones in the store, I have been frying one up to put on my egg sandwiches. here are some more recent pictures

Oh my.. have you tried the habaneros? I had one potted before and I swear to you..I won't plant it again..it toooo hot!!!... I can' believe that it was that sharp. I had no idea then .... hahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't mess with them, I have never had a good experience with them and several terrible ones.

I was actually chopping up some jalapeños 2 nights ago and a little chunk flew right into my eye, thank God it was not a scotch bonnet! The scotch bonnets are dangerous, you have to be careful about going to the bathroom after handling them! I have some Jamaican friends who would love them though, maybe next year I will put some in and they can come and pick them.

You got a 11.67% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @funbobby51!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

LOL - I just saw this.... better late than never!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61937.20
ETH 3004.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49